Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bathold

by chibiFlux - Jam Entry

Bathold is a game about leading a bat to his food source, Flyguys, while avoiding the obstacles that are hidden in the darkness. You are able to see using the ultrasonic screams of Bathold, lighting up the environment.

The theme is represented in that there is no screen-scrolling and each level starts you off where you ate the FlyGuy in the last one.

Supports Keyboard and Xbox360-Controller!

EDIT: The Linux version doesn't recognize keyboard or controller input unless you run it with sudo. That however is a security risk, please don't do it unless you understand all implications.

Tools used: Unity, GIMP, SunVox, bfxr

This game was made by chibiTune (Music and Artwork) and QuantumFlux (Programming and Gameplay).

chibiTune's deviantArt: chibitune.deviantart.com
and her Tumblr: chibitune.tumblr.com
QuantumFlux's Twitter: @QuantumFlim

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Audio(Jam)3.40
#230Innovation(Jam)3.52
#240Mood(Jam)3.42
#332Overall(Jam)3.40
#432Humor(Jam)2.71
#463Graphics(Jam)3.35
#572Theme(Jam)3.48
#717Fun(Jam)2.76
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

I could not get throught the tutorial level when using sonar, it revealed nothing at all to me, not sure if this was a bug, or something with my browser,

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

Love the game!!! It's challenging and the graphics/music are superb. Nice work!!
Maybe you should put an ultrasonic counter to limit the uses.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41am

great job man, awesome!

stalker1586 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Music is blowing my brains. But idea is so cool! Felt my self like batman or daredevil!

maxyan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great game, but controls are too much sensitive.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:09am

Nice graphics, nice approach to the perception of a bat :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very cute! Nice job.

dallonf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very nice, I love the atmosphere. Low visibility and (intentionally) imprecise controls makes for a very challenging game, and I wound up ragequitting on the third level.

Louisload says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:15am

I love the mood in this game, the music and the graphics are perfect for each other, as well as the gameplay :D
the only thing I found less good was the controls, its a bit slippery to control the poor bat :( he kept dying because i accidentally hit walls

friggingames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:23am

It took me a little while to figure out that the things revealed by the sonar were obstacles, rather than safe space. Once I had that down it went much better. The hitbox could also stand to be smaller, but otherwise it was a pretty neat game.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:44am

Interesting mechanic with the bat! really liked it! graphics and gameplay are nice and simple. Great Job!

Finlal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56am

nice idea!

Taldius says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:48am

I really like the concept and the graphics of the game! :D
However the controls and the levels are soooo hard, it's very frustating.
Anyway good job!

ctuelho says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:51am

Amazing game, loved it!

calavera says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:09am

Fun! I really liked the music.

Didn't really fit the theme..

Teesquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:31pm

It was a great game but it got very frustrating quickly. it kept me retrying.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]