Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Growth

by solarexplorer - Compo Entry

Eat and grow, rack up combos by lining up shots or bouncing off the edge.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#698Audio2.44
#716Theme3.48
#752Fun2.88
#814Mood2.63
#875Innovation2.65
#921Overall2.83
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

v01pe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Hey! I liked the simplicity of the game, a little more variety would be nice though - things like attracting spots, moving objects, … at some point it is impossible to continue, because you can not not run into red things - a cashing in mechanic like in BIT.TRIP VOID would be nice.
4th round I had a bug where no red things appeared, and I got super huge, basically getting a point per frame :D

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Hi, nice game idea!

I would have liked to have a trajectory kind of display while dragging, or at least an arrow from the object to the mouse - it would have made the idea of "pulling" the shape more clear.

Side note: Your readme says to run "kivy main.py" - that didn't work for me (Ubuntu). Instead, I had to run "python main.py".
Also, kivy seems to be available in the repositories - so it's actually easier to get it from there (no need for a ppa).

Nice game!

Wakka says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I am not rating or playing the game, because I would need to download a 100 MB runtime. Just want to let you know that you should consider a more accessible technology next time ...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Nice, simple, and sweet!

Croze says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

@wakka the point of ludum dare isn't to make a game that'd available for everyone, it's about making anything you want to make and anyone who is able to give feedback can.

solarexplorer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:14am

Wakka, I agree with you somewhat, I think a 100mb file for what I packaged is unnecessary. I am currently in the market for a new "prototyping" framework that's readily cross platform (and lighter weight). Kivy is good for some things, but I think it doesn't do too much to optimize its packaging, and just includes everything (I haven't audited how the packaging works, so it's not very fair for me to criticize it much more than to say the packages seem large).

I chose Kivy because I'm familiar with it, and it can be reasonably packaged for Mac, Windows, and Linux.

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Looks like an interesting minimalist game. Sadly I can't afford to install anything. gl

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:26am

enjoyed it, but could use some work with look and sound. and the game closed completely when i died

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:08am

wow wat a great concept

rantt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:48am

Nice minimalistic game. Good job.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:21am

Straight and to the point. I like it! Great job in just 48 hrs :)

Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:42am

Simple but fun :)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

nice dude

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

Intreating. Game of life mixed with some snake.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]