Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Rider

by ETHproductions - Compo Entry

Snake Rider is a lot like any ordinary platformer game. Collect items to get points, avoid hitting hazards and dying, and try to get the high score. The difference? The platform is constantly changing!

Ride the snake platform around the screen, collecting coins along the way. Avoid the stinky green coins and the explosive mines. Grab a heart or two to gain back a life, and get a gem for a bonus!

Since this is my first LD entry (I used Stencyl), I overestimated how much I could get done in 48 hours. The post-compo version will have more items and hazards, more sound and visual effects, and better GUI.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move (You can do a double jump!)
P to toggle pause
M to toggle mute

You can try the original compo version by clicking the link below.

When the source file is uploaded into Stencyl, it will automatically import all the code and graphics.

Note: I did fix one game-ruining bug (the life system stopped working after the first run) shortly after the deadline.

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#141Audio3.46
#289Innovation3.52
#372Theme3.74
#395Fun3.25
#433Humor2.67
#476Overall3.27
#503Mood2.98
#822Graphics2.68

Comments

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21am

Interesting idea. The control is a bit buggy.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:38pm

That is one vicious snake. :O Really good entry!

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Really cool idea to combine these elements!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Great game and really addicting! Really innovative with the snake-impression. Good work!

AndresGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Loved this game, It was pretty difficult to control the character though. The sliding made it hard. Also felt like jumping over bad things was a little harder than it should be. Good Job!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Fun little game! I had to play a couple of times to figure out what all the collectibles were and if they were good or not :) Controls felt great!

Pankoman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

nice but New super mario bros did that.

QuexD says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45am

Might want to work on collisions otherwise good game!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59am

Nice innovation, good job. I like the music too!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01am

Haha! Creative and fun! Sweet music! This proves once again that good gameplay beats graphics! Well done

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03am

nicely done!

ishimilated says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

Inovative and fun! :D

krishna911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

fun :)

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23am

doofy PC? catchy music? oh so simple yet unforgiving gameplay? Yup, I would've definitely been playing this in computer class in high school instead of doing homeework! I mean that in a good way, very nifty. Feels like an old flash game from somewhere like mathisfun or newgrounds. The bad coins are hard to distinguish from the good ones though, that was a little frustrating.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

Nice concept. The player movement killed it for me though. Love the music!

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33am

I got so many of the -1000's lol. Nice game. Definitely continue this post comp. I would try to add more turns "types", I was generally seeing maybe 3: dip down 3 squares, loops up 3 squares or turn back on itself. It is a good twist on the idea of platformers.

sirikan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:48am

Nice game. Reminds me of a few levels from super mario bros :).

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:04am

Nice idea, although controls are a bit laggy.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:50am

Congrats, really massive entry :) Nice idea, good music and fun to play.

codebakemono says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02pm

cool, simple and effective, I especialy like the color choices :)
also if you are interested to see our prototype that revolves around begging money on street by constructing robot to impress people, please check this link , we look forward to your feedback ;)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=20999

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Nice idea but I wish there was a little more control like some way to influence the snakes direction or something.

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Cool take on snake! (heh, rymes) We did something similar with pacman,

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Good game and not an easy one, but some speedup for the snake would have been a little more fun.

XTremEive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:20pm

This game is funny! I liked it. Maybe work on those controls. But hey! It was fun! And the music is so catchy!

Just Tom says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07pm

I dig it! I feel like it could get more hectic a little faster, but other than pacing a solid idea with great implementation :)

I legit dig that music too, proper arcady!

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Pretty cool game! Well made game and I like the concept. Also, cool music! :D

Aomeas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice little game with a good music :3
Using the green color for a malus wasn't good though.

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Nice game, it reminds me of a similar level in Yoshi's Island on SNES :). The game is fun to play and challenging, and seems quite complete for a 48h game. I especially love the music, what did you use to compose it?

NeithR says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Damn snake trolled me xD.

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I really liked the randomization and the progression of the game. The game feels very slow, and player control is just too bad. Because player slides after jump lots of deaths are just annoying. With good friction this can be a really good game.
Good job overall.

SivGoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice game! I haven't played anything similar to it, love how got inspiration from the much loved classic game snake!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Pretty cool! I'd make hazards and goodies easily distinguishable. Also plays a little slow, you might want to speed it up a bit. Pretty fun idea!

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Nice idea and well executed. But I died because of the physics implementation bouncing me randomly off the corner of the snake :( But that might be intended, as it might be too easy otherwise.

personalurban says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Echo the other points: good fun, nice idea, physics a little... awkward. I'd like to say why they felt awkward but its one of those things, hard to put your finger on it but not quite smooth. Something to do with the transition curves used during movement I'd guess.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:21am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! I agree, the controls/physics do seem awkward, but I've figured out a solution. They should be better in the post-comp version. I'll also make sure the collectibles and hazards can be easily told apart.

You're right that the snake-platform was inspired by the Super Mario games. I'll add more features to it, such as power-ups, in the next version.

Currently, the snake speeds up every eight seconds, but it does start out kind of slow. For the post-comp version, I'll make it faster.

I'm glad you guys like the music! I created it in ~15 minutes with a Flash-based program called Beepbox (www.beepbox.co).

joshg says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:21am

Are you familiar with the old NES/Genesis BattleToads? That had a snake pit level: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3vbfsAFAgU

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:14am

Funny and creative game - I had a good time!
Well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:45am

Neat idea, and a nice little game. Movement feels a little slippery, which works (looks at games like Super Meat Boy), but if you're going for that effect try and tighten up and polish the physics there.
Sometimes power-ups would appear right under/next to me, which sucked when they were negatives ones. Power-ups are pretty crucial to this game, so try and make them shine. Maybe some new ones that change the Snake's behavior.
Having another snake for multi-platform movement would be cool. Maybe different levels, some w/ obstacles? Works great as is, but that's one way to spice if up if you were trying.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:39am

pretty neat game! I like it, though 'leveling up' seemed very arbitrary.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The controls/physics could use some tweaking. Other than that, it's a nice and fun game!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Cool concept, srsly. In this entry I was actually find what I'm looking for in all jam-games: easy and joyful gameplay.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Really cool idea! The platforming could use a little work, maybe the snake could be a little faster but the music great. Very imaginative use of the theme.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Interesting game! To me, the game's a little too random which makes it less fun. But I had fun playing it! Very polished, nice graphics, awesome audio.
Good work!

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Catchy music lol, and a great modification to the old snake game.

PS. Thanks for putting the 10 seconds into figuring out our game's name xD

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:21am

The slippery controls was very annoying.

Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:28am

Thanks for all the feedback! The controls are quite slippery in this version, but I've already fixed that in the post-compo version. I've also improved the generation of items. Next on my list of things to do is add in some more power-ups.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

The controls are a bit weird sometimes.
And I found the green and yellow coins a little too similar (maybe make the bad ones red?).
Other than that, this is a really awesome entry. I love the idea (Why has no one else thought of this?!).
Solid entry, well done, especially for a first LD!

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Very original concept. A pity there was no audio. Overall, a very funny game.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Innovation 5/5: Really innovative!!!! I liked this fusion!!!

Fun 5/5: Really funny!!! Anyway, if you don't know nothing about the double jump it's nearly impossible.

Theme 3/5: Simply the game is run in a single screen.

Graphics 4/5: Simple but well mad graphics.

Audio 5/5: Great chiptune!!!

Humor n/a: I can't find humor.

Mood 5/5: I felt really well while playing!!!

Overall 4/5: Great game, but a bit repetitive when you played a while.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Cool idea and game play, post combo version is a lot better. Cute snake rider!!

Well made!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Thanks, guys! I've made the bad coins darker in the post-comp version. Turning them red sounds like a good idea; I'll see if it helps.

pht59x: No audio? You must've hit M, which mutes all sound. Sorry for not integrating the mute function very well; it was a last-minute addition.

lion123 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Neat idea, but with some collision bugs

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Very nice concept.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

good idea but snake shoud have more complex AI so when player dies its not the snake foult but the player. Now sometimes snake goes a way that makes it impossible to continue.

in post compo version I think it's better snake AI wise. I dont know if its my luck or if you fixed that.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I did change the snake's AI quite a bit in the post-compo version. I'm considering making the snake, along with the player, be able to wrap around the screen (i.e. pass through the right side and appear to the left, and vice versa). That would help the player in situations where they currently get stuck underneath the snake, or pushed off the side of it.

nkling says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Great game! I don't think I've played a game using this mechanic before, it's really awesome. Also great music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]