Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Nixtopia

by janovbyrnisson - Jam Entry

Nixtopia is a action adventure game in which you have to escape from an underground laboratory. The reason why you are kept there and by who, is a mystery. It's up to you to explore the facility and find out how to escape from there.

However not all the graphics are in their best shape, we decided to submit the game, because it is still a game. Have fun! :)

Controls: W,A,S,D + E for item pickup and interaction with objects.

------
Please play and rate our Jam entry first, then check this out:

http://goo.gl/Xc5tRW

We have added a Post Ludum Dare build with graphical enhancements and bugfixes. Feel free to try it out and see the difference! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#485Audio(Jam)2.75
#607Fun(Jam)2.91
#640Theme(Jam)3.40
#676Graphics(Jam)2.89
#719Overall(Jam)2.96
#732Humor(Jam)2.12
#764Innovation(Jam)2.62
#780Mood(Jam)2.64

Comments

MrMordem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15am

It's a cool game, just a little more info on how to play
Nice submit

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

Interesting, but died on the first robot and got stuck inside the floor haha

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35am

Solid. Short, but really good as a LD entry.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:53am

Good game.... Nice concept! Congrats for your entry!

Nelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55am

style like in the "Ninja in Action" cartoon)

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58am

Wow, very neat, Excellent job.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13am

I realy like the idea of the craft by using a picture to give us hint.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:03am

I think you should improve the quality of the sprites a bit.

Wayward says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:16am

Nice animations

Reyn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:51am

I love adventure games :) The crafting table was a nice idea instead of having an inventory. The ammo amount does run out but does not update in the UI so I had to replay to kill the last enemy. Well done on the audio if you guys did it yourselves. The graphics are better than most ludum dare games. I think Jenna's next adventure needs to be on more than one screen :P

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:56am

Yeah, the sprites will be definitively refined. These are only place holders, since we hadn't enough time to make them. :) On Sunday afternoon we got this new idea, before that we were working on something different, but we quickly dumped it. So in the near future you'll be able to play an enhanced and much longer version of Nixtopia. :) Thanks for all your comment!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:59am

@Reyn Yeah, we did the music ourselves, and generated the sfx online. I'm glad that there is someone who likes the music. :D

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Loved this one. The artwork is awesome! I loved the adventure game feel of it.

prymidion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Solid little escape game! I liked the battery puzzle, and hiding from the robot on the first floor was an unexpected by cool touch.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Cool game! Nice submit!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:24pm

This is a great concise entry! well done! I love how it ticked so many boxes! Female lead, crafting system, hiding in lockers, Key Cards, Powering up terminals, avoiding killer robots... reminds me of another game I know ;) Excellent work tho. I enjoyed this a lot, well done.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Hey, I'm sorry that you couldn't run our game. I've uploaded a fixed version - for some reason Eclipse wasn't creating a manifest file with the exported files. All good now, feel free to take another look and let us know what you think.

I'm downloading your game now and I'll give it a go a little later on today. :)

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Need web or mac version. Sorry can't rate.

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Where is the Linux build?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:22pm

@AntonyBaasan Uploaded Mac build, but not tested. Would you be that kind to test it? :P Thanx!

@TMKCodes Same with Linux build :D

Sorry for not thinking about other platforms, I'm still has to recover some lost sleeping hours. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

*have
(I told you)

Neil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice short adventure game! Some quirks and bugs, but still enjoyed solving the puzzles! Well done.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Cool, rated high in innovation ...
i was not able to find the combination at the tools table ... i'l be back later :D

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Couldn't work out the controls.
I managed to hide in the locker from the robot, but then came out and didn't know how to shoot :(

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:41am

@asobitech Perhaps you had no weapons to shoot with or items to throw at the robot. :) You have to find it out. :D

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I love this one, realy good job here

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:26am

Cool! Controls were a bit difficult to figure it out ...

5k0d says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:35pm

look is ok, sound is pretty awesome but i had a bug with the controls...character keept moving to the right couldnt do a thing to fix it ;-(

talecrafter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Good game. Controls could be more intuitive.
Crafting items is a good idea, but I didn't like the combat gameplay.
Items could use a description, name or bigger pictures because some of them are hard to recognize.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Very complete but short game. Crafting in a platform adventure game was a nice twist.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:10am

Pretty fun idea. A bit buggy, I couldn't open the door on the second story even after I build the battery and turned on the computer.

banana4life says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Kinda buggy when you get hit

lapskaus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nice game for killing 5 minutes.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:38am

Quite ambitious for a jam game, which is cool. Took a little time to figure out the crafting bit but other than that was straightforward and quite fun

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:22am

Definitely a good start for such a small time frame. I beat it by trial and error on a few spots. Bone animations looked good. Nice Job!

voxel says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:42am

Didn't rate: i couldn't see anything beyond the room with the computer, but was able to pick up a fire extinguisher (even though i was offscreen). Probably a resolution bug? I'm using OS/X with a retina screen, so sometimes this happens. I'll come back towards the end of voting to see if there's a fixed version to rate :). Beautiful art style btw

Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:21pm

@voxel Yes you are right, one of my friends pointed that out that on mac there is a resolution problem. It will be fixed soon. :)

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:14am

Cool artstyle, well planned puzzles & nice mood. Really enjoyed it!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:28pm

"Five Stars." -Brightstar

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

The sound was really great! This was ambitious for a LD game! The sprites and backgrounds were very detailed. I could tell sometimes there wasn't a complete animation sometimes but that is to be expected. I liked the idea of the crafting table but that's really where I got stuck. I wish the items had descriptions or some kind of hint. Great idea and good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]