Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman Saving

by Johan Blade - Compo Entry

Save as many snowmen as you can before the time runs out.

wasd-move
shift-sprint

get more snowmen to follow you by picking up carrots, then when you have some get them over the road into the green zone. and when you and all your snowmen are there you they are saved and can go out again to gather more). Also don't let them be hit by cars or kids. Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#350Mood3.17
#373Graphics3.38
#427Humor2.68
#491Fun3.15
#557Theme3.60
#576Innovation3.10
#685Overall3.08
#776Audio2.30

Comments

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05am

Wow. Cool game and beautiful graphics. You really made me hate that kid =D

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:11am

Absolutely adorable! Like snake + frogger, really enjoyable!

svenardo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:29am

Great entry, really fun concept. There seems to be no penalty in sprinting all the time? (Except for a weary finger).

Anti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32am

Nice game. It was really fun. For me the audio did not work so I won't rate that. But overall it felt like a classic arcade game.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:40am

Funny snow man. :)

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Wello done, it's really simple but funny! That damn kid!! Also my game has red cars too, almost like yours lol

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:55pm

its nice but the only one sided snowman sprite really anoyed me :3 but game is ok

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45am

Audio didn't worked. Unfortunately movement feels bit clunky as it's been really easy to get stuck. Graphics is almost ok as for me the palette (colors) seems inconsistent. But I liked idea of the game :-)

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Really Nice Simple Concept, oddly chanllenging and addicting :)

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Fun game, I kind of wish the kids could get into the street and die when they get ran over XD. Also should snowman blood be white or blue or a light blue?

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32pm

A very good little entry. The concept is easy to grasp, and trying to avoid the kids is fun.

Perhaps a little too easy to get stuck when trying to move around objects, but overall a solid effort.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10pm

I get addicted to this stuff, man! Great job

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

needed 2 rounds to figure out, what it is about. In the first (lucky me) the kid got stuck in the upper right corner between trees, before he even had a chance to bother me. I like the idea, therefore 5 on innovation. Graphics are cool, except for the cars :( The time is maybe a bit too long.

Wilson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Haha, agree with efux - damn kids! Fun game, felt good saving snowmen rather than shooting them or whatever as in some games.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:27am

Cool game, was really frustrating when you got hit.

NickName says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:06am

I like the tripping kid; it's cute :D

Tifu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Good game. Nice risk reward with the trail of snowmen/increasing number of kids etc.
Audio didn't work for me, I assume it had audio as there are audio files, but nothing ever played. Playing on Windows.

stvr says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Took me a bit to "get it" but it's a pretty fun game once you get the hang of it! Stupid kids!

jachepe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:53am

Funny game :D

Atridas says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:00am

It took a while for me to figure out you had to return the snowmen, and then you can really screw you up if you go there too much, as the game becomes hard very fast as the number of kids increase.

Beatuful and fun, nevertheless ;-D

Leo says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:55am

Very fun game. Scored 158.

It's a little buggy, I didn't hear any sound even though it had audio files and after the time up it just froze. No way to replay without closing it.

Still, very nice game.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:06pm

This is a really cool game! I like how the babies follow your movement exactly.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]