Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Starside Takeover

by headchant - Compo Entry

Shmup with 2 maps on only one screen. Collect all upgrades and beat the mothership.

Move arrows
Shoot X
Switch Map Z or Y

Hints for the gentle reader:
Hint 1) Switching maps costs A/B
Hint 2) Switching maps can get you out/into sticky situations
Hint 3) A/B combinations unlock different upgrades, e.g 1/0 unlocks the backshot

Follow me on twitter.com/headchant for more freeware games und updates!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Audio3.89
#59Fun3.81
#113Graphics3.93
#113Overall3.72
#168Mood3.44
#634Humor2.38
#769Theme3.44
#771Innovation2.83

Comments

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:37am

Fun fun fun. Love shmups. Takeof on the compo theme almost similar to my game (rescue to the princess) although mine is a platformer. Good good one!

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:46am

There's a lot going on in this game, what with the powerups and the map switching, and that's great! I'd have liked it if the enemies were a little easier to kill, but that's just me.

The familiar is super useful btw.

cmayhem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:49am

Good use of the theme! Very solid and fun shmup.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57am

I liked the visuals and the audio, but the game was a bit too difficult for me. Maybe it is just me (still sleepy after finishing own entry) but I can barely survive until I'm able to switch map.

berkano says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Nice crisp graphics, sound and great music. Feels very polished. Got that crunchy arcade game feel.

lekochen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Fantastic entry with solid gameplay and energetic music. I really want to check more power-ups but it's too hard.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I love me a good shmup and for 48h this is really impressive! Great graphics and energetic sound. The map switching mechanic is the icing on the cake.

sausagroll says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Fun game, I love the style of the graphics and audio.

PriorBlue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37am

Cool pixalart graphics and old school gameplay. :D

resty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

very good, i love shooting game, played so much.
it's hard to believe that you do all those thing in just 48h, great work!
only problem is that it has some frame drop on my computer with e3 + gtx970...

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Fantastic. This is a bang on shmup. Really excellent. Great art and gameplay.

sirival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Ugh the memories... Nice job! Feels very polished

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Cool and fun game that have lovely graphics! A lot more fun than the normal procedural space shooters IMO. Thanks for the game, good luck and Merry Christmas!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31pm

This game was awesome, i really like the scrolling plane type shooters, and you sir had done well, i also really like the switching maps mechanic :)

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:47pm

LOVE the art ! :) funny game ! Also check my project if you have some time mate x)

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Good job on your compo entry, we can see a lot of work went into it and the map switching is a nice feature.

Player movement should probably have been constrained to the screen though. It's possible to dash directly to the boss at the start of the game, though it's not really useful.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Pure awesomeness, fellow Löver ! Great graphics :D

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:22pm

crashes for me (yosemite) unfortunately :(

headchant says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:10pm

@K.Chplr: Haha, didn't think about that!

@TeamEagle: Sorry. Löve does not seem to be supported for yosemite at this time. Or maybe I'm bundling wrong, sorry!

radmars says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Wow this is awesome!! Graphics and music are stellar. Controls are pretty good though the movement feels pretty slow relative to how big your hitbox is, so that makes it a bit hard. My only suggestion would be to have the A/B and switching mechanics explained more ingame, it took me a while to figure out what my strategy should be. Awesome work!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Very nice overall package, sound especially

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:28pm

fun ! but the theme ?

blzkz says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:39am

Awesome, very very fun, love shoot'm ups. Well done!

Backterria says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Very nice mechanic with the maps and great controls!Visuals are cool too!

Odefus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Loved the graphics and the effects. Solid shmup action.

seraphki says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Awesome graphics. Takes me back to Skyshark. Can't ever get enough shooters like this. You certainly aren't pulling your punches with the difficulty either =3

lxd1 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

fun

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Ouch. You hit my nostalgia hard. This looked and felt great, wonderfully executed. :D

jachepe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Funny game! congratulations :D

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

great work

Hellequin says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Awesome fun game! Really like it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]