Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ball Bouncer 3D

by AsGoodAsThis - Compo Entry

Bounce the Ball in 3D!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

stray says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:23am

http://asgoodasthis.com/BB3D/web.html
It doesn't work

AsGoodAsThis says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I fixed it... changed web.html to Web.html with a capital letter.

vincentd says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Nice one.
Shadows would help.
Maybe the "player" ball could move faster, adding a fifth button to stop at once.

Istani says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Easy but fine ;) maybee add some mouse controll ;)

Snuux says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:08pm

My highscore is 18! Good!

daesora says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Got 69 by catching it in the corner and rolling around slightly to tap it on the wall, fun game c: Like vincentd said, shadows would help with the 3d perception.

maddogawl says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Hard to tell where to align the ball, but cool concept! Good job

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:03pm

It's kind of frustratingly hard to figure out where the ball is, and at first I didn't know what I was supposed to do exactly or which ball I controlled.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:23pm

It kept my attention for a few seconds but after a minute or so, it got a bit confusing to figure out where on the screen the ball was and with no sound or really anything other than the two balls on screen, it gets very bland. Sorry if it's a bit harsh, but the game's a bit simple in my opinion.

Broivula says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Fine little game! Fun and easy to play.

AsGoodAsThis says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Added shadows. Thanks for all the encouraging comments. I had hardly any time to do this so it is quite simple.

Wezley says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Nice and innovative!:) Great job!

rancoud says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Shadow will be usefull :)
Nice and addictive.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I've made it bounce 24 times ! Not bad huh ? ^^. First game I try this LD, it's nice !

sprawl says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:58pm

To help locating the ball, you could place a shadow underneath it.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Nice and innovative!:) Great job!

vogon101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20am

Meh

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I've actually never seen something like this cool idea! Ways to improve would be making custom physics and giving it some difficulty. It'd be cool if this was like a soccer head butting competition! thumbs up for you sir!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:01pm

A bit too simple, but nice idea. Didn't see the shadow in the web you said you added though, that would make it a lot easier to see the depth.

SivGoose says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:06pm

this game is extremely difficult, and I find a lot of the time if your corner it your points can go up a around 20 in 1 second, maybe making a 2d game would make it easier to see the perspective and where the ball truly is, or add in shadows in the game. other then that its a good idea!!!

snapman_GT says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Nice concept, though it's a little difficult to judge perspective only by scale. I'd recommend adding a projection shadow to the balls. That would make it easier to see how far back into space the ball is and it would make it easier to read its overall velocity/direction.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:58pm

As already stated: shadows and a nicer placement of the ball when started. Maybe you should even start with just having a board that you steer and then the ball is something you get at a higher level. Continue with this game and make it super nice!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:44pm

30 for me.
Simple but could make a very addictive game with a bit more work.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Relatively simple concept, but surprisingly fun for how simple it is. I got a highscore of 15. This game cries out for sound though!

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:45am

I do think there is something here, but for now it's very basic and I lost interest. It did feel right physics wise which is great! Even just a bouncy sound might have held my interest a bit longer. It is just like bouncing a balloon though so props for that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]