Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dry Land

by funkysquid - Compo Entry

You're stuck in a screen – you'll have to fight fish in a quest for dry land.

[Not tested in IE]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#54Humor3.71
#271Theme3.84
#411Mood3.09
#506Audio2.81
#511Graphics3.15
#598Fun3.05
#698Innovation2.94
#711Overall3.05

Comments

kierygeek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02am

:thumbsup:

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43am

Nice. Completely unexpected gameplay but made me laugh.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45am

5 stars on humor :)

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:02am

Holy cow this game is hilarious. So unexpected.

(Fixed the available ratings on my game btw (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=31759))

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03am

I won! Little easy. The fish sprites are nicely maniacal looking with their chattering jaws.

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22am

I was confused at first until I found the submarine. Really funny and great transitions with the water filling up and then draining. Good use of the theme too. Those fish are scary! Good job!

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice little melody in the background :). I'm just gonna let that keep playing for a bit, I think. Amusing end, too!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45am

I won! haha cool idea, simple but nice

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47am

I won! Game was a bit small though, but better small and good than big and bad. A well spent minute!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I like the music and is a new touch of storyline to the classic shooter arcade game. Cheers for the game! Good luck!

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

really cute art style, loved it! :) in fact, great job overall!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Gloup, i died too much, very nice :)

WiErD0 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

Kinda fun game, though the music gets a bit repetitive after a while. I like how the fish get bigger over time, but it took me a while to figure out how to attack the fish with space, being the stupid game player that I am (meaning you should always assume your players to be idiots with the controls). Fun idea with the sub though.

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

Nice water transition SFX.

Unexpected yet fun.

Would have loved some more SFX in game and greater fish variety :)

lexi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:57am

Nice and funny game!

Harley77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Very nice, short little game.

spotco says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:48am

The art is cute and the fish sprites are adorably menacing. Was confused until I found the submarine, but after that the game became very easy.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:20am

> @Harley77 says ...
> Very nice, short little game.
Agreed =)

rantt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:54am

lol, I was not expecting this. Fun game, great job! :)

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:58am

Made me smile. The music changes when you go underwater! I like it :) nice entry

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

:oh my god what was that:

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

5 stars for fun :D

Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Nice! I had a hard time figuring out how to play at the beginning. It was pretty fun (and funny!) once I figured it out. I think that there should be a way to restart the game, because currently it's more difficult than it should be to play again after dying.

paperweight says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:00am

Nice :D

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:04am

Very funny game! The style off you game is cool!!
Well made!

egos says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

i like the intro and conclusion
Well polished good job

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:57am

Any game that tracks the amount of angered fish is okay in my book.

Charming graphics and a funny (also clever) premise. Took me a second to find the submarine but then it was go time. Only quibble I have is that you have to reload the page to try again, but other than that the game is great fun!

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:01am

I kinda like the graphics :D

Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Unusual :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]