Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Graveyard Slot

by Threstle - Jam Entry

Would you dare watching TV the whole night ? Play this game if you wanna try !

Watching TV is a great way to reassure yourself when shadows come into your room. Though, you'll need to switch between channels to keep yourself from being bored and scared, or eventually completely frozen from fear.
If you need to check if any shadow is in the room, you should turn off the TV and you'll see...
If there is one, turn on the light ! However, do not abuse of the lamp, it could get broken anytime...

-----------------------------------------------------------------
- Click to turn on and off the light
- Press spacebar to turn on and off the TV
- Press any other keys to switch between channels
-----------------------------------------------------------------


This is our first game jam and was quite a funny experience ! We were three developers and one graphic designer.

Engine: Unity
Developers: Alexis Tessier / Etienne Chaumont / Thomas Josseau
Designer: Olivier Hébrard
Graphics: Home made
Videos: Very bad quality exports from YouTube
Sounds: Free samples (manipulated with audio software)

Enjoy our game, and don't forget to rate it !
Feedbacks are welcomed too !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#23Mood(Jam)4.16
#42Theme(Jam)4.26
#113Innovation(Jam)3.76
#256Overall(Jam)3.50
#369Graphics(Jam)3.55
#392Humor(Jam)2.79
#511Fun(Jam)3.03

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47am

Great mood. Will have nightmares tonight.
-Steffen

Simon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59am

I did not think I would go through the whole night but I did! Well done it's very interesting and a great use of the theme I think.

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:11am

I'm not sure if the game can be won; I made it to 8:17 am and still had to worry about the shadow. The interaction was minimal, but the actions made sense and the tension was great. Good job.

Threstle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:18am

@Ken Scott : Yes, you're absolutely right, it's a bug ! We'll try to fix it as soon as possible. Thanks for the comment. ;)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:51am

I kinda wanted more interaction with the game :c

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55am

Nice tension building. A bit slow for my liking though ;)

allurious says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:01am

Really nice spooky atmosphere, loved the interpretation of the theme. Reminded me a bit of Five Nights at Freddy's! Loved the implementation of the TV shows too, you guys did a great job.

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:18am

Nice vids, found the game a bit easy

Shampop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Pouah ._. They got me
What an athmosphere, it's great !
My heart is beating harder (that means I'm staill alive, so it's ok)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Felt like watching TV at 2 am as a kid. Love the idea. It moved a little slow probably. I did appreciate the low res clips. Funny idea.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice and spooky atmosphere. I'm not the only one who tried a spooky game ^^ Good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Pretty tense, wasn't entirely sure what I was warding off until I turned off the TV - creepy! Think the game could do with a bit more to do, but it's a great idea.

Pankoman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Stick to the theme, good work with the mood (jolies références les gars)

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:13pm

i like that

Boberro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Damn, got eaten at 6:59 AM
This game is positively sick.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Eaten at 8:27 :( Great Game!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:27am

Wow, so simple yet so horrifying! Have been immersed for the past 5 minutes and felt truly scared to turn off the light or TV. Great job :D

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:32am

Love the mood, great little concept !

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:36am

Very nice mood indeed. I love that you can turn off/on the lights detail. I wish there were more stuff in the room to interact with, though. Great job nonetheless. Very interesting approach to the theme

Frenchie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:45am

Awesome! I would have liked to better understand how the light could break before starting - number of clicks? Length on? Mood in this game was really good! Très bien fait!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:50am

The atmosphere is very intense. Made me jump! Love the graphics too.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I couldnt help myself. I had to see what would happen if I turned everything off and just waited once I saw the shadow the first time :P pretty creepy though. Good looking art and the tv was nicely done.

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Oh Gosh this is so dark and scary game! I like it!

Waschtl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Cool game. I really liked the atmosphere. :)

Rocketship says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Oh my I didn't think this would scare me and it did. Good job on that! The gameplay itself is quite boring but that's sort of a good thing with games like this.

Conk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:01pm

There's no audio rating, I would've given that quite a bit, it really helped set the mood. It got really tense towards the end, turned the tv off at 5 minute mark, I assume the night is longer... great game (:

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Wow. Beautiful atmosphere.
Nice selection of videos.
Gameplay worked but got a bit boring in the end.
Getting eaten by monsters at 9 in the morning was a bit surprising.

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:35am

haha, that was oddly engaging. great job.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very simple but extremely atmospheric. I like the understated design, with everything being done in shadow...especially when a monster gets you. I appreciate subtetly in horror and this game is as subtle as it is effective. The real TV clips also add a lot to the authenticity. Great entry!

(Also, Call of the Wintermoon \m/ )

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Ah, I got an error, so I couldn't play your game. Shame, it looks cool.
Under the unity logo it says "Error launching Unity Player", and clicking a link labeled "Error details" gives the message "Bad file length".

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

great work dude

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]