Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

DisChord

by Grindstorm - Jam Entry

---Controls:---
WASD or Arrow Keys: Move the characters
Spacebar: Switch between characters
R: Restart
Backspace or Left Click: Skip level 11

---Description:---
DisChord is a puzzle game in which the dark and light sides of yourself have to work together to bring balance back to the Universe. By finding ways around level obstacles, and working through both sides of the connected board, you collect the yin and yang elements to reunite them in the center.

--About:--
This is our first game jam as a team made through Reddit, mainly done by members from Canada, and a team member from Costa Rica. We are:
Jorge Arroyo: Programming
Vincent Laforest: Design, UI
Beatrix Moersch: Music, SFX
Nick Moersch: Graphics, Animations

---Updates:---
12/9: Added skip option for level 11, which due to a compiling bug has become unbeatable, you can skip it with Backspace or Left Clicking

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#122Overall(Jam)3.75
#154Mood(Jam)3.61
#157Fun(Jam)3.55
#187Audio(Jam)3.46
#277Innovation(Jam)3.43
#421Graphics(Jam)3.44
#572Theme(Jam)3.48

Comments

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30am

I'm having trouble getting your game to run.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:34am

Updated the link, it should run now.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:38am

This is a pretty good game, the concept is solid, however, not being able to hold down the arrow keys breaks up the flow.

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

I really like the atmospheric sounds, the collection sound effects, and the neat grid "glow" effect!

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42am

Well, it ran, but I couldn't get past the second level. There was some sort of block on both sides and I couldn't figure out how to get rid of it. There was not any hint I could find.

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42am

works now! (I hope the unity player wasn't on this page the whole time...I'll feel really dumb).
Wow...this is super fun. Really nice work!

herofresh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

Good Mood and nice atmosphere but we found ourselfes a bit bored.

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

Very fun, fairly simple. Levels were well designed and conveyed information and mechanics very well. Idea was fun, and enjoyable to play. My only complaint is a little bit of graphical spasms, but that doesn't really detract from its greatness.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Such a killer concept with a great feel. This aced it for audio and mood for me, it really set a nice feeling. The levels were skillfully crafted as well. The only nit pick is that the white background on the game page was so harsh compared to the dark game.

Phyyl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Very well done, all the levels I've played (about 11) are super well designed. Very good game idea it deserves some recognition!

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:51am

Extremely fun and well made game, Easily a game I would use a dollar or 2 on! gave up at level 11 (after playing for almost 30 minutes)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54am

A nice puzzle game with a neat switch mechanic.

Wiering says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54am

You've got a pretty solid little puzzle game. Only thing missing is an undo button.

muramasa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03am

One word. Thisgameisawesome.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:07am

Great game! Very smart levels, and a smart way of introducing them. Some really cool mechanics here.

My complaint is the volume of the laser beams. You can hardly hear the music over them, and they can be quite grating after 60seconds+ on the same level.

Really nice game!

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

I started getting stuck from Level 4 which is a good thing because I was able to complete it, yet feel challenged. Very good level design.

max_peabody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

Excellent sound design and solid puzzles! Great job!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

Really cool puzzle game. Remembers somehow on sokoban. :-) Nice atmosphere. I like the light effects alot.

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Good game play. It is a clever puzzler concept.

vairse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

We really enjoyed the game; it's a nice mellow puzzler.

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13am

Awesome puzzle. It got me going for a long time. I found the difficulty very suitable. I had to restart a couple of times. :D

DiegoMustache says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I like the way you introduce the player to the mechanics and different kinds of obstacles (by forcing them to try it and see the reaction). How do you beat level 11 though? I'm totally stuck.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Great puzzle. Really creative. Clean art.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Which chord? DisChord! Feel free to use that tagline if you want. This base mechanic led to some interesting puzzles, sort of like a super-sokoban. I really enjoyed it!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Thank you guys for your amazing comments!
We are very happy you are liking it.

For those stuck on level 11: I'm terribly sorry but there is a progress bug where the crates don't destroy upon hitting lasers :(
Unfortunately, you won't see my dreadful (and last) level 12.

We might add a fix or a skip level button if we are permitted to do so. Thanks!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Jorge here. Thanks for all the comments and feedback! Sadly the compiler won't cooperate with us, so I put a Skip button on level 11 so you can keep playing past that level :)

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Solid atmosphere and some good puzzles.

Nice work!

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Wow! I really like this game! It wouldve been great to play up the dischord theme even further, maybe having the music be off key and as you line up the ying and yang harmonize together...Great job!

Also the full game doesnt fit on screen when played on the games ludum dare page :)

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Nice game here. Amazing mood built from amazing music.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:47am

Geat entry with a very nice gameplay and atmospher
I didn't felt like the difficulty level increase was very well balanced ; level six felt way simpler than level 5 for example
the puzzles are well crafted and interesting

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49am

Awesome, Loved Sokoban style games. good flow, nice graphics, sorry couldn't give full for theme, as elements were not all in screen (beamed in?) from outside.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01am

Awesome game! I love it :D

bushmango says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28am

Thanks for commenting on my game, Four Seasons.

I really enjoyed your puzzle game. My son and I are competing to see how far we can get. I really like the well-paced puzzle introduction and difficulty curve.

I responded to your comment:
>> Interesting game! I didn't get the idea of the four seasons though :/

With

@Grindstorm the islands switch between spring, summer, fall, and winter. I guess that really only makes sense in temperate zones like the Midwest U.S.A. where we live though.... hmmm.

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:40am

Loved it! Very easy to understand, and the puzzles get more difficult at a really good pace, demonstrating each mechanic very clearly. This is how you design puzzles. Well done!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45am

i dig it

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54am

Wow, this game is great on so many levels -- clever, well-designed puzzles, and audio that really grabs you, sets the mood, and feels satisfying to interact with objects. The graphics look great, fantastic entry through and through!

(Ps -- fellow canadian redditor, very excited to see you guys getting together and producing something of such high quality!)

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56am

4 stars all around. Love this game

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:13am

Your level design is incredible. You did a great job of teaching each mechanic before it was relevant in very simple ways, and the puzzles themselves were just the right amount of challenge. It would have been nice to see some different mechanics or more twists on this type of game, but as it stands it's still a wonderful puzzle game. The graphics were solid, nice soft glows and flicker effects, and the music and sound were perfect fits for the mood of the game. Great entry.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:04am

Great puzzles. When the level came up that I had to press backspace to skip it wouldn't work. Art, gameplay, and audio all good but the lazer buzz was a bit loud.

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:02am

Very good level design! Good progression of levels, training levels which introduce new concepts, etc. Overall a very good game.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:06am

Nice game.

Rnd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:22am

Cool.. brand new concepts... good job man..

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:34pm

nice puzzle game, great visuals and sound, well done

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Pretty cool idea, one of the best games I've played so far. Well done!!!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24pm

That's a good solid puzzle game. It progresses well and I love the audio.

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Super game = )
Graphics are nice, music is cool. Sound effects are ok.
The puzzle concept is great. The best is certainly the level design.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Really like this entry. Solid implementation of a good puzzle game. The audio created a really cool mood, and the puzzles were challenging enough for me to put my serious face on. I think the only thing it's missing is more production value. Great entry, i really enjoyed it.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Awesome audio! The level progression was spot on. Very relaxing atmosphere.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:54am

Ok, you REALLY stumped me on some of these puzzles!

The mood is really nice, and I love all of the little sounds that the gems make. Good work!

shotty456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:19am

I couldnt get past level 5 =( but it was very fun! I love puzzle games so when i played this i was really enjoying it!

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:51am

I like the concept. What it needs is a bit more polish and more levels.

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I really enjoyed this, so far my favorite one from what I have played so far! Really nice job for the amount of time and the puzzles are really clever. This is a great idea with nice sound effects and colors. My only drawback (and this is just to nit pick) is that even though it is all in one screen the theme might have been incorporated a bit more into the game for a bit of uniqueness to the jam. Other then that, I thought this was great overall.

yosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Not only this is a good puzzle game, but it's also designed towards this "zen" yoga-ish atmosphere referring to the ying & yang (notably the lazers that reminded me of monks mediating).
Excellent job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10pm

wow, great game, great sfx. great job guys. love it!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:38pm

very interesting puzzle game! great level design. couldn't skip level 11. would buy on app store

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Challenging puzzle game, I really like the idea. The music es a bit repetitive, maybe a song would be better.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Pretty cool

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:58am

This is a pretty solid puzzle game. It may not be the most original idea, but the design is very appealing. The level design may become a bit monotonous but overall, well done.

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Very cool I like the lasers and the stereo sound when a laser is left or right :P

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Really cool actually, good difficulty ramp.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Nice game. Reached level 12 and then stopped because of time constraint. I had fun playing it!!

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Very cool game. - Tilman (from compo account)

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Good game. Nice learning curve, great atmosphere with the music and graphics fitting nicely. My only negaitve point is that I think that the use of one level per screen is not as good a use of the theme. But that's probaby just me. Very good entry.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Great level design! Cool game and concept.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:54am

This is a great puzzle game. Really smart level design, especially on such a tight schedule. Nice ambient, moody atmosphere. If you keep working on this, it might be nice to be able to repeatedly move in a direction by just holding that directional button. Also, restarting a level could be faster, and you could consider adding the option to undo one move. Lovely work, thank you!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:16am

Nice game, well structured puzzle. Good Job.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:35am

Wow, very addictive game. I really like the concept, the dual screen and how you need to think having in mind both sides! Level 5 was difficult in that matter, for me. But cool, it was quite a challenge!
Congrats!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Great game and pretty cool concept. I enjoyed it. Well done.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Innovative game mechanics, very interesting to play - I enjoyed it=)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:18pm

ok)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:33am

Wow, this is pretty good!

Greg says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:25am

amazing concept, nice atmosphere with the sounds, very good overall, good job

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:19pm

I really like the sound design of this game, it goes with the whole "yin/yan" kind of theme, where if you move the right, you hear from the left and vice-versa ! Very well done LD overall!

marsermd says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:43pm

nice puzzle! Although laser sound is a bit annoying if there are 2 of them, had a great pleasure to play.

fil00dl says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:40pm

pretty puzzle game with nice atmosphere

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Very nice puzzle game! I think the difficulty is just right (didn't have time to play more than 7 levels though)

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:56am

This is really fun to play I love the concept but, I got stuck on level 5.

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:31am

Nice little twist on Sokoban, and I'd love to see it extended to a full game.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:18am

fun challenging puzzles.

ynots says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:26pm

nic..

cxsquared says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Really great puzzle game. I love the mechanics and the sound effects are perfect. Nice work!.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Fun and challenging. Particularly liked that audio was divided between the two sides, it really added to the atmosphere. Great work!

Backterria says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:58am

Very nice mood!The sound effects are just beautiful.I like me some puzzles!Cool work guys!Keep up :)

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:12am

Interesting puzzle game! could work for mobile as well, very well done

BooleanByte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice one, realy like it. It's a good puzzel game I think

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:16am

Very cool game! Liked the puzzles and the music.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:52am

Solid little puzzle game. Great level design, complementary graphics. Great job guys!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:11am

Great concept, pretty fun.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Solid entry, was fun to play through while I got stuck in level 10.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:13am

Very Clean Art :) wow this game tinkeld my brain for a while

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

Awesome sound design, cool puzzles, nice graphics. Not too innovative yet very fun to play. Good job! :)

Dunric says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

Radical!

Ossi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

A really great game! Great graphics and presentation. Really good atmosphere and ambient music! The gimmick of switching between the different symbols really added a lot of thought to the puzzles and overall a nice use of the theme. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]