Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Game

by LethalyGuy - Compo Entry

Well, got a lot more trouble with this game than I thought I would. So I kinda gave up... It's kinda sad, but it's my first Ludum Dare, so I guess that's okay, and I could learn with this project and challenge myself so it's maybe a WIN situation.

And I only got to work in it Saturday morning and Sunday.

Well, if you still wanna play it, you walk with the arrow keys, and have two abilities with 'A' and 'S'.

It's very buggy, sorry.

Also, it's in java, so you have to have the JRE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#579Graphics3.06
#914Theme3.29
#958Fun2.59
#970Mood2.40
#971Innovation2.47
#1041Overall2.65
#2112Coolness24%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Would have been worth carrying on with. What's there works and would be fun, it mostly just needs some fine-tuning so that everything reacts smoothly and in a satisfying way.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05pm

What you've got so far works pretty well by itself! A few changes that I would suggest are having the enemies flash red or something when you hit them, to indicate that they have been hit. Of course, an actual use for the money and audio would be the next most important things! Great work for your first LD.

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:15pm

As others have stated, what you got here is pretty good and all it needs is a bit polish. I wish you luck on your next LD.

LethalyGuy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Thank you all! It's always great to have positive feedback. And I'll do my best to make a better game (and actually finish it) in my next Ludum Dare =).

Divitos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46am

I already love what you've done here, I'd carry on!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:14am

it was pretty ok. reminded me of a reallly ooollld game. (not sure what, though) :)

AsixJin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:29am

Im not gonna rate this cause it is really buggy. I'd love to see this if you decide to prefect it.

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:54am

Cool game, but there weren't any more enemys spawning after a few minutes and what can you do with the money?

jhice says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Compared to other entries that is not so bad :) Don't underestimate your work ! The game is not really fun to play but you succeed to do something working with graphics, enemies, interaction, so it's a good start!
As others said, carry on :)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:18am

Don't beat yourself up man. It's a good game, just a tad laggy. Having trouble is expected for your first LudumDare.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:00am

I've for sure played worse game, not bad for your first try. Next time you just have to try and get that infamous "polish" and "juice" in it. Like sound effects, objects flashing when hit, particles, a lose-screen (and maybe a winning-screen). In general, just giving more feedback to the player. All that stuff suddenly makes a great game out of a mediocre game.

And just a little nagging about the controls: I would have liked to shoot into 8 directions not only in 4 directions, but that's a minor complaint.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:58am

An interesting game. Not bad!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:38am

You re not so far from a finished game. Next time try to spend 1-2h on SFX + title screen + gameover sequence and dont need more to make a full game. I had pretty much fun playing it even in this state, tried it 6-8 times.
The flame feels a bit overpowered but I guess you had no time for balance.

sorlok says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Overall good attempt! What you have is kinda fun; would like to see more next time. Good job!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]