Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Path of Thorns

by CosyCave - Jam Entry

Guide her home using WASD or arrow keys. You can also press R to reset the current level. To fully appreciate the graphics we recommend that you play the game using a downloadable executable.

Team CosyCave:
Anssi Lappalainen - Game Design / Programming
Catarina Sarmento - Graphics

Game uses free sounds from audiomicro.com and we opted out of the audio category.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#104Theme(Jam)4.06
#144Graphics(Jam)4.06
#241Overall(Jam)3.53
#295Mood(Jam)3.33
#423Fun(Jam)3.16
#746Innovation(Jam)2.65

Comments

GSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54pm

A really nice game, I love the art style and feel of it. The puzzles were rather difficult, but that's half the fun.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Cool graphics. The puzzles were challenging.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Oh, one of THOSE games...We all know how to play these games. Although, the bonking-rocks are new to me. I like the art style and the presentation, that's top quality. The puzzles quickly get kinda frustrating, though. There doesn't seem to be much incentive to get through them other than "What's at the final end"...

Ithildin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Great take on the theme, polished gameplay and beautiful art. Nice job!

pk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

The puzzles were well balanced. The art was consistent(though perhaps leaning towards a bit too much blue)

I really missed music though, even some plain forest ambient recording could've added some atmosphere. (I think there might be some track playing but it's very subtle compared to footstep sfx??)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39am

Great game overall, shines on the graphics! :)

seraphki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

I like it! I thought it was broken for a moment when I couldn't change direction while moving, was thrilled when I figured out that it was the mechanic. I love these sorts of puzzles =]

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:52am

Wow, amazing graphics! I love the half-pixelated, half-painterly look of this entry. To be honest I gave up about halfway through because I've played so many of these puzzles before, but I really was curious to find out what was at the end--I'm expecting a rose, and given these graphics, I would have loved to have seen it. I agree with the other posters that some more motivation would have helped, though. Maybe a slow progression on the level appearance, so that the tones slowly become slightly warmer?

Thank you for the game!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Graphics 5 stars. Very Fun... Good job!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:39pm

This game brings me back to my old phone (it used to have a game called "Aporkolypse" (or something). :3 Beautiful execution and the art creates gloomy feel. Perhaps this can be heightened by some audio? :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Really nice puzzle game. I have struggled in order to understand this mecanic but after 1 minute I have understood. It is a good idea and mood is beautiful. One of my favorites. Thx ++

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:53pm

The color choices are fantastic. I was paranoid that the retry option would take me all the way to the beginning at first and so I spent a long time thinking about each puzzle before I messed up the first time. Great game, thanks for sharing!

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

This is just like those ice puzzles from pokemon. I like those ice puzzles. therefore I like this game. I think an ambient background track would have really benefit the mood of the game. This was cool though.

ajopart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Great experience !! Rather difficult :-)

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Love the art :) too sad I got stuck at fourth level :(

bazld says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Excellent! one of my favorites.

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Oh pretty cool but I got stuck in the 7th room, because I pushed a boulder from the previous room into it and that blocked the path and restarting didn't do anything.

The graphics are really charming, kudos for them :)

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really good looking and a classic gameplay. Good entry.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:36pm

The art style is stunning. I love the sound of the snow!
The atmosphere is great!

BretHudson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Clever twist on the concept! The art's fantastic, and the puzzles kept me challenged (only managed to make it halfway through. I'll try again some other time when I'm feeling smarter!

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:56am

Was like the ice-block puzzles in the original pokemon games for gameboy. Did end up beating the whole game somehow.

enteagd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Enjoyed it!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:19am

A classic puzzle :) With nice art. Good jobs!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Oh, graphics style is amazing and it is very interesting to play!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:30am

Nice take on the theme. I really liked the art style and the puzzles. Great job overall!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

I loved the art, great idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]