Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Boost Boat Arena

by Deft97 - Compo Entry

Battle boats in a circular lake using unusual movement mechanics and tiny missiles.

A AND D FIRE MISSILES.
RIGHT AND LEFT ARROWS CHARGE AND STEER YOUR BOAT.

^^
GOOD TO KNOW STUFF.

That's about it.

Do enjoy!


(source : https://www.dropbox.com/s/gmlwrpm0rgnkyef/src.zip?dl=0 )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#610Innovation3.06
#626Theme3.55
#750Graphics2.77
#785Audio2.28
#789Overall2.97
#792Humor2.14
#873Fun2.74
#1036Mood2.24

Comments

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05am

When i see you game on preview, i think that is my game. Circle on orange background :DD
Nice gameplay, respect for the about screen ^^
I survived up to ~17 boats

daftcube says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22am

Fun, but it was hard to get a hold of the controls first. Most of the enemy boats also blow eachother up, which isn't that fun.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24am

Cool concept, ran a bit too fast for me to really play it,sounds were very loud and annoying,

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25am

It was a bit hard to cotrol where I go for me! But I liked the idea anyways! Graphics and sounds could be better :D Good job MAN!

Deft97 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33am

Thanks everybody!
And you're right, zakchaos. The sounds could use some work.

Meral says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Your game has an interesting control scheme, I kinda like it. It restricts you quite heavily as to how often you can make a move, but at the same time while you are moving gives you precise control of your turn and allows you to fire at just the right moment.

I don't mind that the bots are blowing each other up. It would get crazy hard real fast if they wouldn't make mistakes like that. But it shouldn't happen right at the start of a wave, where they hadn't moved at all and just fired to either side.
The circular health bar is interesting too.

I love the gif you have attached. =D

WhiteVoidia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

Very interesting control scheme, difficult to control but definitely something I've never seen before.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

Nice idea, but it is little hard to get to know controls

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06am

The control scheme is interesting, haven't run across anything like that before. Good job!

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:19am

Liked the gameplay. Was hard but I managed to pass 7 levels, Keep up the good work! Could make it harder by disabling shooting until the enemies start moving.

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:26am

Pretty fun after getting used to the controls.

I wish the rest of the game had as much detail graphically as those boats - wow!

taviandir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Haha this game was quite fun once I understood what was going on :D

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Very hard to control.

Strandypants says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice concept, but I found it a tad to hard to controll. And yes, they killed eachother more than I was able to:D

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:55am

Really interesting control scheme, albeit difficult. Would love to see this expanded on!

calavera says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:58am

I really really like the visual style of this entry.

XTremEive says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Cool... But Please... Don't put almost pure cyan in your next game.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]