Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Gaia vs Humanity

by Krunoslav - Jam Entry

You are Gaia. Try to protect the planet from Humanity. They will build farms, houses, buildings and factories, polluting all the World.

If they reach pollution levels at 1500, you lose.

You can use "Gaia Energy" to create lighnings, droughts, earthquakes and meteorites.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#124Innovation(Jam)3.73
#303Theme(Jam)3.76
#375Overall(Jam)3.35
#383Graphics(Jam)3.52
#391Fun(Jam)3.20
#517Mood(Jam)3.00
#628Audio(Jam)2.22
#719Humor(Jam)2.15

Comments

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43am

This Game Reminded Me Of Another Good Game. So Here iS Your Vote

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45am

Innovate gameplay - liked the isometric graphics.

Would liked to have seen where it could have gone with a little more time :)

misto423 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:46am

I think the game needs a bit of balancing with the prices and income. Other then that its a really cool idea and the graphics are nice.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47am

Liked balancing leveling up powers vs. spending them. Neat game. Only complaint is how quickly time passes, doesn't feel like I have enough time to properly react to things. Good job!

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:48am

Dont know if there's a bug or high difficulty or whatever but cant manage to destroy more than a square of herb :) Got sounds etc but city is growing very fast.

Nice graphics, concept and realisation ;)

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

really intresting, keep it up!

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59am

@jhice, you have to pay for the next level to get a bigger impact radius.
@all, you are right, it is too hard :P, i will make a bit slower.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23am

Nice game. I think the solution is a balance between lightning and earthquake lvl 1. you just keep them from growing as long as possible from the start, and they will not have ore than one house.

Anikki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:08am

Fantastic idea. Could have used a bit more visual feedback (had to do a lot of random clicking to figure out what, if and where something happened). Would definitely like to spend some time with a more refined version of this.

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:29am

I liked the feel of the game, the graphics were real good for the time you had to make the game. It was hard to know what I was supposed to do, but after a few moments I got it. This is the kind of game I like. One that runs on its one, I make some decisions then get to see how that affects the game. This lets me play a game in the background, while working on clients stuff. The only thing that would have made it more interesting is if I got to see some animations when the earthquake/meteor/lightening hit and such. Like me you probably just didn't have time. Very professional looking, feeling game! Thanks for a great game!

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36am

@Krunoslav : ok I get it with upgrading levels ;)

Absor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:46am

Animations for the destruction would be nice, or at least some indicator of what you're doing. Also tiles shouldn't be targetable/clickable if you can't destroy them with current spell (no waste). Good job with the game!

Alter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48am

Very nice idea and realization! Rly interesting. Well done!

Emkani says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:50am

Good concept, but no hard to figure out the gameplay, I was just clicking around.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:52am

I feel like I'm fighting a war with a pop-gun here. ^_^;

How come the other disaster types are more expensive if lightning kills everything?

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:52am

I loved the graphics and the gameplay concept. Needs a bit balancing with upgrade costs.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:56am

Very interesting idea! Time pressing provides player with a good challenge! Good job!

xlash86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Awesome strategy game. The sounds and overall UI could use a little more love. But the idea is cool!

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Excellent idea! Bien joué! :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Loved it. Wish you decide to sharpen it up later. It does sound promising.

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I disagree with most of the comments. I think that it is properly balanced for cost vs. upgrades. What I hit is that you can never get to zero pollution. I managed to get to 1 a couple of times, but if you kill that farm it goes up to 2. I'm assuming year 20,000 with level 10 meteor counts as a win? :)

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Quite addictive :) Tried different strategies, but easiest is to just use lightning and never let any kind of city evolve in the first place...

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

@ceosol: :D yes, let say that it means to win.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

This is a cool concept and the graphical style you have here is quite appealing. The UI is pretty poor though and effects for the various 'attacks' would go along way. Also missing music. But yeah, I like it :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Very interesting game, much deeper than i would have thought at first! I think it is quite fun, maybe a little slow.

tMalicet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I like the graphics

pegigante says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I like the idea and pixel graphics. I think that put a visual indicator on the map by clicking on powerups of possible targets would be even better.

t4u says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:35am

Even though I'm allmighty Gaia I feel useless. These humans are spreading and there is nothing I can do about it:(

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42am

Cool concept. They were like a plague I could not stop... nice asset design too. I have no built a web and pc version of my game in Unity 4.6.1 so it should work.

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24pm

I like the populos view. With cool buttons that will be very nice.
The idea is cool, maybe link incomes with something (population or an other thing to buy to increase faster...) will be cool.
(si seulement mes villes dans sim city se developpaient aussi vite...)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:33am

pretty good idea - little more balance would have been good - also some animations for the quakes and lightning would be cool - nice job

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:32am

fun but near impossible. needs balance.

adrianulima says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:13pm

nice graphics!! very good game, congrats!

alfadur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:10am

Very cool idea! The balance is the hardest thing to get right for this kind of games, so I think for a jam game it's balanced quite nicely already. I wonder though if there's a way to also make a meaningful positive feedback loop for Gaia Energy generation. Maybe something like ability to build natural wonders that give additional energy until Humanity reclaim them? Could make gameplay a bit more dynamic.

MaesK says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Nice game, isometric looks match very well with this kind of game. It's like Sim City upside down :D Good graphics, but I would have liked easier controls, and a slower beginning to learn how to play by testing Gaia's powers. Good work!

rzuf says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:50am

The most fun I had with Sim City was destroying a large, developed town with series of natural disasters. And this game is just about this! Love it!

greytram says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:44pm

I like the concept but it would be nice to have some visual feedback elements on screen, like area of effect visualization, some clouds of smoke when a building is destroyed or something like that.
Land and buildings are nicely drawn.
Will be quite fun with a little more polish, especially on UI and feedback.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]