Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Surveillance Screen

by YourNerdyJoe - Jam Entry

About:
You play as a security guard that watches the surveillance footage through a
single screen. As intruders invade determined to destroy the cores, you must
take control of the cannons in each room and prevent them from doing so.

Controls:
Left Click in Room - fire both cannons towards the mouse cursor.
Left Click Button 1-4 - change on-screen view to the corresponding room.

Hint: music changes when there are intruders in a different room.

Contact: ynjdev@gmail.com

HAVE FUN!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#352Theme(Jam)3.70
#416Innovation(Jam)3.17
#511Fun(Jam)3.03
#514Overall(Jam)3.20
#535Audio(Jam)2.59
#557Mood(Jam)2.96
#561Humor(Jam)2.48
#816Graphics(Jam)2.57

Comments

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:00am

Cool concept ... I found it a bit repetitive but overall I like it! Well done!

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Same as Hellequin, the game is pretty cool but it feels a little repetitive.
But I really liked the old feeling of some gameboy / old Dos Game for the music!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:03am

Pretty cool concept. Can be a bit chaotic switching through cameras to kill the invaders.

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

Nice Idea!
Maybe more level design made this game better, I like the concept too.
Good Job

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:28am

It was a clever concept, but I think it would have made more sense in 3D...

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28am

The ability to literally shoot yourself in the power core adds an interesting need for restraint that's missing from most shooty defense games I've played.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:33am

I had the idea of a game using camera switch. You made it happen :)
Maybe the level design could be polished and improve, but still, that's a nice entry.
Good job :)

hbocao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:43am

I liked how you couldn't spam bullets because you would hit core. It makes the player to act precise but fast. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:49am

Really interesting concept and great interpretation of the theme.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Great!The gameplay is original, and fits perfectly to the theme!
Cheers!

rantt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:59am

Cool concept, the camera switching was stressful, had to kill those little spider/crab robot things...lol. Fun game, I enjoyed it.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:30am

jajajajaja Really cool Idea!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:53am

The screen switching was pretty frustrating, since there didn't seem to be any order to the waves. It ended up being a game of clicking through each screen with a delay and a pretty grating sound effect until you find the right one, and hope you didn't take too long to find it. It would have benefited from either some sort of visual indication of danger on the screen buttons, or just a faster transition.

dallonf says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Clever idea! Missing a little something though. I think you were going for the tension of not knowing what's going on in the other cameras, but I think it would be a better challenge to have something going on in EVERY camera, be able to see all of it at once, but only be able to interact with one at a time.

Also, it took me a few playthroughs to realize that shooting the big red circle was NOT the objective XD

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

great work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]