Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Vanitas I

by ProgrammerPony - Jam Entry

Vanitas is the first game of the Vanitas Saga and is about collecting Gems while avoiding the inhuman enemy lurking in the underground while making use of your ability to become invisble.

WASD or ArrowKeys to move
Space to become invisible
Return to use ladders
M to mute/change music tracks (please listen to all 4 tracks!)
Other important stuff is in the Tutorial ;)

Language: VB.net
Source code may follow later on when it's cleaned up.

Note: Attached .gif is from an older version

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#507Graphics(Jam)3.26
#518Innovation(Jam)3.02
#547Mood(Jam)2.98
#674Overall(Jam)3.02
#698Fun(Jam)2.79
#932Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I like the concept! well done! ^^

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Cute game! I wish we could see the map more clearly, at least the part we already visited, because it gets a little frustrating to find those gems when you don't see much of what's going on around you :(
Good work though!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:41pm

@Andrea but then its may too easy :) you have to remember the ways , else it wouldnt be a game with the magic touch that let you keep it playing

borgi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:34pm

I liked the idea, it was a bit hard to contorl for me, maybe if I could see further a bit more. Cool music also! Good job! Very moody!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Nice

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:21am

not too bad at all.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Cool game. I find it very frustrating that your view is so small and you need to find something, but that's just my opinion. I found myself longer searching than actual action, so maybe a little more action is good.
Very polished, nice music, good mood. Nice work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Well, I like the stuff, except the maps are painfully large. The sight range wouldn't be a problem if the maps weren't so painfully large without much variation.

On the other hand, the game stops working quite often. I'm not going to consider that as a bad point, it's obvious that a 72 hour project won't be stable, but it is a bit frustrating. I just couldn't finish the game in dozens of tries before it stopped working.

Keep up the good work and have fun!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:07pm

For us the game always ran without bugs, can you tell us when they appear?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Nice cartoonish art and a good start! Thanks for the game and Merry Christmas!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:56pm

It is a very good idea for the game. Personally I didnt like how it moves at the beginning I didint understand I was moving, but overall I like it a lot

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:36pm

The limited vision was kinda cool but made things confusing sometimes. A map might have been cool. Overall nice work.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:58pm

It's complicated, yet still fun :)

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I like the atmosphere of an old-school rpg games. Cute graphics, it has nice details. But it becomes a little bit boring after couple floors, it needs some more mechanics.

peeweek says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:30pm

This game is quite similar to my compo entry, and also very different, since the goal is to collect gems but the progression and rythm are opposed. A very interesing project since the strategy in order to progress through the maze seems rather clear at first by the shortsight really tightens the strategy to force yourself to explore every corner of each floor.

Very cool entry.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Hi again.
I can't play the game on windows too. ;(

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Good game idea and nice graphics :)
I want to see how this Vanitas Saga progresses, any twitter to follow?

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:06pm

sure @programmingpony

Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:45pm

@Vladik: any errors or anything else when starting it ?

tudd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:47am

I didn't really like it, sorry. The view was too limited for me to see what I was doing very well, and the gameplay itself amounted to walking around and hoping you stumble into a gem. Opening up the view (a lot, by like 5 squares) might help with that.

Nevertheless, the graphics, music, and story are really nice! I'm interested as well to see how this plays out.

istlemin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Really nice game! Feels polished and the graphics are great. Don't know how well you followed the theme though, but I guess the whole game is on my computer screen :)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

nice works

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]