Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bug in your room

by harley77 - Compo Entry

You wake up to see a bug on the ceiling and there is no way your getting back to sleep with that thing crawling around. Use one or both of the items at your disposal to take care of this problem... but don't let the bug touch you.

Controls:
WASD to move left right, jump and duck.
E to pickup stuff.
Left Mouse button to throw. (To throw further, click further away from your player.)



THANK YOU for the comments! You guys are awesome!

This game works best in Chrome or Firefox! Bugs are in Safari (pun intended).


------------------------------
Graphics: I did all the animations in Piskelapp.
Background is done in Tiled and some work with Pixelmator.

Sounds: This is a combination of generated stuff from Bfxr, my own voice, and some recordings I took of my cat.

Code: Using Phaser.js for the engine, everything else is just JavaScript I hope no one gets a close look at.


==============================
Special Thanks:

To my wife for allowing me to do this and providing support.

And to Nathan Ostgard (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/nostgard/) Without his coding tutelage , I wouldn't have been able to do this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Humor3.74
#642Audio2.56
#646Mood2.84
#667Theme3.52
#698Innovation2.94
#743Fun2.89
#776Graphics2.75
#850Overall2.91

Comments

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Ha ha, poor kitty, that was hilarious.

lxd1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Finally, a game where I can throw my cat.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Interesting game idea, but pretty hard to actually hit the bug ever. Good work!

Louisload says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23pm

poor kitty D:

Zayron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:24pm

This gave me some laughs! :)

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

This is the best cat-throwing simulator I've played yet.

Why is there a bug on the ceiling?

:)

GameQuester says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice little game. It was short indeed, but I had fun while playing it. And thumbs up for the cat sounds. :)

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I cant count all the times I've been in this situation! Really fun idea. Art looks good and you really nailed how the bug bounces slightly on the ceiling before landing :D

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52pm

haha this was really nice cx I love the kitty!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I which I could manage to throw the cat as I expect it would be! Hard game

Enzo42 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Damn cat is too heavy to hit the bug :(
I like this game

drludos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Lol, nice idea! Best cat throwing simulator of the compo! I love the GFX too, and it's nice how you are making fun of us players :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Cat + Hold Mouse 1 and e = RIP Headphones.

Don't know how I hit the bug, but i managed it. Plus, that cat takes more bs than any real cat would :)

rantt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

lol, that poor kitty.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:55am

Undocumented hint, the cat will eat the bug if the bug's health is below 30.

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Brilliant game. I've been there :(

JFern says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32am

Ha this was pretty funny. Cat sound was kind of loud but it was entertaining overall! Hard to hit the bug, I think mine ended up just jumping into the fan..

hectorhon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Cat throwing! Who doesn't like that? Couldn't hit the bug at all though, I must be missing something.

But But But --- Why right click instead of left? I keep getting the browser pop up menu :(

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Sorry! Typo in the description. it is the LEFT mouse button.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Love the animation when you loos haha, humorous game! good physics as well! in my game you can throw cats too ;) (Highfives)

lion123 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Poor cat... Humor 5/5

grid96 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Hey, i won't, don't know how though xD Great idea, wonder where it came from...

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Nice game! The animation when the bug gets on you is amazing haha

nassi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I went for the ball, but when I tried to pick it up the cat disappeared. It took my brain about a second or two to process the hilarity that would ensue :P. Killed the bug twice, because I accidentally clicked the first victory screen away in the heat of the battle.

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Humorous game. )
Btw, right button isn't really a good idea since it opens a context menu.

twick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Haha, Nice.

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Yeah, throwing cats is fun!

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Cat & ball vs bug.
The audio was funny, and I liked the humour :)
Got the alternate ending too!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Ha, who never got in a situation like this right? Nice, fun simple game, i really liked it despite the simplicity!

The bug could be more menacing, maybe let him attack the player, or even the cat (imagine the bug kidnapping the cat or some crazy thing like that).

Good job!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Hahaha, I laught a lot while playing! Nice game!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:06am

(=^_^=) -> (=O,O=)
That is what the cat does. I would have liked to have more things to throw, though.

phaze112 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:07am

The bed looks out of place from the other graphics, but being able to throw the cat makes up for that.

bobola66 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:42pm

its nice, you could have added a flamethrower...as an alternative ending :D

Rocketship says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Jeez the sound of that bug makes me shiver. Funny little game, I had fun with this!

harley77 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:28pm

@phaze112, Yeah, One of my regrets. Was trying a different art style, failed, and never corrected it.

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Dont press e and mouse at the same time,when you have the cat equipped, especially when you using a headset!!

lol didnt manage to kill the bug..... i got it in my hair too often lol

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38pm

lol, it touched you, game over ;D Well done

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:22am

Interesting! Throw the cat many times! it's fun!

lase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:22am

I was hoping there would be a game featuring cat-tossing. I was somewhat disappointed that I couldn't seem to toss anything out the window.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:16am

Super unique! I fee like hitting the bug should cause much more damage with as simple as it is. I couldnt ever actually hit him with the cat, but that was the best part. Hilarious.

Wilou1428 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I was a bit cruel to the cat now I feel guilty. Fun game though :D

Aniscool9 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:45am

i liked the kitty........nice game.....

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:49am

Hahaha, nice game. Pretty hard!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Bwahaha, poor kitty! This was good fun

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:04pm

jeje, this simple game made me laugh a while ...
5 stars for fun :D

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I love this kind of game. Something about turning a banal act into a minigame is so cool! Very well done. Throwing the cat was a nice touch.

Anachron says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Haha, very funny!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Awesome! I didn't get the bug but throwing the cat around was worth it :) Very fun idea and good graphics! Who couldn't relate?

Ossi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Really funny game! It was a bit tough to hit the bug since I had to walk to the other side of the screen to get enough height on the throw, but I managed to do it! Really silly to be able to throw the cat, haha! Well done!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:40am

Quite funny! Props to your cat for excellent voice acting; fooled our Piwacket who had to come over and make sure her fellow feline wasn't actually being flung across the room.
Good onya!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:00am

It's funny when you throw the cat!Good entry!keep up!

Esjaji says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:44am

I approve! There's something fundamentally hilarious about throwing a cat at a fly. Was actually surprisingly tricky, but I got there in the end! The visuals work well, and the sound is also pretty functional too. It's the concept that shines more than anything here however, so well done!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:18am

Well, throwing the cat was the funniest part, haha

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:40pm

"Throwing cat simulator 2014" 11/10 - Kuality Games

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:30pm

cute.
Not looking good for the cat.

Beerman says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Took me a while, but I finally got the bug! This is definitely the best cat-hurling simulator of 2014 ;)

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:54am

Loved the cat animation! Good job

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Nice game. Would like some more animations: picking the ball and throwing it..

Domicuc says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I really like the lfying cat and cat´s reaction on flying bug, good idea!

chakitp says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:45am

It took some time , but later i can.. I would let the bug to attack player..

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:18am

Very nice! ;)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Looks like the old Sierra adventure games for some reason, very fun regardless if a bit finnicky with the controls :)

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Quirky, charming game that left me with a smile on my face

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]