Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Donut Factory

by TheNewPhoenix - Jam Entry

This is a game I and a friend tried to fit the theme. I wish I could have added more features. I am planning on adding a global market and more kinds of donuts/machines. I hope you like it. Thanks in advance.

P.S. Click on the box.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#612Humor(Jam)2.37
#765Theme(Jam)3.22
#894Graphics(Jam)2.31
#899Innovation(Jam)2.29
#913Fun(Jam)2.40
#940Mood(Jam)2.13
#997Overall(Jam)2.33

Comments

talecrafter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38am

Good game. You should add some difficulty perhaps, as at the moment it is just a linear upgrade machine.
I would like a daily job where I get 25 cent for every click I do. :)

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Thanks for your ideas. I will try to add them in the future.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Neat idea, could definitely use with some work on the layout, making certain parts of the game clearer to the player, like the "CLICK, CLICK, CLICK" box.
Also, for one of these kind of games, the audio is wayyyy to repetitive. These games are meant to get you hooked for hours, and with that music, its hard to stay. :)
But still great work, I muted the music and played for half an hour. Hahaha

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I think with some tweaking it could turn into a decent little empire building game. I would work on adding some additional options for money making just add variety and allow you to do something while waiting on the machine. Great job!

StMatn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice game!
I would argue, that you dont need to add any difficulty. Thats absolutely irrelevant in idle games. The idea is, that you click some stuff and let the game run in background, then come back get rewarded for clicking stuff; repeat. In my opinion your game does quite a good job at delivering this (emotional) reward.

A thing to criticise is the audio. While it sets a relaxed mood, its get a bit annoying because of the repetitiveness. While the OS settings do the job, a mute/volume adjust button/slider would be nice here.

I noticed a minor bug: you can buy the plain recipe multiple times, which can even get you in dept.
For an unknown reason I was unable to buy anything after some time on my first try. Maybe its related to the first bug.

The donuts look really delicious :) Nice graphics work there. Its quite satisfying to watch them roll out of the machine :D

All in all nice entry! Keep up the good work :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice start! I felt that there was a bit too much time when I wasn't able to do anything other than watch donuts fall, but the game otherwise delivered.

Many donuts made.

(Note: there was a small bug: you can buy the plain recipe unlimited times and go into debt)

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I'm going to fix the bug and update the download.

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Just fixed the bug. Hope it works.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11pm

this was a somewhat fun game, it just seems incomplete. It's really long, and it doesn't seem to be much of a point to the game, and the music was really repetitive. This has the potential to be a really good game, it just seems unfinished

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:15am

Great! Addicting!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:15am

Nice and humorous idea. Good work!

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:56pm

The art/animation donuts falling and conveyor belt velocity/accel feel great.

Maybe make some interesting/meaningful choices available? I guess right now it's just when to upgrade to the next level machines.

Strandypants says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Love the consept, I can see myself sitting here making donuts for hours with a bit more tweeking of the mechanics. These games are just way to adictive

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Good game Sound track was a bit too loud and it'd be nice if you could change the music or mute it because it gets annoying very fast across a very long game

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Could not find main class.

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:53am

For everyone that played/plays my game I just want you to know we spent the last five hours working on music and school kinda got in the way.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Nice one... Now I want a donut

barryrowe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Decent concept. Donuts are always good. Wish the menus and text were more visible. Some of the options were covered by other buttons. The music is good.

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:52pm

hey guys, thanks for all the feedback. it really helps. we know the music is bad, had a bit if trouble with that. anyway, that helps a lot and it's really appreciated.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:03pm

music is good...
great work..

BSODDevTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:38am

GG man!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:17am

I couldn't get the OS/X version to play. :(

Ossi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:03am

Cute game! I like the different kinds of donuts and it's a very relaxing and simple game. Music did get a bit repetitive but it fit the factory-type setting nicely. Very cool!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]