Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Screen Story

by BK-TN - Jam Entry

!NOTICE! If the movement is really slow, try running an external FPS counter, like Fraps. if the FPS is lower than 30, you're experiencing an annoying bug.. try using fullscreen (F4) and waiting a bit, might get it working.

---

An odd little game about finding a secret buried deep inside a mountain. Everything takes place in a single 640x480 window.
There's some spelunking and adventuring, and some obstacle avoiding if you get far enough. Hope you enjoy it.

All music in the game is by Mr Sunshine - https://soundcloud.com/mr-sunshine23

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Mood(Jam)3.96
#120Theme(Jam)4.04
#214Overall(Jam)3.59
#277Fun(Jam)3.35
#408Humor(Jam)2.75
#573Graphics(Jam)3.12
#582Innovation(Jam)2.92
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:01am

Very interesting concept, although it felt very slow paced, I understand it was necessary for the dungeon at the end, but even though, going around the land before it was a bit of a pain for how slow it felt xD, but great game overall!

BK-TN says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33am

That's odd, I was just testing the game on a slower PC and it ran more than twice as slow as it's supposed to - maybe you're having the same bug? If anyone else finds it slow, try running the game with an fps counter, like Fraps, and tell me what it shows.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Haha :D That ending :D Really liked the graphics and the mood of this game. I like discovering landscapes like this.

flegmatical says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I love how managed to cram so much adventure into such a small space! I almost quit because of the controls at first, I wanted the arrows to correspond to where I was travelling :P But after I got over that, I loved the mood and the exploratory nature of it. Bit of a dissapointing ending, but also a bit funny :)

Aglavra says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I liked the mood of the game, although the movement was too slow.

prymidion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

Pretty cool concept here, but your control scheme was a bit frustrating. Why not just let the player control with the arrow keys?

Tifu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:29am

I really liked this! I love the exploration, and the challenge area at the end was a good conclusion. Kudos!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:45am

Looks like you put a lot of effort in this. I like the sound. the movement is a bit slow for me, but I think it fits wll for this game.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Nice game overall. But the controls. controls are could be better. It is difficult to figure where're u facing at the moment. Especially if u have some vision problems

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:15pm

The mood and story were really interesting. As soon as you hear more people talking about secrets, I wanted to know what it was :D

On the other hand, that part inside the mountain was a bit off in my opinion. I had fun exploring and trying to find stuff in order to complete quests, and then it changed in.. more of an obstacle course.

Great entry though. :)

MomoyoSeiso says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Excuse my french but that was fucking awesome. I loved the almost everything about it, the desolate feeling, the exploration and the puzzling bit at the end. Also the music was epic, great job guys. :D

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

A bit slow, but with a really good mood :)

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Neat game! good use of the theme to create an interesting world to explore. I found the controls difficult to get used to, why not have each arrow button take you in that direction instead of turning. Also I had the inventory panel open without realizing it and kept thinking I was walking off the side of the map because the panel and the background are both black. Music and subtle wind sound sets a great mood.

BK-TN says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:02pm

@ciaodavinci: I made the controls like that because I made sense to me when I started out... then I got used to it, and didn't realise how counter-intuitive it is x)

Thanks for the comments, everyone. Glad you all like it.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Congratulation for making this game ! \o/
I had an awesome time ! Thanks for making this experience : The one and only bad thing i can find is the Weird control scheme. (And i was a little disapointed by the end)? But the rest is great ! Awesome music, Cool feeling of discovery, Nice minimalistic graphics. Great Job Guys !

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:34am

The fog mechanic really makes the game. Good sound and ideas you put into this one. Cool stuff man.

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Played through it, but still couldn't get used to the "tank controls". You managed to build a cool atmoshpere with such minimalistic elements. Not something I would've expected from the theme.

YourNerdyJoe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Great story but the controls took a little getting use to. Good game overall though.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:11am

Hey everything about this game is cool. First I was surprised with the control but I got used to it pretty fast. The story part is nice. I was also surprised when I saw the "arcade" part but here again it ended to be pretty fun to play. Just one negative point. Usually when you press action during a textbox with letter spawn fx it just jump to full-text display, in your case you jump back to the text fx start which is a bit annoying.

I like the minecraftesque mood of it :) surely come from the music.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

nice game and art

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]