Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hazard Hills

by CliffracerX - Jam Entry

A sort of Donkey Kong themed game, where you're a bean trying to escape the deadly snowballs and reach the mystical light of victory!

This game gets really hard and kind of frustrating at times, so I'm just warning you now. There is also no save system, you need to complete the thing all in one go.

My first LD entry!

Video preview available here: http://youtu.be/DBGGL5xeeX8

Please submit this to the Button Masher Bros, using their handy-shmancy form here: goo.gl/forms/Q6HtoUpdCA

License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#495Audio(Jam)2.71
#644Mood(Jam)2.85
#710Fun(Jam)2.77
#777Overall(Jam)2.87
#804Humor(Jam)1.82
#915Graphics(Jam)2.23
#927Theme(Jam)2.80
#964Innovation(Jam)2.00

Comments

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09am

Once the balls are rolling throughout the platforms the game becomes almost impossible. However, I like the idea.

It's a good start. And could be very fun. =)

Tangent128 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20am

You may wish to opt-in to judging categories if you want to be rated.

But general thoughts- game was a very workable mechanic (Arcade games in general seem to fit the theme well), though I could not find a solution for the second flaming snowball level.

Some irritants:
- once or twice I had a snowball spawn in the middle of my character while I was passing its spawn point next to the goal.
- as another commenter mentioned, the difficulty increases after your first attempt at a level; it doesn't get impossible, but it would seem to make sense to either reset the snowballs on death or have the snowballs start in the equilibrium pattern.

Particle effects were nice, and the snowfall gave a nice feeling of upward motion.

yurodivuie says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33am

Great atmosphere for such a simple game. I like the pan-up transitions.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34am

Decent game. The visuals are very poor but other than that it's nice.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35am

needs a bit of work ;) but gj so far! :)

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37am

Thanks, everyone! I've fixed the rating now, didn't realize the checkboxes were opt-in rather than opt-out.

I barely did any proper modeling for the game, everything is just standard Unity primitives, even the bean you play as.

I'm aware of some of the weird bits like snowballs spawning on you and the difficulty increasing after failing, but I'm not sure if those are the kinds of modifications I could make post-LD.

I'm not sure how well I did on the actual theme, but I'm pretty happy with the game overall.

overallcyber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39am

Floorman is right. Once the balls get going, it becomes very hard to play. Other than a few ragequits, good job! :-)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:46am

more engaging and fun than I expected it to be

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56am

more engaging and fun than I expected it to be, I definitely wouldn't say it's "almost impossible", it was pretty easy

Tangent128 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:59am

Also, many thanks for a Linux version.

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03am

No problem, I try to support Linux over Windows when possible! I'm also going to do a mac version, but I dunno if it'll work right.

I don't have a mac to test it on xD

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28am

Cool one, nice music. Not sure what the point of W/S is?

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31am

Nice fun little platformer. Does have all of the problems of a platformer and it drives me crazy, but I played a bunch of levels, so I had fun. I like that you get right back into the action after dying, helps relieve the frustration. I'd like to see it polished up a bit more. I'm curious why are we trying to get to the light. Being enticed to ask that question after some play is a good sign.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31am

Very good game, that donkey kong idea is great, this game has a very good potential but needs a lo tmore work specially the mechanics and the transitions

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35am

great job!

Ossi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

I really liked the atmosphere. It controlled fairly well, although the friction on the platforms was a bit sluggish. Audio fits the backdrop really nicely and it feels like I am going up a snowy mountain. The transition upwards when you beat a level is very dramatic too! Well done!

psychonull says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

I played through 3 stages and it was fun. I thought I was going to finish it, but looks like there are a lot of levels. Good job!

ElBatanony says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27am

Atmospheric and fun, it needed a bit more graphics than the normal capsule tbh, but it really puts you in the mood of december and snow. It also had a lot more levels than I expected it to have, which is an awesome thing the I don't get to see in the usual ludum dare games. Goodjob!

BCasaleiro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:17am

I liked it very much, for a first game it went very well

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I ran out of time on the playermodel, heh. I'm planning on making it a snowman in the post-LD version.

Thanks for all the support. :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34am

Cool mechanic - Donkey Kong with physics!

With some balance tweaks and proper models this could be a really excellent platformer.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:19am

oh man.. all those attempts to get up the hill only to have a ball spawn right on top of you just before getting the light...

belva1234 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:12am

nice game i love the mood :)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:32am

Controls were kinda floaty, but it kept me playing. Got stuck on the second burning balls level.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Collision and physics are a bit buggy, but the game was pretty fun. Donkey Kong themed game is a good way to describe it though.

rantt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:50pm

The music fit the mood well. Fun game, I enjoyed it. Grats on your first LD entry :)

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Would be much better if you had changed the assets to some custom made. Even when you are not versatile with 3d modeling software you could achieve a lot by royalty free models.

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:07pm

I'm aware I could have done better on the models, but I simply ran out of time. I'm actually pretty decent with Blender, but I was more focused on functioning gameplay and nice ambiance, not fancy 3d models.

Thanks for all the support, I was expecting to do way worse for my first LD.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:32am

Very diverting. This game is simple but very playable. I particularly like that you implemented a core mechanic and created a number of levels from it. I certainly got the "oh, I'll play just one more level..." feeling from it which is definitely a good thing.

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Game glitched out many times where I could not move but when I could the game seemed like it needed a bit more also you could have used a player model rather than the unity player model. Other than that the game had some game play so it was fun.

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:24am

I ran out of time for the player model, I know it needed more than a bean. :P

JJEvil says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Holy crap, I hope you have a special trophy ready for anyone that beats this. It's Nintendo hard.

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:49pm

If you get a picture of winning the game and send me a link in the comments, I'll give you a special trophy.

Brb, making trophy image XP

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]