Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Caged Burd Sings

by Ryan Kline - Jam Entry

This was a 2 man project, and also the first game WE HAVE EVER MADE. Also, shout out to c63 industries for all the help and for featuring us on their stream!!


Their site:
http://www.areyousquared.com/

Thanks so much guys! With that being said, we are proud to present. . .
WHY THE CAGED BURD SINGS

Why the Caged Bird Sings is a game about the life of a simple house pet. This bird spends his days chilling in his totally escape-free cage, playing with his totally sick, super awesome high value toys that the humans gave him for their own twisted amusement. They may amuse the humans,
but bird has had enough. Bird wants something more.

"How would you like to be stuck in a cage all day?" sings the bird.

"AWWWWWH IT's SO CUTE!! EEKKK!!" says the human.

They just don't get it. . . they just don't understand. . . No matter how many pieces of cake, no matter how many high-tech jetpacks or fancy shoulder mounted missile cannons. . . No matter how many deadly spike traps, floating platforms, or iridescent exploding targets. . . It means nothing without FREEDOM. . .

Sing it out bird. Sing your heart out. Teach them what it means to suffer, make them understand through your music. . .

Maybe one day soon you too, will finally be free.

Move with WASD. Use the numbers 1-8 to sing notes. Sing to the humans to get them to get them to give you more toys and let you out of your dingy little bird prison.
You go bird. You're a cool guy; we got your back.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#218Humor(Jam)3.20
#530Fun(Jam)3.00
#580Audio(Jam)2.45
#687Mood(Jam)2.78
#773Innovation(Jam)2.59
#789Graphics(Jam)2.63
#789Theme(Jam)3.19
#797Overall(Jam)2.84

Comments

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:49am

This game is quite fun. Fairly challenging. =)

Nice start at least. It's fun. =)

BKGH says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50am

Some people on the site has reservations against .rar files, so you might want to consider adding in a .zip.

This game was quite interesting, albeit a bit abstract.

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51am

Graphics were OK, it seemed weird trying to combine a platformer with keypress event type things(known as quick time events).

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52am

Great game, the levels were a bit too ragey for me, I really loved the ability to jam along with the music as i hopped about, you should definately explore that idea further!

overallcyber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

I love this game! The theme is super original and super funny. The graphics and audio could be better and there are a lot of platformer games out there, but overall, this was awesome. Good luck! :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

Nice first game! I dug the concept and the back story a lot. And the bird singing was noice. Only complaint was controls could be tighter.

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

Really hard to get past the first spikes, but I persevered and now I feel really accomplished. Thanks little birdy.

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47am

haha this is wonderful, it brings me back to an earlier simpler time when you made a platformer and stuck all the things that you like in it, game making nostalgia

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

Challenging and well though level design. The music is nice.

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:53am

It's amazing how much better things look when you draw them horribly, then squish them down to a 32x32 resolution.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

Nice! The game is a bit short but other than that, good humour!

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

The music got a little annoying. Other than that it works.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39am

I like how each successive level introduces a new mechanic that (aside from the music level) builds on top of platforming. Good challenge as well.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39am

Good work. Found no bug. The multi-gameplay thing is quite weird but if it's to serve the purpose of freeing a bird, it's pretty cool after all :)

C63Industries says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:45am

Your team did a good job on your first Ludum Dare.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:42pm

The bird with the gun is really cute *_*.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

Cute entry, nice job!

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Good job!

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Cute little game. Very good job for your first game.
The bird image is very nice. Sounds could have been more birdlike. ;)

Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:58am

Nice variety in modes. Could lead to some interesting puzzle-y levels if combined. (sing to open path to target, etc.)

sorlok says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:08am

Solid entry; looks good and is creative and fun. Liked the level progression. :D

Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:25pm

This is really random and weird but funny. Well done, really good job for your first game.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]