Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ball Room

by BroCade - Jam Entry

Please to enjoy our 2nd attempt at a Ludum Dare jam.

Operating on far too little sleep to provide a full description of the game, but i will try anyway.

There are few thing more fun than taking a abstract theme literally, so in that spirit we present "Ball Room". An attempt to cram as much game onto one screen as possible, including 4 power ups, 10 starts to collect, various obstacles and platforming puzzles to over come, and even an easter egg.

Work your way through the board and collect all the stars as fast as possible, current record time is 205.1 seconds. Can you beat it? Post your time in the comments below ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#102Overall(Jam)3.79
#129Theme(Jam)4.02
#137Fun(Jam)3.60
#165Innovation(Jam)3.66
#300Audio(Jam)3.21
#388Mood(Jam)3.19
#568Graphics(Jam)3.13
#640Humor(Jam)2.32

Comments

vortex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

After I was finally able to jump through the gap on the first bit, it was a really fun game. I got 312.6...

Zordrac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Sweet idea, like the style and music. Did not have the patience to collect the stars.

maxyan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20am

Nice entry, good level design

muumeroinen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Good concept! I liked it :)

CoolChesire says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19pm

The controls are pretty smooth and the graphics are really cool, also the sound effects.

BroCade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Thanx so much guys! at 312secs for your first run getting all the starts ir pretty good.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:00am

I am not a patient person. This is a game for patient people. I wish I were a patient person so I could complete this game.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:00am

Relly nice game! I think, you had really hard time to think how that puzzle should work. Best game so far (I have rated about 20 games)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02am

When I first saw this I thought it looked too simple. Then I realized I couldn't jump and my brow started wrinkling. It's crafty and infuriating in all the right ways.

BroCade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:54am

@WatercressStudios glad it made your brow wrinkly! that was one of the effects we were after :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

That was excellent. Great fun. The music was pleasant. Loved the mechanic of changing abilities to get through - reminded me of Thomas Was Alone.

jhice says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Nice and original entry :) hard to get some stars!

Ulydev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Excellent idea ! I love it :)

piotrevic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Very good use of theme. It looks like simple game but it takes a longer while to finish. Enjoyed :)

Wilson says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Nicely executed, plenty going on in the single screen :)

syawqy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:30pm

oooh... it's hard, especially if you don't have enough patience

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Super cool! Fun, inovative gameplay. Awesome theme integration. Love the way you even worked credits into your design!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Well done! Really liked the gameplay and level design.

BroCade says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:58am

Thanks all for the positive feedback!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Great idea, great execution

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:08pm

What a charming mofo of a game :D

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:54am

LOVE THIS! :D

Never have I seen so much game squeezed into two buttons and one screen :) Ship it! :)

It can also be called Backtrack: The Game :P

The interactions are so smart and well designed. I really have no words. I can only get 8 stars though, can't work out the rest.

Also I think I cheated by squeezing the tennis ball into tunnels :P

Also I think this is what Snoopy will play like as a game :)

BroCade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:08am

Thanx Tuism.
Getting the tennis ball though the tunnel is technically not cheating, but there are easier and faster ways to get those stars.
Which 2 stars are you cant you to get?

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:16am

I actually managed to get stuck somewhere in the level last night :( (at the "entrance" to the bottom body of water to the left of "finish" with the floaty ball, I felt awful)

Do you have plans for a mobile release at all BroCade? The fact the controls are so simple lends itself really well to the idea.

BroCade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Do you have a screen shot of where you got stuck? If it's where I think it is a simple platform lowering could help.

Haven't really thought about a release. But if we can get a scoreboard working I'd love to do an itch.io release. Not sure if there is enough content for a mobile release.

Riocide says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:35pm

finished it in 69 seconds but I didnt get a single star :P
Nice work guys. Really solid concept!

BroCade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Do you have a screen shot of where you got stuck? If it's where I think it is a simple platform lowering could help.

Haven't really thought about a release. But if we can get a scoreboard working I'd love to do an itch.io release. Not sure if there is enough content for a mobile release.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:11pm

The ball properties switching reminded me a bit of Fury of the Furries, an Amiga game for which I did the music 20 years ago :) Awesome gameplay, challeging, and an overall very nice presentation ! Good job !

BroCade says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Wow. Blast from the past. I just googled fury of the furries and something in the back of my mind began to itch, I recall playing the share ware version more years ago than I'd like to admit :) Thanxs so much for the comments and for the work you did on the furries

ianh says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:44am

Tricky controls! I accidentally finished the game before I got all the stars :(

Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:56am

this was surprisingly compelling. I saw it all the way through to all ten stars and had a great time doing so. The tiny map meant that screwing up never meant losing a ton of progress, and all the puzzles were just easy enough to piece together that they never felt frustrating, but just tough enough to actually be satisfying. An excellent entry, friend. Well done.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:04am

Super fun game! I really really liked it. The game reminded me of Within A Deep Forest! ^^

I played until I collected all of the stars and beat the level a few times. I couldn't figure out how to get the easter egg though! D:

A couple of really nitpick comments: I wish that the ball moved with the moving platforms. Also getting the tennis ball to bounce under a platform could be a little frustrating.

Still awesome level design. I learned how to play because of how the level was layed out. I don't think it's possible to get stuck and some of the puzzles were very clever! I also really liked how I thought I was getting to the finish until I got really close, then had to go all the way around the screen. After winning I felt like I really knew the game very well.

Awesome job you guys! :D

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Pretty cool concept. The gameplay is a bit hard I think, especially the bouncing ball.

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

Pretty frustrating. I never realized how hard it is to jump in a platformer where you don't control the height or timing of your jump. The bounce mechanic is very difficult to get a hang of. Also for some reason the unity browser plugin crashes when I close the browser tab.

BroCade says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:36am

@csanyk - Sorry to hear that its frustrating. We thought the bouncing felt good and you could control the movements quite well. Any pointers to make it better?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]