Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Return of the Floppy

by daviosmash - Compo Entry

​Return of the Floppy!
In this game you will return to an older time as you watch the struggle of a floppy disk. In this high score, catch items game, you will avoid viruses and collect files.

(Recommend playing at 800x600 even with standalone versions)

Controls: Left arrow to move the floppy disk to the left, right arrow to move the floppy disk to the right. You can also use a controller.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#439Audio2.90
#491Humor2.57
#716Theme3.48
#855Fun2.76
#869Graphics2.61
#943Mood2.47
#995Overall2.73
#1101Innovation2.19

Comments

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Interesting game. The background was a bit noisy to see enemies on, but the movement was very smooth, and the difficulty curve was nice. Those purple stars are pretty hard to catch!

dokidoki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

Having the side-to-side viruses in there made it tricky, but I could hide in the corner for a while. :)

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

Nostalgic, nice background

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

Hi!
Nice game! Really simple but effective, kept me playing a while! This site needs to bookmark favorites, definitely one my favs.

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33am

Difficult, but fun!

Tempeth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40am

Nicely done! Addicting game play, but I would agree background could be a bit more muted to be easier on the eyes :)

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

Nice music! It would be nice to be able to get health back somehow.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

Interesting game :D love it

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26am

This was really well executed. It seems like you had a pretty good handle on what you could accomplish and stayed within those bounds. This is one of the more polished jam entries I've seen.

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17am

Floppy disk controls were a bit floaty, but apart from that it was pretty good. Loved the background music.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

Throws you right into it! I would like to be able to see the text info at the bottom a little better so I could keep up. Cool game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:51am

Fairly simplistic, but not bad. The viruses were really difficult to dodge!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30am

TotalCommander!?! I like the old school art style, but gameplay way too simple.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46am

What a wonderful throw back to the days of the floppy, As I played I recalled all the times I would want to copy small increments of data to a disk. Great Work!

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03am

Ahh, the good old days. :P

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03am

The distribution of the enemy feels random. Maybe you could tweak it so it's easy in the beginning and then harder as time goes by, so people would have the chance to familiarize themselves. Congrats on the entry though~

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28am

the moving are random ? it make this more difficult D: but it's cool !

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:35am

Ok game. It is a really simple game and I would have wanted something more. The menu GUI you could have worked some more on.

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:51am

Great Graphics

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:25am

Nice game, love the retro theme.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35am

Really set that 80s/90s vibe, although that's a remarkably clean circuit board. This is a nice take on the theme and it looks good.

My wife did a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/exE2rA3HscQ

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:40am

Best score 1400 :D
I really love you background, you should made it not only a background :D

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:54am

The UI could use some TLC, but gameplay is there. I like that the items dropping have random behavior.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Nice and simple. Maybe the floppy has too much inertia, but overall a nice game. Thanks!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:47pm

What's a floppy drive? (J.K.) Great job.

PERECil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:55pm

This games reminds me both missile command and astrosmash. Good controls, but very hard.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:53pm

I thing enemies/friends are too similar. Fun to play!

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:04pm

High score: 1800. Kinda tranquil to play.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:52pm

The interesting enemy movement patterns and decent amount of polish stand out!

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Nice little game, I like how the hazard icon stopped a while before advancing, unlike the others. Keep it up!

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11pm

I liked it, but I would have liked it more if it had progressive difficulty or set waves of enemies. It was a bit too random--anyone, good one!

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:10pm

love that retro sound :) Welldone!

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33pm

This was alright, I found it quite floaty to control, and the viruses were moving across the screen a little too much in my opinion, so it made them annoyingly hard to dodge, but the concept is pretty neat, and the music wasn't bad either. I wasn't a great fan of the graphics, because they seemed really basic to me, but it fits the theme well. Good job.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice little game, though from the screen shot, I got a different idea for a single-screen game, a platformer where your character is really REALLY small, and there's one level, but the level is big because the character is only one pixel or something.

Luminar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Not bad, but would like some kind of goal to the game that would make it worth playing.

Bardikus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Simple fun and nostalgic game

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Cool game:) Score: 13000

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Possibly my favourite game so far. You know my weakness sir!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Simple but well done. I dig the nostalgia. I wish they were retro icons from Windows 3.1 or something like that.

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Neat background.
The enemy back and forth motion was hard to get used to, at first.

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Oh the nostalgia! nice job! xD

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:44am

Neat little game.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:42am

My favorite part is trying to trick the viruses! Nice entry!

DavidLv says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39pm

It's a very simple game. but I like it.

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Since the background was flat, it gave a sense of a lot of movement offscreen. I think it was a creative take on a dodge game. For future development, I would add a requirement to collect data. Otherwise, like someone else said, you can just hide in the corner for a while. As someone else pointed out with health, the file collection could also serve as a health meter where viruses make you lose data.

StackAttack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The in game graphics are actually pretty good, they fit well, why is the title screen so much worse? I would definitely appreciate more powerups

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Very cool graphics. Nice music as well. Pretty fun too!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50am

A really nice entry for a simple concept which accomplishes the challenge for this LD. I like the movement fluidity and the differents elements - friends or ennemies. Well done ++

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:40am

Nice game.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:01am

Thanks for checking out Natquik and leaving me feedback! I definitely enjoyed myself here. I felt like the difficulty ramped up slowly but specifically. I was collecting stars and getting to the flow of things. The music reminded me a little bit of Primer's soundtrack. Job well done. Thanks for sharing and congrats! :)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Nice and simple. I really like the theme you went with. Good work.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:12am

I liked the simple and clean gameplay. Sometimes individual elements would come to a stop and then start up again after a half second. It really threw my timing off!

My high score was 16400 after I hit my stride on the second or third playthrough. I can see why we don't use floppy disks anymore!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:35am

Nice music, it's perfect for the theme of the game!
BTW well done, a little too hard sometimes!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Simple game. Fun to play. The viruses are vicious.

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:23am

Awesome job for a first time entry. Nice graphics and good use of sounds. Something I would have liked to see would have been to have a floating UI pop when you got points or lost a life. Great job bro!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Simple catch the falling objects game. Pretty damn tough as well. I miss floppy disks.

Eggplant says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Cool! I liked it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:41am

pretty good game - simple mechanics - but everything was cmoplete - nice job

MintArcade says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:10am

Nice game. Total Commander use to have similar icon. Retro for the win :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]