Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hell: Redemption

by samfreeman05 - Jam Entry

REQUIRE .XNA FRAMEWORK 4.0 (included in .zip file)

Hell: Redemption is a 2D platformer made with Craftstudio in 72 hours for the Ludum Dare 31 Jam. You must climb a randomly generated level as fast as possible and get the highest score. The further you go, the lesser time you have and more obstacle (blue blocks) get in the way (Destroy them with the action button).

Right now this is all we have but we'll keep working on the game and make it better. This is just a preview. Ports to other OS comming soon.

For any future update or to leave a suggestion, write a comment on this page:
http://erebus-games.netai.net/category/hell-redemption/


Controls:
To use the Xbox Controller, go into Option then turn on the xbox controller and click to "Use Xbox Controller"

Moving: Arrow key OR Xbox Leftstick
Jumping: Space key OR Xbox A Button
Action: CTRL key OR Xbox X Button
Pause: Escape Key OR Xbox Start Button

Backstory:
After getting shot by his wife, Scott Naris went to heaven. Clumsy has he is, he tripped and fell into Hell. Now he must climb his way out of the Pit and return enjoying his life in Paradise.

Credits:
Hell: Redemption by Erebus-Games
http://erebus-games.netai.net/

Programming: Samuel Allen (Samfreeman05)
Graphics / Art: Robin Chayer (Robin_Freeman)
Musics: Zeltyc (Soundcloud -> https://soundcloud.com/zeltyc)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#479Audio(Jam)2.77
#593Mood(Jam)2.92
#713Graphics(Jam)2.79
#730Fun(Jam)2.74
#764Overall(Jam)2.89
#827Innovation(Jam)2.48
#852Theme(Jam)3.07
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

Playing this game feels like being in hell. Which is appropriate, I guess! I like the retro single-screen look and you did very well at getting that masocore extra-frustration gameplay. I feel like a bit more forgiveness on jumping up through 1-tile-wide gaps would have been nice. Cute look into a sisyphean quest.

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:33am

I found the game very hard to control, the character was sliding very easy and it felt at times that the jump didn't triggered correctly.

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12am

Lonely Mac.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13am

It's a really fun platformer. The sound effects were a bit too loud, though that doesn't distract me from playing. Great game!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20am

Nice little platformer. It got a bit frustrating to slide off the corners of blocks. I like the punch animation!

Magosis0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Interesting concept. Basic platformer which required you to get to the top of the level. Not sure if it REALLY counts as entire game on one screen as each level changed screens. But either way. The controls were tight. Really tight. Like, almost so tight it was bad. The jump has one velocity. Jumping diagonally also launches you about 40 miles in the direction you jumped. That proved to be pretty difficult when trying to achieve precise jumps. In the end the game isn't bad by any means. Pretty fun but I think it kind of dragged on after playing through roughly 4 stages, especially when a jump I was sure I was going to make resulted in me falling all the way down to the bottom of the screen. The ability to destroy blue blocks was kind of unnecessary in my opinion as they should act as barriers to getting up, but there are multiple ways to get up. The background was a bit obnoxious. Would have been nice if it changed as you scale each level.

In the end: well done in 72 hours.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28am

Xbox controller support was a nice touch. It wasn't obvious to me that I had to go into options to enable it, but I found the game quite a bit easier to control with the gamepad instead of a keyboard.

Nice sound & graphical style!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

This is a fun game, but the player graphic doesn't really match up with the rest of the graphics.

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14pm

It's cool looking, and I like this kind of tight platformer. However, the player control was a little stiff. A little more work on the movement/jumping could do a lot here, but it's really cool for a jam entry. Good music too.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:43pm

It was too hard to control, in my opinion. The blocks were too small for that kind of controller scheme. atleast when the groundChecks aren't in perfect working conditions. The acceleration on the movement also made it almost impossible to ascend the level, I'm sorry to say. Good job nonetheless. Not easy creating a game in such a small timespan! :)

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:52am

Nice concept. Some tweaks to the game play and it will be great.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Good game. Jumping controls were a bit frustrating (he really is a bit clumsy) and the concept as a whole too, which played nicely into the hell theme.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:20am

If you loosened up the controls a bit, that would be a good improvement (I agree with others on that one). I think it's great you managed to pull this off in just a weekend. Nice entry dude! :)

sorlok says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:15am

Fun and interesting. Controls are a bit wonky, and I'm not sure what the "action" key actually does.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:26am

The controls on this are pretty problematic. It seems like the character accelerates too quickly for how much space you have to work with, and the bug with moving while jumping makes being accurate all that much harder. It's interesting, but the random generation can make some levels impossible, especially after world 5 when you can't really make any mistakes. The music is good, though it does get repetitive after a while, and the graphics get the job done despite the high contrast of the background making it hard to see at times. With a bit of polish, and a bigger playing area, this could be a good platformer, but it's got some technical flaws right now that seem to be holding it back.

stasss says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:26am

Very funny! Great job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]