Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Unnamed Planetary Defender

by Blockers - Jam Entry

Defend your planet from the incoming asteroids by flinging yourself into a suicidal trajectory into them; try to last as long as possible!

As you destroy asteroids, you collect pieces of their rubble which can be used to cause a large explosion.

Unzip, and run ld31.exe to play

Controls:
--- this game is completely mouse driven, sorry in advance :) ---

LMB - "fling" yourself in the direction you are pointing. the force of the fling is determined by how far you are clicking from the player. once in air, you can click one more time to make a weaker airjump.

RMB - Explode, consuming all of the rubble on your ship. The explosion gets larger depending on how much rubble you have.

Focus Circle - The circle around the player acts as a "focus" region. When your mouse is inside of it, the ship is slightly attracted towards it, allowing you to slow yourself down, adjust trajectories, etc.


Known Issues:
- Sometimes the LD31 process will not remove itself from Volume Mixer, but I fixed this as much as I could. Only happens if you dont close the game using the X button (i believe).
- The game-over screen can sometimes glitch out visually, but you can still restart by pressing R.
- The gravity is sometimes unwieldy and annoying to work with. Sorry

Notes:
I had to submit a little early because my game code became spaghetti. This is the first time i've used Rust for game-dev so it was a great learning experience. I ran into a few annoying compiler issues that stopped me from continuing to polish the game, but in the end i think it came out all right!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Fun(Jam)3.88
#144Innovation(Jam)3.68
#165Overall(Jam)3.67
#337Mood(Jam)3.28
#438Audio(Jam)2.87
#478Theme(Jam)3.58
#507Graphics(Jam)3.26
#579Humor(Jam)2.44
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:25am

Fun!!
I love the shaking effects when attacking!

Grehg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I liked the minimalism. The explosion sound, camera shaking, and slow motion when hitting stuff was satisfying. Once I got the hang of how to play it was much more fun. I played this game the most so far. It reminded me of this entry: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=11024

Nielz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Awesome graphics! ^_^

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:20pm

A lot of fun. I tried without avail to successfully put myself in orbit, so I'm guessing there is some safety check there (boo). Cool mechanics, it was very satisfying to destroy things on the way up, the way down, and after accidentally swinging around the planet.

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I like it. Good job man! Keep it up!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I like it! It's so addictive... Well done :) !

guldlock says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Those effects are really nice! The game is also fun! :)

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Great effects (slowmotion) and simplistic graphics! These controls I've never heard of until now! Well done!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15pm

This is a really great idea that will benefit from polish. Great job.

tudd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Camera shake and sound effects are great, really creates a lot of *bang!!!* feeling when you hit something. Has potential, but as you said, the gravity is pretty irritating. I almost never launch in the direction of my mouse pointer, and it does seem very "random"

That said I like it very much c:

nbilyk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Cool game. I'd love to watch somebody really good play it, I feel like if I could master the controls it would be way more fun. It's almost as if you can launch yourself from the ship and get into a cool orbit, but I couldn't quite do that.

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Really cool game! The screenshots didn't look very promising but I liked it a lot after playing it :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I liked the atmosphere of space invaders. Those explosions and shaking made your game a bit more juicy and quite fun.

Bloxri says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:36am

Very fun game, wish it had highscores. Graphics go well with the style. Overall very nicely done. Great submission!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Got a score of 39145 on my laptop without a proper mouse!
Had much fun with it. Simple consept really well excecuted.

schnerble says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:24am

Very original - slightly tricky controls, but in an interesting way, and quite fun to play. Nice work!

dunin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Fun and original concept!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

fun man i loved it

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]