Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Badius

by leafo - Compo Entry

This game is garbage, sorry. Really didn't have any time to finish, at least enjoy the music.


Arrows Move
X shoots
C spends upgrade points
Esc quits

(gamepads also work, and recommended)

The game plays just like Gradius, just with the entire game squeezed into a rotating ring. Collect popups dropped from special enemies to get points to spend on the upgrade bar. The left edge of the play area slowly moves around the ring, forcing you to play on all sides of the screen. Watch out for corners, they can hide obstacles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Couldn't run. Missing lovekit. I tried to install love from love2d.org and run badius.love... but still nothing.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Same here, the game don't run :/

leafo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Crap, I don't have a windows machine readily available but it should be fixed now. Thanks

vrld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

The idea is pretty cool, plus Gradius was one of my favourite games on the NES. The projection around the edges is a bit weird though. Bummer that you didn't have more time to work on this.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:12pm

I like the concept and the way you applied the theme. Only complaint, the maneuver space is too little and makes the game a lot harder.

recursor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Ooh Very cool Idea. A side-scroller all on one screen. Very innovative. Nice music too.

SimonLarsen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Super innovative! i totally dig the "immiedateness" of the design without it getting stale. only complaint/whine is that the game gets super hard once you have to maneuver the sides of the level. in any case a super simple, innovative and really juicy game! best use of the theme i've seen so far - LukasErritsoe

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:28am

Great idea!Music is good also!Cool job

plauk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:19am

It crashes if my controller is connected!

Cool concept, but I got frustrated trying to control the vertical sections. Still, I like the idea. Feels like a racetrack or something.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Good game! Really fun! Needs more practice for me.
A very "different" side-scroller shump.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]