Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Escape The Abyss

by Paperscraps - Compo Entry

​My first Ludum Dare entry - Escape The Abyss

Top-down 2D platformer

*Note game aspect-ratio needs to be 16:9.

Controls:
Left-click to move
Right-click to jump
M toggles music on/off

Story:
The last thing you remember is falling asleep.
The voices told you that you weren't safe
anymore, but you didn't believe them... THEY
LIED ABOUT DAVID! They lied about a lot
things. I must find him... even if I lose myself
in doing so.

Embark on a perilous quest to find David!

*Edit: Fixed a bug so that you can't click past the end screen by accident.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#237Fun3.46
#399Mood3.11
#436Overall3.30
#482Innovation3.23
#618Audio2.59
#993Graphics2.40
#1118Theme2.81

Comments

oobie says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

Awesome game! love the character and the mechanics

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:43am

Like the feel, but I can't get past the jumping part on my mac, right mouse does not work. I'm sure that that is something that can be fixed after.

Hicksk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

I really like the top down platformer concept with clicking where you want to go instead of having exact control of the character with keys.

Kwask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22am

I think the graphics could've been fancied up a little more, and I think the ice could've been icier, but pretty good overall!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:34am

Really Good Fun! I think I'm going to become a professional Abyss player.

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23am

Really impressive - the click to move control scheme reminds me a bit of playing DOTA. This is a lot of work for 48 hours!

A small matter, but I agree with a previous commenter that the ice could be... icier :D

Anyway, very nice, I enjoyed playing.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

pretty fun! played for 60 deaths. i like that there's a death counter. didn't like the art but its programmer art :) strange death animation

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

You killing me, man.
30 deaths already. Stuck on a level with windmills, it's pretty hard, but cool! :)
And yeah, I don't feel like it really fits in theme

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

Movement is pretty smooth. Cool
Difficulty escalates quickly...

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21am

Some of the levels were frustrating to get right, and the click to move interface was a little unwieldy at times, but this was a really solid platformer with some really thoughtfully put together levels. Each level felt fresh, and the challenge level and mechanics built upon one another nicely.

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Right mouse not working on Linux

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:51pm

I took down the Linux and Mac versions, since I don't know how to get the right-click to work on those platforms.

Smiley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05pm

The web version works fine on Mac (no issues with Right clicking)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Nice!

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Crazily difficult but we found it to be very entertaining!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

Playing this has been the most fun I've had in a game so far Ludum Dare 31. When you die do you turn into a pile of bloddy fingers? ^_^ You put a lot of levels into this, and there were a fair number of different mechanics, this game was really well done. Good work!
PS. I found that the third to last level was very hard (the bottom part), maybe too hard.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:58am

I tend to be horribly dismembered a lot but it's a really funny game! I love it! Congrats!

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06am

Really cool game! Congrats! =D It was simple, but solid, and fun!

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:36am

Pretty cool. The click-to-move mechanic could use a little tightening up, but worked fairly well most of the time. This could be my unfamiliarity with the system though. The art is a little "programmer-y" but that's easy to look passed. Music's not terrible, but get's a little grating after a while, especially if you're flustered with a particularly difficult obstacle, but the death voice made me chuckle. overall, it's cool but needs a little more polish. Great effort either way.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29am

As I play with a touch pad (mac) it becomes a little hard to play later in the game, but I enjoyed it. I suppose this game was made for touch screens, no? Nice game =)

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Fun game. I liked the controls, especially the ice mechanics.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40pm

141 deaths later....I found David! I really enjoyed that, I've not seen a game that combines platformer gameplay with click based controls like that. Gets very hard towards the end!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:41pm

One thing I did notice was that when you jump from ice you sometimes seem to jump at a bit of a strange angle. That may have just been me though.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:02am

Love the 2d point-and-click aspect. The jump spins and the flying birds are fun.

calavera says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:07am

I liked when the ground would get destroyed behind you.

calavera says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:08am

Doesn't really fit the theme though..at all..

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice work, this is a solid prototype!
I liked how you tried out a different kind of control mechanic using the mouse, but in practice I'd rather just have direct control. Especially with stuff like ice where the character will slide past the target point, I end up just clicking rapidly. A lot of the difficulty ends up being caused the controls which can be frustrating.
Good to see different mechanics every few levels to keep things interesting.
I won! 60 deaths.

Br_uno says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:53pm

complete and awesome game :)

MaesK says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:11am

Interesting mechanics. Good level design, by the way. Difficulty goes up step by step, without getting too high, and checkpoints help. Nice work.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]