Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Shift

by SoulGame - Jam Entry

Time travelling is a dangerous trip! To save your ass, hunt the guy who killed you and kill him.

This game is a fast paced platformer taking place on only one screen. The game rotates each time you kill your nemesis, giving a new perspective on things and physics. But sadly he's that easy to kill... There is no end to this endless mess.

Game made by 3 people from @4EdgesGames and @SoulGameStudio (facebook.com/soulgame)

Argl - Game Designer, Tea Maker
@Tavrox_ - Programmer, Git-Commit Assistant
@repstyle - Artist, Pizza Lead Cooker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Fun(Jam)4.03
#30Theme(Jam)4.32
#42Overall(Jam)3.99
#67Innovation(Jam)3.92
#123Audio(Jam)3.66
#135Mood(Jam)3.64
#179Graphics(Jam)3.96

Comments

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18am

Four stars all around! Really great concept!

trenchgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18am

Really fun way to deal with the theme's design constraint. I really enjoyed it.

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:20am

Nice game! The rotation aspect was nice.

samfreeman05 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

Pretty exciting, very original. You did a good job

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Pretty neat! As soon as you start to get better, the more fun it is, comboing stuff together :) Thats good Game design, guys!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:14am

this is well done, Innovative and well implemented. nothing to add here

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:15am

Best jam game I've played yet! And even better with a controller! Great mechanics, graphics, and really cool level design. I like how the same level can be reinterpreted in 4 different games. Love it, man :D

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:20am

Very fun to play.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:59am

Thanks a lot for all your feedback, that's really encouraging to pursue our work on the game. Please feel free to share anything you might dislike as well.

mactinite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:23am

Awesome way to keep with the theme and really cool arcadey game. Would play on my PSVita or DS every once in awhile.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

good game, compact and intense

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07am

Good one. Maybe get rid of the scrollbar in embed game?

blackmagic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Nice once, reminds me of proletarian ninja ;) A little more forgiveness about jump timing would have make it a perfect score :)

Simon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Not bad at all :)
I had a lot of fun playing it.

SunBurn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Très bon jeu ! Addictif !

bitserum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Innovative and theme well used. Nice work

barryrowe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

Very well done. I was expecting a lot of rotating platform style games, so I had low expectations. You blew those out of the water. This game is a lot of fun, looks great, sounds great, fits the theme, and the controls are super solid. There are a couple of spawn points that feel a little bit unfair in certain orientations. That makes it feel like the game caused me to lose rather than my skill level. Great entry.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:37am

@Barryrowe : many thanks. You're right about spawn points, we will work on that :)

raincole says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:46am

There are many games using rotation mechanics, but this one is the best i've seen so far. Btw i've rated 100+ games.

Ashuu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59am

A great job !

Love the design as much as the controls.

Just lacks a quick restart button (did i miss it?) and a fix for a few very punishing spawns and it'll be perfect :).

Omw to the 100 kills :3.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:16am

@raincole : thanks, that's encouraging :)
@Ashuu : "Press Space to restart" in the game over ^^ If you use gamepad, pressing "A" should work as well. Good luck for the 100 kills, my BP is only 66...

jhice says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:45am

Good game in all categories :) A bit frustrating sometimes when jumping (too short jump ?) but perhaps it will be too easy. Congrats!

nokusu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Really cool game, i dig the art, although a bit hard to get these jumps on this short timer, but that's really a minor issue, also good to see there's controler support :D

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Greate game! 5 stars!

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Very stylish and addictive game. I like graphics and rotation mechanics but controlls seems little bit confusing and not very intuitive for me. Also your game is great!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Really great all around! Love the movement.

kaa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Very well made little game!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Super fun concept and controls, I wish he sometimes didn't spawn is such odd and almost impossible corners though, but hey...where's the fun in that, right?

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:35pm

@deyteris_team : we're working on that! Thanks for confirming our thoughts.

@Lynx : thanks for the nice feedback, spawn spots are not always fair indeed, we'll improve that part as well.

Meedoc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Great game except the flaw on some spawning position! Congratz!

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Nice and addictive game ! It looks like the dash does not always work. Anyway the game is still enjoyable ! And I suggest we should be able to see the characters at all times. Because right now if we stand on bricks at the top of the screen we have no idea where the character is.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I love it! The rotation, combined with the screen-wrapping effect makes for some really interesting gameplay :)

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Love this interpretation of the theme, really excellent style too! Great job on all aspects guys!

p.s. I replied to your question about my game (and added gameplay video), if you'd like to give it another try :)

Mase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:38am

This is quite fun... it's very satisfying when I string together several kills.

I "only" killed him 38 times!

slarrimer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:57am

Great game! The rotation and screen wrap work really well together.

Verz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I like the level rotation a lot! It's a really good concept. Also the map wrapping is cool. Good graphics :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Simple and addictive game. Love the graphics and the idea!!! Well done!!!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Really creative entry, this was a blast to play. The art is nice and the rotation adds nice challenge, controls work well. Nice work.

renatopp says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:09am

The game is pretty fun and good to play. I only dislike the theme of the story (but this is not relevant to my rating). Great job.

allanolivei says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:10am

The Best ... I loved the game. Great art, very fun idea and very polished game

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:12am

Loved your concept :)

Sundry says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:15am

i like this !! very good job

Kuupu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:21am

Nice game, cool level rotation, good controls, nice artwork,
But I see no need for the dash action and the enemy design really don't fit in the design of the game.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:24am

40 kills woot! fun game

MjSpeCter says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:55am

Really fun, challenging! I wish you could double jump but I like the concept!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:01am

Nice game ! Simple but really good. Congrats!

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:15am

I had a ton of fun with this. My record is 42 kills. It takes a little while before I got used to the fact that if I missed the kill it was quicker to loop around the level than it was to try to correct.

As far as expanding the game I would be interested in seeing how you would do it. I think that it is pretty self-contained as it is and I do wonder if making additions would add anything new or dilute the good thing you have going.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:43am

Really good physics and interesting mood. Thank you for your comment about my game ++

klianc09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:28am

Awesome game, pretty fluid controls. Just sometimes I would have wished for a double jump, because the character is running so fast it's easy to fall of ledges.
But once you get the hang of it, it's a really fast paced and fun game. (Got to 75 kills)

admix says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:35am

I like how dynamic that is and how space is connected! Cool idea and great implementation!

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Really cool game, love what you guys did. :D

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Neat game, well done. :)

UnionCorp says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:05am

Great Job!
Super Fun Game.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:05am

Very good game ! Simple, fun, easy to understand, neat graphics and music, I liked it ! Very well done ! :D

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:14am

Very nice project!Love the speed!

Phask says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Wow! Thanks for this game. I really like the game mechanics.

Stending says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:21pm

As always, cool game mechanic, good polish (maybe I would suggest a pause or restart button, but that's not really important), and super little game!
Love your work guys, good luck for the future!

pcmaster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Dude, this is really awesome, respect! One of the top here.

Managore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:28am

Really fun and a great use of theme! My only complaint is I found things a bit hard to control near the edges of the screen, which made it very hard to kill him in certain locations.

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I like the way the rotating works and that the screen wraps on both X and Y. My main gripe was that sometimes the guy would end up in a place where he was hard to reach, and the game was then no longer about how quickly you could figure out the most efficient way to the agent, but about platforming, which for the most part you are not doing, except in those situations. So it feels like you are doing well, and then suddenly you have some guy appear inside a little alcove you can only reach from below, and you are struggling to make the jump, and you lose all your time on that single guy, and it doesn't seem like it was fair. Or rather, it makes it feel like the only way to get really far is to try over and over until you happen to get lucky and get a perfect run without any weird agent placements. I enjoyed the other mechanic way more than the platforming part, especially when the solution involved taking advantage of the screen wrap. Being able to figure out how to do that on the fly is very fun, and it is naturally rewarding to see your time start to go up when you have a burst of brain power and pull of a bunch of quick kills in a row. Graphics were pretty cool despite being black and white, and while that did give the game a sort of 50s spy/assassin vibe, I would still prefer color. Music and sound quality were good and also fit the theme well. Oh, one thing though... that beeping is almost as bad as half a heart left on a game of Zelda... if you know what I mean. In a way it encourages me to try to stay above 5 seconds, but at the same time when you are coming down the the wire, its just about the most infuriating thing, hahaha.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:27am

Thanks for all the comments and the feedback guys!

@loopinloui : that's really nice to have such a detailed review. We're proud of the good points you mentioned as it was core elements of the original concept. Regarding bad point (clumsy platforms, unfair spawn points) they're very valid and are unfortunately due to lack of time to balance! The level design was actually finished in the last hours of the jam. Anyway thanks a lot.

gre says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:02am

Pretty cool concept, nice graphics and game mechanism.

Lythom says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Simple yet addictive game. A bit too random in my opinion (got a very good game thanks to luck but several try hard ones) even if this random get balanced by skill over time.
Thanks for the game !

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:57am

Very nice! Fun with a good style.
Do be sure next time to remember the player's face direction when not moving left/right. That messed me up on dashes at first.

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Fun concept ! Maybe a the character movement is a little bit buggy.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:29am

love it, love the pace, the visuals, the clever stage turning, very fun, well done

Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Beautiful graphics. Good sound. Simple and addictive game. Very good.

vidarn says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:45pm

A solid platformer with great graphics. Good job!

codeapparat says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:12am

Great idea for implementing the theme and amazing execution in all aspects. Certainly the most heart-pumping entry i've played this Ludum Dare. :)

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:11am

Great all round game. Something just doesn't feel right with the weight of the character, I am not sure what it is. But I love the game. It'd be cool to have a zen mode where it never ends.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Controls could use a bit of work, navigating around the level was sometime unnecessary hard. Really good job otherwise, I kept playing for a while.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 9:10am

Thanks a lot for all your comments, they are both encouraging and useful to improve the game. Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]