Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Terra Kata

by jmborden - Compo Entry

The ground is composed of terra tiles that are made ahead of you and consumed behind you. The more terra that is consumed, the more points you are awarded. Keep a steady pace and don't fall in the pit or else it's game over!

Controls

Walk - left arrow (→) key
Run - left arrow (→) key + shift (or ctrl)
Jump - up arrow (↑)

Terra Kata is a Javascript game. Works best in Chrome and Firefox. Source is viewable in your browser (e.g. in Chrome, View -> Developer -> View Source.) and as a downloadable zip file.

Took down the embedded iframe due to issues with it. Please use the Web link!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#888Humor1.83
#1104Mood1.84
#1156Innovation1.98
#1160Fun2.07
#1180Graphics1.71
#1198Theme2.06
#1202Overall2.12

Comments

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53am

Javascript :D! AND SO MUCH COMMENTS ON THE SOURCE WAAaaAa!
There is some issue playing here on the ld page. Definitely working better on the web link.
Nice work!

Kitch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:05am

Ditto the above.. play in the web link, not the embed!

Nice work! Some of the playtroughs gave me a little too much starting terrain, if you know what i mean :)

But overall, was a good time.

Thanks!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35am

Props to pure javascript implementation.

DavidLv says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40am

The theme is Entire game in one Screen, this game isn't in the theme.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46am

Interesting idea. The controls are a bit clunky. I can tell that your levels are procedurally generated. Good job!

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

Good job! I think i got into the 500s for score.

jmborden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:59am

@DavidLv - Every element of the game is on one entire screen at one time the whole time, save for the Game Over menu and perhaps a few straggling terra tiles just off screen to the left. The tiles are just moved from the front to the back in an endless cycle. The "pits" or gaps between tiles are just tiles that aren't active at the moment and thus aren't visible.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:29am

Good job, but some jumps are impossible. Don't find them all the time, but there are some that

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:08am

nice game!

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:54pm

It was cool

Nice job dude

Nielz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice! ^_^

jelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I really like the colors and the yingyang :) My only criticism is that some of the tile combinations end up being really annoying, and if they were more deliberate it would vastly improve the overall experience.

I like it though!

jmborden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

@jelly
Thanks for the feedback. The colors were sampled from Super Mario Bros =). I changed up the tile scheme generator in the last few hours and was working hard to get more deliberate combinations, but... deadlines!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Very simple game, but its fun enough. The fact its in Javascript is pretty cool. I didn't quite see the point in having a specific run button instead of just making the player that fast anyway, but otherwise good stuff.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Good job. Needs something that makes it unique.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Loved it

jmborden says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:45am

@Tater_hater
Thanks for including me in your video. For the lazy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA#t=743

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

It took a while to get the hang of it, but I got 690! I feel that a lot of this was up to chance though, some times it would go from a ramp to a high cliff, and I had a really hard time jumping up... other times it was mostly pits that I could jump easily. Maybe you could figure out a way to generate progressivly harder terrain. Nice job on this, the gameplay is simple and fun.

ALobker says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Here we get to see all the advantages and disadvantages of procedural generation. Nice game overall though!

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:36am

Wow this is super tough! Nice idea though, it's just a shame that half the time the terrain generated isn't possible to pass (or I'm just shit at the game haha)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Jumping was a little difficult. Nice once you got the hang of it.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:59am

Nice mechanic. I like not having a control to go backwards. It adds to the difficulty nicely. Many times I died because I tried to go backwards. I wish the terrain generation was a little more forgiving. There seem to be some spaces that spawn while you're in the air and you just have no where to go. Maybe I'm just bad at the game.

ynots says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:37pm

nice..

Crosstales says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Nice game and it only uses javascript. The controls are imho a bit too clunky.

But I liked it and I wish you a happy x-mas!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]