Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Fill the bar

by Yaroslav Kravtsov - Compo Entry

Game about one screen, one button and simple rules. Just do what you asked and try to reach maximum level. Obey and have fun.

Some features:
- Talking computer (make sure your speakers turned on)
- Power of UI in Unity 4.6 (buttons! bars! text! so cool)
- Music (optional, don't turn it)
- Low poly art (for naughty players)
- Snowman

Change log (only bugfixing in accordance with the rules):
- Now all numbers in level value appears. Previously only first number apperars.
- Camera position is fixed in the beginning of the game. Previously it slowly moved, which cause problem after ~10min of idle.
- The end of the game now more clear to understand that is the end.
- High level progression adjusted for hardcore players.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Humor4.11
#33Overall3.97
#44Mood3.85
#52Innovation4.10
#69Audio3.74
#123Theme4.06
#150Graphics3.82
#187Fun3.54

Comments

Dyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

Seems that's GLaDOS on Android.)
Nice idea! Good job!

SeeJay55 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18am

Very original, good job!

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:40am

Haha, nice job and good concept. The voice is pretty nice.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43am

Whatever, I like the numbers. /me takes judgmental game AI too personally (lol j/k, nice game!)

Valtaroth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45am

"Silly, useless picture.." - This game cracked me up. Very simple concept, yet strangely addicting. :D

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47am

Hilarious. Well Done! (good work on the voice acting btw)

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48am

I absolutely love this, wonderful use of theme, art, humor and twist. Seriously well done!!!

:D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

Whoaaaa! That was unexpected! Most original entry so far! Awesome job!

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:54am

NICE job, dude! The voiceover was great, and a nice opening to the little world you've got. I'm only sad that I "died" before seeing all of the things :(.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16am

Boy did that make me laugh, nice!

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38am

I love this game. It's sorpresingly very adictive. Nice concept and implementation.

P.D: Sorry. I've made op-out the ratings of my game by error :-( You can vote it now

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:42am

I love this game. It's sorpresingly very adictive. Nice concept and implementation. You broke me with the real rules XD (spoiler).

P.D: Sorry. I've made op-out the ratings of my game by error :-( You can vote it now

caporaltito says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:02am

Stupidly addictive. I was like "WTF is this?" and then "OMG, I spent ten minutes on this game! This is awesome!". Then I pressed S and I was "Wow! That's a really interesting game!". I even found the snowman.

The graphics and mechanics are simple at first, yet this is fun and addictive. The "3D secret" is really surprising!

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32am

Evil computer voice!!!

nodoxi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Awesome concept!

Sundry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Original! Does anybody choose to enlarge his green line here?

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Wow, that was an unique experience. I like the humor in it.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I like this wow experience when all of the sudden - wow! It's a whole new game! Thank you for the game. All 5 stars in my opinion!

lun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06pm

i have liked the lighthouse!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:20am

Amusing cookie clicker action, but with a sassy robotic voice! I played till level 81, where I was so OP that I broke the game >.> Nice work!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:46pm

This game looks cool and i really like the cell shading, brings me back to watching my older brother playing wind waker. Congratulations for me comparing your game to a classic, nice job on the game :)

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Weird game! I like it, very innovative :)
Good job.

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49pm

It's cool and original :)

dallonf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I have no idea why this is so fantastic. Great work!

zeal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:17pm

I was getting quite bored until the level 14 and then boom. Absolute shock in a fantastic way! Thumb's up.

kaa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Good idea!

kaa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Good concept! Lovely voice and music (garmoshka^_^)

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Oh god, this this cool!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Im sorry. I Love your game XD. Also check my project if you have some time x)

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:54pm

This was a very strange experience...
<spoiler>
after "quit" the first game, I walk on water (there is a way by the mountain near the lighthouse) and then fall, fall...
I don't think it was intentional, but it was an incredible good end... (even I didn't see the snowmen...)

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Very nice and funny entry! I also enjoyed watching the Timelapse video to take a quick look at how you did handle the lowpoly graphics :D

Great stuff!

Rulrite says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Very nice game; it's worth playing for the surprise alone! I can't help but feel this is a commentary on most freemium mobile games, haha. :P

LMT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really really cool game. Very original. My highest rating so far.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Funny game, the AI is like a mashup of GlaDOS and the narrator in Stanley Parable. Short but great experience. I never saw the snowman, I'll have to play again to find it :). I only wish there was more to do. "Wise choose" - not sure if that was an intentional mispronunciation but it entertained me so that's cool. Great work!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:39am

Seriously great game, snowman was a nice touch :D

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:56pm

5 stars, Yarik. Realy cool. Maybe not so cool as Tootta leaves quest :-P

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:34pm

ChaosCult, haha! Tootta leaves is a strong curse, mighty voodoo :o)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Wow, nice entry! The world behind the screen is nicely designed, too bad there's not much to do there aside from wandering :D
Well done!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:54pm

This was neat, nice take on the theme!

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Awesome! Bravo!!!
And I fell into that cyan abyss, you know. :)

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:31pm

And I found a phone. :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Very interesting take on the 'clicker' genre, pretty funny too. I thought that was all there was to it, but then it went in a totally unexpected direction. Good stuff.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:31am

Not really my type of game. Nice attempt at the humour, though!

kipelovets says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:33pm

OMG, this is awesome! A game hidden inside other game, wait it's like whole other 3D world inside a dull clicker game! AI theme is so cool, reminds me of Portal

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Haha, nice take on the theme! :D Not sure I really passed it trough -_- Is there a full pass trough.

Simon says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:21am

Mind blown! This is so great, I was in the matrix

Logun says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:12am

My fav game from this LD :) You get a lot of stars (not so far from perfect) well done.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:21pm

reached level 28, game begining to get boring, you need more upgrades. then I asked myself how do you get in the goat tower, then I woke up. Best entry I tested by far, congrats !

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Great game with an awesome twist! Played twice so I could find everything, and decided to 'finish' the mini-idle game both times just for kicks.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I really -really- liked the lesson that this game give to players. Arts are pretty well too. I think this one would deserve to win the LD 31. :)

Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Amazing!!! the first part was addicting and then my mind was blown!! great voice acting, great visuals, great message. i went back and played it 3 times so i could explore everything. i love the snowman :) . i managed to get in the water and had to throw myself off the world.

Scam says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:07pm

This is awesome. The 3D "secret" after dull button pushing is mind-blowing. :) Some dialogue lines are also very funny.

bORAT says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Awesome Game. Very Original and innovative.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:16am

It's pretty well done, but what's the point? I mean, hasn't Bioshock already covered this territory? ;P The 'reveal' is nice, though! I gave you a 5 for Theme, which I don't think I've done for anyone else. ;)

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:41am

For me the button pressing game was fun enough, but there was more! :D nicely done, I liked it!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:41am

awesome game!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:46am

OMG! One folk send to me screenshot of his progress http://gyazo.com/11fcd2820e7da526906d8b6a97e0a0b4
I definetly need to make a mobile version of this game :o)

apiotrw says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:37am

Well made game with a really nice twist

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:15pm

very funny time waster, good job

broknecho says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Great Entry! That was a neat new idea. Well done!

zillix says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:32am

Holy crap, that is awesome. Loved it!

Silii says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:12pm

You surprised me, nice idea.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:26am

great game.. took me forever to actually get to the 3d bit tho hah

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:19pm

This is clever. Very interesting way to criticize the casual gameplay drift.

Madball says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice game! There is nothing more satisfying than watching a bar fill, and upgrades add much variety to the game!
Just kidding, I completed it. But I took some time to play the inner game to see what will happen, and I broke it: http://puu.sh/dCxDE/63fff0c2ad.jpg

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice experience. It's funny also :)

Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Madball, you broke my game and heart by spending so much time in my creation :o)

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:33am

A great experience. Thank you !

Insality says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:54am

wow, great suprise game :D
awesome idea and implementation

erikkire says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:59am

Great job

ScorpyX says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Demotivator Out of 10
good work sir - i enjoy it

NPException says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Shut up and take my stars!
Look Simba, five stars everywhere

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:20pm

"wise choose" hmmhmm yeah ok...
"bad decision" oh. ooohhh... i get it. (too bad I was already at level 15)

uvwar says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Well, I fell out of the map. Low poly graphics will never not look cool, and a fun sense of humor. Good job!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:14am

Got to level 106, then I was able to instantly fill the red bar with one click and it just started to bug out and got stuck....

Disregarding this unnecessary detail, really great game and I love the humour in this, but I'm not sure if there was anything substantial to discover besides the snowman...

Mekuri says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

Loved the idea- I don't know why filling a bar became so addictive- Even at the end I decided to keep filling that bar for a while :P - Great idea, nice job!

lion123 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:48pm

A good interpretation of an idle game as a time waster without actually doing progress in the game. All you do when clicking cookies or monsters - just wasting your time. Upgrades just make you feel that you've advanced, while it still takes you about the same amount of time to progress to the next level. The only mistake is: your enemy is not a robot/android. Your enemies are game designers who know too much about human brain and therefore making very addicting games. That's a 10/10 from me

jpmit says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Nice work!

nov1kk says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Great concept!

pht59x says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I managed to climb up the levels without understanding what I was doing. This deep computer voice must have made me really smart.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:35pm

))))))

Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Awesome! Most original idea I've seen so far. I wish I could've gone exploring in the castle... ;)

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:21pm

This game made me chortle.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:12am

Really original idea. I only wish there was more to the game after you broke free from the screen.

Wevel says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

Just so you know you can fairly easily get overflow errors where you cant fill up the green line at high levels.

Kabukky says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:14am

Great concept! Too bad some or many players might miss the twist. But that doesn't take away from the brilliance.

Lynx says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:51am

Just...WOW...just well done...*clap into thunderous applause!*

Very polished game and I love the low poly stuff. I can't think of single thing to improve or change!

Dec 27, 2014 @ 9:52am

Pretty cool game with a message, that's quite rare for a LD game. You're in my top 10 I think :D

Conk says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Really good idea, the low poly world is really nicely done (: Funny as well, ticking all the boxes!

hbocao says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:07pm

This is the reason I love Ludum Dare. Awesome job, man.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:48am

Yeah, I love being manipulated ! :D

Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:37am

S is the key :)

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:32pm

I love these kind of game where the "real" game is not what you think it is. Good job!

bobombe says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Very cool idea !! When i found what S is doing i was like OMG ^^

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Hahaha fantastic game! Great take on the theme!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Really nice game

reminds me of the witness :)

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Hey what is this about.... WHAT THE HELL!! Awesome.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I love this game! Addictive gameplay! The voice is simply amazing! well done!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Great game and message! Very original, I really liked it!

Just one thing, I was able to fall off the map, haha.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Somehow you managed to make filling a progress bar somewhat entertaining, and then the twist. Awesome!

bitserum says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:02am

I'm so glad I played this, though it took me 15 levels to go for the "useless" numbers upgrades; and just when I was getting sick and tired of pointless bar upgrades.
Love, love, love the game!!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Wow! Nice surprise!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]