Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Eschaton

by klave - Jam Entry

IT IS NORMAL THAT YOU GET STUCK ON ACT 3, SCENE 1.
YOU MUST SOLVE THE ENIGMA TO GO PAST.

Pronounced 'Eskaton', a greek word meaning End Times.

A child, helped by a man, will try to accomplish a journey through his own mind.
I composed (and played) the music especially for this game.


Text selection bug fixed.
Tested in Firefox and Chrome.

HINT: Read that only if you're stuck. When confronting your mind, the action you must execute isn't made with the mouse, but with the browser.

SOLUTION: Read only if you really don't find the answer : you must quit the game and relaunch it. You will continue at act 3, scene 2. The meaning is metaphysical and "meta-ludic', if I can say so. If you are completely immersed in the mind's world, you lose. It can do anything it wants to you. You must show to your mind that you control this world, by sending it back to where it belongs: the non-visible world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Innovation(Jam)4.11
#60Mood(Jam)3.87
#97Audio(Jam)3.73
#98Theme(Jam)4.07
#118Overall(Jam)3.76
#604Graphics(Jam)3.07

Comments

seanographies says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

Very nice interactive fiction submission for this jam! I liked how you made your game mechanic relevant to your story and used it to help you with the narative of the game. The narative itself was a nice compact and interesting mix of sci-fi, dystopia and metaphysics. The music was fine and it set the mood perfectly and I didnt really notice anything wrong with the sound quality.

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:02am

Wow man it's awesome... Nice story, nice esthetics on your gameplay to fit the story.. I'd like it to never end :)

Seriously, great job ;)

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04am

selecting the text while holding mouse is quite annoying, and seems like I'm stuck in act3 scene1

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32am

Same here, got stuck after 1 turn.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38am

An unexpected game and genre, definitely up to the theme. I like the piano music, the control and the game generally, although I'm not sure I won or lost :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58am

nice job! but game is kind of depressing :)

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58am

Deep game, great feel and music.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58am

Stuck in 3:1, seems like a nice way to tell a story :)

Ulydev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Interesting idea !

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05pm

That was great! I haven't played through multiple times to see how my different choices affect the story, but I really enjoyed it.

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05pm

For some reason, the diagram is messed up... I was thinking of closing it, but then I thought everything will restart hahah

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I like the story; it had a dark mood to it. The game got stuck at Act 3, part 1.

anokta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:07pm

whoa, looks inspiring! loved the idea and how you implemented it. one problem occurred to me though all the text kept highlighted while clicking on the screen which slightly distracted me from time to time. still, very decent job overall! :)

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Love this. Aesthetics and the story hit the right notes for me to the point where I was happy to overlook any frustrations with the interface. Great work!

friggingames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Amazing entry. The story, music, and theme lined up perfectly. I skipped through some text too holding the mouse too long, but other than that I loved the game idea. I got drawn into the story immediately. Nicely done!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Great game and so innovative! I personally don't think quit and re-launch the game is a good idea for "restart" or "going back to the checkpoint", it forces the player to realize that they are "playing a game" rather than really inside the game world you created.

I bet this game mechanism is of great potential. Looking forward to any future expansion of this game!

klave says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34pm

@Team Flashlight: Your thought is interesting. The meaning of the solution of the Enigma, from my point of view, is that if you are completely immersed in the mind's world, you lost. It can do anything it wants to you. You must show to your mind that you control this world, by sending it back to the non-visible world. Anyway, thank you for your comment, I find it very enriching.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice aesthetics. Nice music (sometimes it could do with better sound transitions but you didn't lost any stars from this from me). Nice story. I couldn't find something that I don't like about this game/story.

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Really good job with the game! I really liked the beginning!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

A really nice and simple game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great atmosphere, could do with some better graphics but the minimalism is nice too.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Very nice!

nuno says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:03pm

loved it, dont know why but reminded me of inception :p

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:03pm

The clean design worked so well in letting the story speak for itself, really enjoyed seeing the story unfold and liked the way the player was able to choose what to say, which actually did seem to have an impact on what occurred. One of my favourites so far.

reveriejake says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Cool :). Not normally a fan of reading but this was a good way to force me to ;)

hogtrick says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Amazing game. I was really immersed on this. Perfect music and writing.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Nice game, but the image in the middle is all messed up on my machine. I'm using Safari. The words aren't in the circle and it never rotates Like in the screenshots.

klave says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:14pm

@OddballDave What a shame! Native HTML5 applications have sometimes cross-browser compatibility issues. If you want to experience Eschaton without bugs, you can try Firefox or Chrome!

AMS says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:45pm

It reminds me of the book Flatland
Awesome game, i love its minimalistic aesthetics :D

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:56am

I can't say that I fully understand the story, so I don't want to praise/critique it. That said, I was very impressed with how well it was told given the time restrictions and the very minimalistic presentation. A lot of the text reminded me of the sort of writing you would hear in an old radio drama, alluding to things that just aren't visible but the audience accepts as being there anyways. It's a very neat trick and it works stupendously well for game jams like this.

Lynx says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:45am

Very artistic quality to your game. By only critic is a design one, don't have the white text cross over the white circle design, it seems a bit cluttered that way and kind of just through there without any thought

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]