Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hazard Lab

by JohnGalt - Compo Entry

A simple casual game. A/D or Arrows to rotate.
Synthetise crazy fuels in the lab!
Stage 1: Tutorial, Stage 2: Reverse, Stage 3: Try your best.

Thank you for playing!

Tools:
Engine/Coding: Unity Pro 4.5 / C#
Arts: Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Photoshop
SFX: sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#200Innovation3.66
#331Overall3.42
#379Fun3.27
#533Graphics3.13
#567Audio2.68
#664Mood2.82
#742Humor2.23
#769Theme3.44

Comments

PentaHelix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

Cool Game

lxd1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:14am

Challenging, but very fun. Nice entry

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

Neat. It's more strategical than I expected.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

Gets hard quicky, looks very pretty though

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very interesting, though I would've played much more of it had it been more challenging.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Love this! Never played anything like it. I did have a problem that they tend to want to just grow outwards, and after a certain point I was bigger than the screen so couldn't see what was coming. Having the ability to zoom out would help, but great job. :)

Lawls says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

Hard to understand at first, but neat mechanic

egos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

good idea
But you cant predict the next move because youi c'ant see soon the color arrival or the rotation speed is too small

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

Great job, unusual game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

Mode 2 was a great challenge! Mode 3 was frustrating though -- the molecules don't come within a close enough range and I spun for about 40 seconds without any yellow getting close enough to catch. Mode 2 is definitely the high point though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Cool game, but it get's hard quickly.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

Awesome game :D Fun, and challenging!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

Easy to start, hard to master. As the game should be.

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

It's pretty cool! It's easy to play, and the level design is also good. Well, now I know I don't have any gift to become crazy scientist. XD

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:36am

Very polished game. Original and fun to play. Thanks!

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49am

Challenging and interesting! The third challenge seems almost impossible, but I very much enjoyed the first two

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:58am

Simple and effective visuals + great mechanics = win. Great job on this one

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23am

Really cool game. The thing I don't like is that you can lose an entire branch. It makes it pointless to play after you have done that, atleast in number 3 which I tried. Otherwise great work!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

Nice fun and challenging game. Good job!

spazzarama says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:00am

Nice work

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14am

Nifty idea. Level 1 is fun, level 2 was irritating (took too long to generate, and there wasn't much indication of what I should do).

Also, get less bleepy audio :P. Or gen less bleepy audio, if you were using sfxr.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25am

what a good game!!!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29am

Very good idea.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36am

Very interesting concept :)

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54am

Cool game. It reminded me the game "Balls" for smartphones.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20am

Neat game!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:51am

Excellent Game, The chemistry nerd in me is geeking out.

Dyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Awesome gameplay.
First time seems hard (because of a lot info slides), but after a while very intuitive and fun!

wooltech says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Fun game on levels 1 and 3, but I had a problem on level 2 where it seemed to be spawning for ages, so I just skipped that one. The graphics work well for this, and I like the growing atoms mechanic.

Kulomin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I love how the difficulty ramps up once you get bigger

Hatsome says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Seems easy at first, but gets harder fast. Had fun playing it.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Cool concept. I like it.

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:17pm

A very interisting chemical Game

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:11pm

interesting idea, but it seems like you should get rid of the generating screen, because the game starts right away

Luminar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38pm

I liked it, but I have no clue if the third one is even possible, if it is then it must be really hard or I'm just very stupid.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

It's very challenging in late game, great piece of art!

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Great job! I really like it.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Very nice! Because you have to destroy some molecules there is some strategy involved. I also like the small animations when it grows!

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Awesome game! Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:37pm

really nice game! congrats!

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Whew.. that's a tough game. But a really solid concept and a lot of fun. Very good looking game as well, lot of potential here. Good work. Thanks!

QuexD says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02am

Very good. I thought it was a little slow then I past the 10 second mark.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14am

This is clever. Game 2 is bugged, but 1 and 3 were a good time.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

Neat idea. Liked that there were multiple modes of play.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30am

Terribly clever. I love how many tactical choices there are to make with only two inputs. I was trying to go around and sample everything, but I think I'll just play this for a while.

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36am

Nice entry. Make some more levels and you have a good mobile/casual game. It is unique.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14am

Very innovative, never tried game like this before; the strategy is not very clear, but working to find a good strategy is indeed what this game is about, good job! The audio might be a bit monotone, and humor is not sensed in this game (typically when it fails). But, the game is of great fun and nice entry!

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

XilenceX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30am

This was really relaxing to play, but maybe a bit too easy, despite the casual genre.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:32am

It seems that the second game mode has some problem..It always keep generating but does not start the game..

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13am

Yes. That is a bug. I can't finish to fix it in 48 hours.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40am

Challenging, but very fun. Nice entry. Neat ++

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53am

Challeging game! Well done! I like it!

Warboys says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59am

I played Level 2 (i liked the fire symbol) and it was hard but I didn't feel there was anything I could do to make it easier. Once the strains got too long, the whole thing seemed so arbitrary and random.

Neat idea though.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Simply a good game! :-)
Well done!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43pm

That was fun and a good idea :)

Tortoise says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Nice idea. I liked that the gameplay was challenging and took more thinking than i expected. I feel it should be more zoomed out though, it got really hard to play around having long segments.

friggingames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:17pm

That was really fun! I really enjoyed playing it. A neat strategy game that ramped up in difficulty quickly.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

A fun game, I wish I could tell what was going to happen a bit better, but it was fun all the same. Interesting idea.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Cool idea, the second level was very enjoyable, hard but doable. The third lvl looked imposible. ¿Anyone did it?

Really liked it and played for a while. Is is a great Compo entry. Good job!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Quite challenging and fun! A very cool twist on the mechanic :)

remicy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Very cool!
It's really fun and creative.
Graphics are also very nice.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:07am

love it, very original and challenging, well done :)

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:32am

For some reason this game reminds me of Dr. Mario. Maybe the colors? Anyway I like the mechanic, giving different powers based on which molecule you collect more of is a really cool twist, it gives you more of a reason to prioritize one color over another if you end up having to choose.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:05am

Really interesting idea, I dig it!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:04am

Cool game. Gets hard quickly

Pete_H says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Very clever, GJ :)

Domicuc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Awesome graphics x) and Gameplay! Also check my project x)

Simon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:41pm

This is very cool to play. Well done.

Hendri says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:05pm

The game can get pretty hard over time. Just an idea but the game would be little bit easier if the camera would go a little bit further away from the molecule.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:24pm

nicely done.

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I enjoyed this, but I'm not really seeing the theme in it!

Rothens says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Needs more levels, but it's already cool enough :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:25pm

This was cool and gets difficult pretty quick. Great job!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:48am

Interesting but I felt like I had minimal control over the final result. The long strings of molecules kept getting in the way.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Interesting mechanic, pretty fun to play around with, but not much to it. Hard, but strategic. Perhaps good for a mobile game?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]