Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Crime Prevention

by CrefossusJam - Jam Entry

Catch crime from your humble security office chair.

R to restart the game.

Made in 1.5 hrs ish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#555Innovation(Jam)2.96
#753Humor(Jam)2.05
#807Theme(Jam)3.16
#946Mood(Jam)2.10
#958Graphics(Jam)1.65
#992Fun(Jam)2.09
#1025Overall(Jam)2.08
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59am

No idea what is going on here.

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

Watch the making of I explain the concept in the first 2 min ish :D

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

AW YEAH I WON

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:15am

Interesting concept, but needs a bit of work.

voxel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:48am

YEAH GO STRAIGHT TO JAIL DO NOT PASS GO i won go me.

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35pm

I think I never played a surveillance camera before, and I think that is a neat idea. Given the extremely short time you spent making this game it is really impressive. I think it would have been good to have put a light source in the scene though and just some different colors on the materials, because it took me a while to understand the mechanics of the game because it was a while before I at all saw what was happening.

One thing that could have been cool would have been to have some characters not steal stuff and some top down camera where you only saw who was leaving and you would get big minus for all that you stopped that weren't thieves. But that would have required more than 1.5h dev.

So for time spent, good results.

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:48am

This is a pretty much innovative gameplay. I'd not dig in it. But, looks like it have a great logical meaning.
Nice work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:54am

As others have said, the execution is a little raw, but it's a great idea and well worth pursuing if you're looking to create a full game out of it. :)

oscalbal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:57am

You need more people inside the store, so you cant tell the thieves from the costumers, otherwise it becomes too easy

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I guss its decent for 1.5 hours, but not for ludum dare

danidre14 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Noting really to it, but I lie it's idea

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice concept. You should explore it. It may be a cool and pretty original video game.

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Nice concept playing as a camera :). I won!!!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I didn't really like it. It was too easy yet quite confusing, too short, the graphics weren't anything special, and I felt you could've done more with the theme.

I think the idea of playing with Security Cams has potential, and I've once thought about a game using security cams, but this isn't it just yet ;) Still, I hope this can inspire you to make a more interesting and inspired game ;)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:29pm

5 stars in innovation
0 for the rest :D
-1 stars for fun

Olive says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:54am

I'm excited to see where this will go! I like how you used a real world system and the creative way you decided to express it! That was a productive hour! :)

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:21pm

You're pretty brave for making a second game after the compo. I think after I finished my game I didn't even want to be anywhere near my computer.
One hour (or in this case 1.5) hour jams always produce unique and interesting results. I can't say this is good as a whole, but it DOES exist, which is more than can be said for a lot of high-concept ideas that nobody ever bothers to hammer out. The idea is cool and I don't think anyone would complain if you came back to try and flesh this out a little!

nosfer says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:50pm

yay, I won

peterthehe says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Good idea, bad execution

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:10pm

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]