Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

RoomBoy(tm) Cleans Your Home

by kalugny - Compo Entry

You work for RoomBoy(tm), the leading start-up in remote-controlled cleaning bots.
Get to the Green cleanliness level to win
But beware -
You competitor MyRobot has cooked up some evil scheme - watch your back (and your charger)

Instructions
------------
WASD or ARROWS to control RoomBoy
Move Mouse to look around

Hints
-----
Remember to charge when your battery is low - you won't be able to pick up trash otherwise!
Bad bots move towards the charger
But they'll run away if you come to them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#25Theme4.43
#55Innovation4.08
#78Overall3.81
#194Humor3.16
#293Graphics3.52
#341Mood3.18
#355Fun3.31
#585Audio2.65

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Fantastic approach on the theme. This is really fun game. Great Job

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Hah, this is fun. That funny thing the evil robot did with the table. Yeah. :P

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Holy crap, thats a great idea and nice implementation. Nicely done also. Sound needs some work (charging sound almost made me deaf :)). Maybe adding some music.

myachin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Very good idea! Nice game! I wanted to make same... Respect!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Great game quite hard but really innovative

Krimble says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Interesting approach to the theme, good game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Cool concept, get the whole fright night at freddies vibe here. Controls are a bit weird because of the camera angle. The battery could be a bit shorter to make the cleaning more of a challenge. The map is really a must! Also, good use of the theme!

Stechas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:44pm

how great is that house get cleaned while you're playing :D

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Amazing idea. Perfect for the given theme.

Graphics, audio, mood, controls are super! Fun factor is also quite high. Very good!

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Genius Theme approach, original as shit, needs Oculus Rift:D

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Cool idea and looks good. It is kind of hard to switch rooms, and when you do I got lost where I was a few times when the camera changes. Overall very cool!

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Clever interpretation of the theme. Very well done indeed! :)

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

This was one of the best I played so far! Great job!^^

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Really good use of the theme. Tricky but fun.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56am

That was my original idea, but I feel like you made it better. Nice floor plan. Solid use of control.

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great job! The best theme interpretation I've seen so far!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Fantastic game ! Great concept, awesome visuals and story. This is definitely my game of the day !

Pastry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Amazing work, very innovative and original. Easily one of the best compo games I've seen so far, great job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:19am

Pretty cool idea. The charging sound is a bit too loud.

marvalgames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:41pm

This was terrific.
Never played anything like this and it was fun.
I did have some trouble with the controls but managed to get a feel for it.
I might be playing this well after LD. Keep us posted :)

flwns says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:46pm

This was interesting. I was kind of hard to judge how far pieces of trash were in the charging room.

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Nice entry! Had the idea of a remote monitor too, but decided to do something else. Like your approach a lot!

stray says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Very smart. Theme is great and the idea is SOOOOOOOO cool. nice job buddy

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:51pm

good idea about the theme :-)
Otherwise the battery charging sound is too loud!

joe40001 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Very innovative. Great work with the theme and good sense of overall style. It was a tiny bit frustrating but considering what you were going for it was really quite good. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]