Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Endless Worker

by sweenist - Jam Entry

My First LD entry ever. Originally about an overworked factory worker who was to collect crates and load them in trucks turned into an endless game where the factory worker will never die and is imprisoned in factory worker's hell forever collecting crates on the left side of the screen. This is worse than pong.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#732Humor(Jam)2.12
#937Theme(Jam)2.74
#1036Overall(Jam)1.63
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

sweenist says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:13am

This is not even worth one star! Where are your priorities, self? You better do better next time! That is why work gives you paid time off!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01am

Seems like it could be fun, it just needs to be polished more.

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03am

I had a hard time understanding what to do actually. Couldn't find the truck. There might be something there in the future but for now the basics seemed a bit lost. Keep it up!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:06am

Nice one for entering and submitting. Concept is solid. Needs a load more polish.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Definitely needs work.

sweenist says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Thanks for the feedback all! A lot more needs to be added, of course. I am still new at this so the bulk of my time was spent making things work...

Ulydev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I'm sure you'll get better and better as you make games ! Keep up ! :)

Diventurer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Haha. 5/5 humour, but can't give you more than a couple of stars on the overall.

I like unique concepts like this, which is why I even rated 2. I actually tried to figure out what to do for a couple of minutes before I read the description. Turns out I was playing it like a pro!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Hmmm, strange. I don't know what to do ^^

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40pm

TBH, I had no idea what to do. Maybe include some instructional text.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Pros:
- Entire game on one screen. 10/10. Perfect. All requirements met. Couldn't be better. Wow :D
- Controls work! Left goes left, right goes right! Very powerful too, can go off screen and into oblivion like a cinch!
- Minimalist graphics! I loved all 3 of them. Artistry Extraordinaire.

Cons:
- Needed game

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:38am

Keep working at it :) Be proud of yourself for getting an entry in for the first time! Good job

dunin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:29pm

first step is the harder, keep making game now...
the idea of endless worker is interessant.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Well, it's playable! You did better than everyone who DIDN'T submit something. ;) Really, all you need is to be able to jump onto the platforms, and then a lose condition. Keep at it, hm?

sweenist says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:43am

Thanks for the positive feedback, all. I may actually run with taking this idea where I intended.

blzkz says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:28am

It is not even a game :/ sorry man, maybe next LD. Try it harder! :)

MaesK says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:40pm

"into an endless game where the factory worker will never die and is imprisoned in factory worker's hell forever"

Hey, almost like real life! :D You deserve points in humor, sir, for that first comment against yourself. Nice job!

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

As others said, the game is bare bones but the idea is great. Congrats on your first LD!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]