Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen Cutter

by squirrel - Compo Entry

"In Screen Cutter you take control of a small ball living insider a computer screen. To advance to the next level, you need to reach the goal flag. To do this, you have the ability to cut and paste parts of the computer screen you live in. Since these parts are solid, they can be used to reach new places. But be careful! If you fall off from your screen, you will have to start all over again!"

Screen Cutter is a platformer where you can cut and paste pieces of the screen where you exist to reach new places. I decided to take the part of "One Screen" literally, trying to use it as part of the platforming mechanics. There are 6 levels in the game and it includes a few instructions.


Controls: Move and jump using the arrow keys. Cut and paste parts of the computer screen by using the mouse.

Tools used:
- This game uses Phaser 2.2.1, which can be downloaded from http://phaser.io/
- The music was made using Otomata (http://www.earslap.com/page/otomata.html)
- The sound effects were made using Bfxr (http://www.bfxr.net/)

It's a very simple game, but I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Theme4.61
#10Innovation4.47
#85Overall3.79
#108Fun3.69
#157Mood3.46
#243Graphics3.62
#305Audio3.12
#380Humor2.75
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

tonypai says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 2:56pm

The mechanism is cool! I complete all the levels, it's really great. And also love your graphic design. :D

tudd says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I like the logo a lot! There's a couple tiny tiny bugs (I got stuck in the side of a jump pad and it made a *terrifying* noise hahaha) but nothing major. I thought that was funny anyway :)

Super concept, I'll be back to rate

csaunders says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Great little game. Love the concept and it's super fun to play.

Good concept!

Blockers says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:20pm

this is the most innovative idea i've seen so far for this jam.
i found a game-breaking exploit though, which i only found in the last few levels--
if you cut-paste screen over a wall block, you can overwrite it, pick up the new block, and open passageways through ANYTHING.

sportsquid says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47am

Great idea, graphics, and sounds. would have liked it to be a bit more challenging though.

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

Thanks for the comments and reviews!
@tudd :Ah, yes! I was aware of some of the little bugs, but since I didn't have much time left, I decided to let them be (just in case I broke something!).
@Blocker: Gah, you're right! Ehm, since there's no time left, let's just say it's a feature.
@sportsquid: Yep yep, it's really simple. I couldn't really find ways to make the levels more complex with the blocks I had added, and then I ran out of time. Something to keep in mind for next time.

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19am

Neat mechanic!

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20am

Wow, i've never seen this before and i think this could be better but the mechanism is realy good

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23am

Nice color scheme. Cool mechanics, but it took me some time to realize you can only take parts of the border of the monitor away. Cool graphics. Some weird jumping problems, but mostly really amazing (:

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nice mechanism, innovation, music and lots of fun! My only criticism is that the sound effects are annoying.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Great idea :) Though I didn't know what I have to cut and paste until I looked at the screenshots.

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Very nice concept, and the gameplay is cool as well, it's not much of a challenge, but it's very fun to play :P good job!

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Cool mechanic. Fun puzzle platformer, I really liked it. Good job :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

Very interesting concept! A tad exploitable at certain parts, but otherwise very interesting!

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:28am

Oh this is a really cool idea, but the execution is a bit on the easy side. Most of the time you just need to cut out two parts of the screen, and you can also "cheat" (at least it feels like cheating) just cut and paste the same chunk over and over again to reach everywhere.

But I think it's a really cool interpretation of the theme, maybe it would be a good idea to go a bit more "meta" with the game (having to go outside of the screen and such), if you continue working on it ;)

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Really love the concept of this, I like the computer's visual style as well. I feel like most of the levels were a little too straight forward but that's always understandable as I imagine balancing a puzzle game in Ludum Dare can't be very easy. Great entry, I enjoyed playing that.

hexagore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14pm

I enjoyed this one. By far the most original mechanic I've seen this Ludum Dare, although I had to reload the page at one point because i got stuck! Love the palette too.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Awesome concept ! I love how sometimes you can completely bypass the level design and just create your own solution. Great job !

BitOfGold says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Well this was fun! One of the brightest ideas i seen on this jam! Some glitches with collosion, and I can fall off the screen (Literally :) ) And then no way to restart the level. +for using Phaser!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:08am

Really awesome idea. The physics were a bit weird at times but the cut/paste mechanic made up for it. I also really liked how everything looked. Good work.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:27pm

5 Star Innovation and Theme, well done!

jotson says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:39am

Excellent concept.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:48pm

The core gameplay is great ! :]

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:35pm

The physic of the ball is a bit buggy (I passed the first 2 levels without copy/pasting), and i don't think the bouncing adds a lot to the gameplay since it basically prevent you from jumping again...

The copy/paste mechanic in itself is quiet good, but not very well explained (I didn't understand I could only cut piece of the screen itself... I was trying to rearange the level)

the music was also a bit repetitive

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]