Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Spy

by cyrus - Jam Entry

The Spy - Infiltrate the building and hack the computer without getting detected.

Use left-click to move and/or hack a computer.
Use double-click to run (careful, guards may hear you!)

GAMEPLAY TIPS (if you want them):
* The guards see only whats in front of them (and to the sides, to an extent)
* If you sneak (left-click), they don't hear you. If you run (double-click), they will hear you even through walls if you're close-by.
* Have a hard time remaining undetected? Look at the movement of the guards, try to follow them, always staying behind them.

IMPORTANT: Needs a browser that can play mp3 music. (Some troubles have been reported with Firefox on Linux)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#246Audio(Jam)3.33
#388Mood(Jam)3.19
#511Fun(Jam)3.03
#572Innovation(Jam)2.93
#651Humor(Jam)2.30
#658Overall(Jam)3.03
#770Graphics(Jam)2.68
#813Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

So stressfull, I really liked it nontheless

jocamar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

Unfortunately I can't run the game. I'm on firefox. The console says that there's .mp3 media resources that could not be decoded, my guess is because FF doesn't support .mp3.

Will try with another browser later.

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

Nice start for a stealth game. I'm not so sure about the controls, though, cause point and click controls don't allow for precise stealth

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

Liked that piano song and fog of war effect!

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:48am

It's fun, had a bit of Monaco feel to it. It seems the only way around them is to get seen and have them chase you and you just outrun them

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

You tried and you need to train to develop games.
I think i couldn't beat the game. Maybe with balancing something can work.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

At first I didn't like playing without knowing the extent of the guards view. But after I got used to the idea that I needed to simply stay behind the guards I found it fun. The music is very cinematic and the game is inviting and easy to pick up. Good show!

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06am

Thanks for the feedback. I didn't realize it was so hard. Thought about adding the view-area of the guards, but then it may be too easy ;-)

Stay behind the guards and you can complete the levels without getting detected! Outrunning them is also possible (sometimes), but more tricky...

@Firefox: Thanks for pointing that out. I think the game will only work on Windows with Firefox, because of the mp3 music.

goro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18am

Nice game, but a bit boring)

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:49am

Pretty fun. Running made it a bit easy if you went the right direction

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Real hard, but GREAT game. The point and click means table/phone people will enjoy it. Very challenging.

Smiley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I liked the "light effect".

Wilson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

The mouse click movement worked much better than I expected, nice game.

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Really nice concept. I like how the music changes and match the tension of the game. Quite difficult though.

pandamicro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great Mood ! Nicely done, but I don't see much relation with the theme

rjhelms says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Nice to see a well done stealth game on here. I like the way the line-of-sight and level transitions worked. Good music, too!

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:22am

@Theme: The idea was that you would not have levels, but instead the level changes around you (which you don't see, because you can't see behind walls)
Therefore the entire game is on one screen ;-)

InHelli says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:48pm

some pleasant moments)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:50pm

T'WAS EXHILARATING :')

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:56pm

really enjoy it
I'm hacker and enjoy it a lot :D
it's an innovation

Valon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Good stuff I liked it. Great atmosphere too.

IguanodonT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I liked it; took a while to get good control over it, still not exact control, but it was fun.

hexagore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Liked the music and mood on this. Audio is a bit glitchy but when i first got detected and the terror music kicked in it worked for me quite well :)

JNyknn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:08am

Interesting concept, although the controls felt a bit awkward. Good game, nonetheless.

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:45am

cool idea!keep up!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:31am

Good game and I like much stealth mechanics in games =)

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Good use of fog of war.
Don't feel I have too much control over the character. Would have liked keyboard/joypad controls as well.

rmc says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Is a bit confusing to play with point and click this kind of game!

But it's a nice idea for and stealth game!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:15pm

It's fun, but it took me a really long time to figure out that I was the guy outside the building in the first level, not the red guy on the inside. The level transitions were a bit confusing as well. The lighting effect was really cool.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]