Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

MRBOX

by karlipoppins - Compo Entry

Mr Box and Mrs Cube were stuck in a game, their lives constrained to the space provided by its small screen... Until Mrs Cube decided to change everything...

A/D or Left/Right to move
Space to Jump

-----

This is my first LD entry:

Source code & assets distributed under MIT licence at https://github.com/nicolasbize/ld31

Download Music:
Intro Theme - https://github.com/nicolasbize/ld31/blob/master/Assets/Music/intro-1.mp3
Main Theme - https://github.com/nicolasbize/ld31/blob/master/Assets/Music/main.mp3
End Theme - https://github.com/nicolasbize/ld31/blob/master/Assets/Music/end.mp3

Tools used:
Unity 4.6 (C#), Photoshop, Blender, Audacity, Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#29Theme4.40
#29Humor3.88
#33Overall3.97
#37Audio3.93
#51Fun3.83
#66Mood3.71
#116Innovation3.90
#373Graphics3.38

Comments

Phaax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06am

This was great! Loved the intro :) Didn't like the credits too much, I died.. Haha

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:09am

I don't think I have ever played a game that takes place in the closing credits. Very fun with some great puns.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

Very nice! Thank you for the checkpoints... A possible winner for use of theme?

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

Looks good and fun to play. Kinda hard too, but good controls.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33am

Awesome game! Definite contender for best theme!

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34am

This is great! It's so fun to play.
If you had fixed Mr. Box's trembling it would have been perfect!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

Great intro! very fun but hard(i couldn't beat it). great use of theme and i love the idea of the game being in the credits

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09am

Loved that Piano...

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:14am

That was fun! The text in the beginning could've been a bit faster.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33am

Loved the introduction!

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:01am

I just got upset and tried to stop a pink pixel from pushing the "forbidden button" BRAVO my friend, bravo!

Also loving the hidden humor in the falling credits, great game!

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:36am

Amazing. Moderately difficult, but amazing. Excellent job sir. I had trouble with the "$19". The text was both an excellent motivator to keep reading and a fantastic distraction that made the game take 2x longer than it should have taken me.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51am

I loved the idea. I liked the style, it was a bit hard to play but good job.

DavidLv says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:52am

I think my network rate is very slow, loading time is very long.
And I need a Unity player. oh ...

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54am

Great LD entry. Platforming felt good and was difficult but not frustrating. Lasted just long enough without getting old.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09am

Haha! Best credits sequence ever! Nice use of the theme.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Really nice! For a moment I thought it was another "artsy" game without any gameplay, but then I realised the credits were the game :D

Very nice music!

Nardom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Reading the credits (or trying to) got me killed quite a few times. The background music was nice.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33pm

By far the best way to display game credits I have ever seen, really genius. Awesome game!

unnamed1334 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Great game. The music and gameplay are awesome. I had fun playing it.

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Nice music and quite hard :)

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Nice one. Just long and tricky enough with a good mix of save points.

hd_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Cool atmosphere in the beginning, and nice graphics + music. Controls were also good.

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I had plenty of fun, and died once because I was busy reading the text...

Great theme interpretation :)

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Very funny game, loved it! I realy enjoyed playing it :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37am

Awesome game. At some points the jumps to platforms directly above you were really tricky, but not in a frustrating way. The credits were funny, but it was to make sense of them in the order they came out while still trying to not die. Solid graphics, good music and sound effects, tight controls, overall a pretty great game.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

This is my favorite game of the compo so far! Gah those were checkpoints? whatever. Hard core mode right here. Also please tell me that little bouncing pixel was the baby, I can't take this kind of emotional stress with this little sleep....

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

@benmcnelly haha yes, you guessed right! They had 3 purple pixels indeed :)

erebusman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48am

really innovative concept, good job!

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05am

I beat it! It was tricky for a while until I figured out how to jump off the ends of ledges! Nice music.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14am

Great game, has both a nice feel to it and gameplay.

xaedes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47pm

The introduction where awesome. Also so far this is the best hit on the theme I encountered, very good.
Too bad I am bad at platforming games and get frustrated by them fast. But it got me addicted for a few minutes anyway and I DID want to go further. But didn't got the end.

Is the story from the beginning continuing? If so, a video walkthrough would be nice to see it.

Very good game!

edve98 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Really good idea with the credits thing :P
But I think this might be just too hard. I finished game just by exploiting a bug :P

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The gameplay is really fun and I like that the game is complete.

I've found a bug though: When you die you can keep standing on the ground and as long as you don't move the blades don't kill you.

tMalicet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Fun game. A few explanations on what to do would have been grate.

mtanton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

This was a great use of the theme. I had a lot of fun trying to read the credits and hop up. Great job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58pm

So there I am watching the intro, Mrs box pushes the End Game button and then the credits start to scroll. I thought I missed the game somewhere. I'm watching the credits scroll and then I saw this green thing and I instinctively jumped for it and that's when I realized the end credits was the game! HAHA! what an awesome idea and you nailed the theme :) I really did enjoy the piano, it really added to the experience.

riktothepast says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

Great intro, I though that was all the game but then it started!, fun game. Contratulations!.

Kitch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:05am

Well.. that changed pace awful quick! I probably could have ended up beating it if this game didn't have so many credits. Loved the piano in the background.
Good job! Thanks!

egos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:05am

special mention for intro.
Next good idea the narration platformmer
You put check point thanks

jeffjk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:00am

If you died and then don't move, the blades don't hurt you! Had to use this exploit to see the ending. :-p

Very hard, very good! Would love to see more games from you!

gquibao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:28am

Died a lot. Awesome game, crazy idea, great graphics and music. Really awesome.

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:45am

Simple yet really fun and addictive. Loved it!

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:58pm

I played it to the end, even though some jumps were very frustrating. This is a very complete game for your first LD entry. I also did like the story and how you established it with a beginning a middle and an end.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:16am

This was very cool. I loved the ah-hah! moment when I first realized that I was supposed to climb the credits. Plus, I'm a fan of puns.

Logun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:53am

Nice :) Loved it. The intro was just damn cool, but those credits! really enjoyable ;)

Zi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Loved it. Took me a while to figure out what was going on, but once I realized it I was like woooooooooooooahhhhh!

Lovelock says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:11am

Cute idea. Sneaky way to keep a survival platformer on one screen. :) I kept dying because I was trying to read the sentences backwards lol. I had fun though.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:38am

The audio is impressive! Gameplay is hilarious in that it takes place in the credits... And I died a lot... LOL

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]