Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Solus

by InToGames - Compo Entry

Blast the alien orbiters as they emerge from the heart of the sun!

OpenAL required for the Windows version: http://www.openal.org/creative-installers/oalinst.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#225Audio3.27
#333Innovation3.44
#379Fun3.27
#386Overall3.36
#436Theme3.69
#606Humor2.42
#641Mood2.85
#922Graphics2.53

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nice audio; fits well. Game is a nice idea but it could do with being a bit less predictable: Once I'd got used to going around the outer ring there wasn't much going on (until the one that finally hit me and I couldn't do anything about it).
I like that you can shoot yourself.

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I enjoyed it, this could be made into something nice :)

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

It's a nice idea and I like the audio. Keep it up!

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:04am

Very nice entry. The music is cool, and the pace of the game is great. One thing I found annoying was that i could not replay the game right away. I had to wait 3-5 seconds to start again. Great entry!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Really fun arcade-type gameplay and a complementary soundtrack! I wish you'd decided to keep a unified graphics style though. The old-school Atari-vector graphics look great, but pasting raster art spaceships on top of them ruins it :(
I still enjoyed it though: Simple and fun.

anael says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:37am

nice entry ! effective idea and fun control ! better art would make it shine, but it works.

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I like the music and audio (everyone's game sounds like DrPetter these days, which is a good thing)! The gameplay was really unique. I like the various orbits!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Nice execution on the theme; enjoyed the callback aesthetics. Would have been nice if the restart time were a little shorter.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Works with wine under Linux.
Reminds me of old times in arcades, very fitting audio.

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Very nice, like it ^-^

cxsquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Really cool idea. It's pretty hard but really fun. Nice work.

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Quite good!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Pretty unique game mechanic, I really enjoyed this one. Loved the retro audio!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:30am

Solid work! The combination of very easy death and a long restart time was a bit frustrating, but it's fun for the time I can stay alive (which, to be honest, isn't that long).

rantt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:32am

I liked the music and art style. I wish there wasn't a delay when restarting, but then again I died a lot...lol. Fun game, very challenging.

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Really cool game :) !

H4ssi says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:30pm

sweet. like the game play, audio and sound fx are veryvery nice. it s funny how you can screw up by flying into the sun or outa space :D. what I found most frustrating was when they enemies spawned directly onto your position (prblby on the inner most ring) me was to slow to react :D but all in all very nice game

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Good mechanic, I enjoyed playing it :)

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I got an error: OpenAL32.dll is missing, so I could not play this.

InToGames says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Hi! Thanks for all the comments -- glad people are enjoying the game!

>>I got an error: OpenAL32.dll is missing

It needs OpenAL. The link is in the description -- should get things running :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Lovely! nice and addictive concept!

Norgg says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Nice! Enjoyed this, so hard though. Got up to ~400, the preset high score of 1000 seems a bit harsh.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:25am

I really like the concept. My only complaint is that it starts out too hard. I like a challenge but I need to be eased into it.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:35am

Nice retro audio and graphics style. Neat concept, and rather challenging.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

nice woork

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]