Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ManyQuest

by SkullPixel - Jam Entry

Controls:
Mouse click and move to guide the knights.

This game will probably continue to be improved after LD if it gets a rating of 3/5 or higher. This is my First LD, so I'm really happy with it.

INSTRUCTIONS!/////////////////////////////

Click and hold to guide the knights through the level, try to survive as long as possible...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#224Innovation(Jam)3.54
#500Audio(Jam)2.70
#582Overall(Jam)3.12
#588Fun(Jam)2.94
#595Humor(Jam)2.41
#648Theme(Jam)3.39
#700Mood(Jam)2.76
#730Graphics(Jam)2.76

Comments

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02am

Loved the random generation of levels!

Todnut says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02am

Took me a few tries to figure out that I needed to click and hold the mouse and that I was the knights.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

This could be really cool on mobile with more development. The core mechanics were solid. Nice game overall.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

hey Paperscraps, I do plan on exactly what you said, using a slightly improved LD version as a demo, and an overhauled one for paid

lukz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

Nice game, I like mechanics.

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17am

I think I like this. Top marks for innovation! I love the floaty controls (normally you won't hear me say that!) and the simple, yet surprisingly deep gameplay. The timer, which I hated at first, really added some pressure and forced me to constantly choose between going for a +Knight powerup or the next chest.

Gripes, though:
- Most of the time when you start, some or all of your knights will spawn on spikes, and this usually doesn't give you enough time to get them off before they're immediately spawnkilled.
- A goblin touches a knight. Does the knight die? Or does the goblin? Some predictability here would be a nice offset to the difficulty of the rest of the game.
- It's not obvious that you get more time from collecting chests. Had there been a little bit of text that said something like "+2 seconds" or whatever you get, I would have understood the game probably a full two minutes sooner. (which is a lot for a mobile game!)

X54321 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36am

I say, it's quite addictive and very innovative. I do, however, have trouble knowing what's going on sometimes. That's probably just me being stupid.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:10am

one hour left, quick update

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:34am

Implemented suggestions

FatKarate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:36am

Interesting mechanic. Nice polish. It is a little difficult.

dunin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42am

really fun game.
I like the art style of this little knights...
(the goblins' spawn is sometime frustrating, when you loose a knight instantly..)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

i really liked this game, I was just crap at it haha, Great entry ^^

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Fun stuff. I don't know if it was intentional for spikes to lag so they kill following goblins, but I like it.

stalker1586 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Not bad)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Had a great time playing this one. Very good idea!

Enzo42 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:19pm

The generating could use some work, quite often i spawn and instantly die because of an insane about of enemies spawned around me. Good game especially for your first Ludum Dare.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:18am

Neat idea, very hard. Random level generation was cool, but also seemed fairly unfair. Still, the fast paced nature of things meant if I got a bad level I could just play again. =)

Recon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:12pm

I respect the randomly generated maps.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Nice single touch mechanic, would work really well on touch devices :D

cyrixd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Definitely a cool mechanic that's worth exploring some more. I'd suggest focusing on balancing - some levels seemed impossible (or I lost immediately due to enemy spawns).

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Great concept ! This looks a bit too hazardous but still, that's really funny. =]

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:18am

Great mechanic to it. Simple and challenging with instant 'retry' is great. Makes you want to keep trying for a higher score.

bradur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Interesting little game. Random maps are nice but some of them are way too small and some are big enough to make the game easier. Sounds, music and graphics are good enough for programmer art.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Very fun game, I liked it=) Very hardcore and I love the traps)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:57am

Man, some of those randomly generated dungeons are unforgiving. And sometimes, I die...for no reason? Outside of bug fixes, the game mechanic is pretty darn solid.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

nice works

panda says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

Fun idea! Pretty difficult, but I love how we can get the enemies to throw themselves on the spikes! Nice music and sounds too!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]