Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sweet Honey Bear

by Larry - Jam Entry

You control the bear with the arrow keys. Look for the tree with the hive. Get to it and you engage in a battle to avoid the bees and to get the sweet honey. If you get pushed out, then you have to find another tree. The more honey the bear has, the happier the bear is. Can you make the bear feel happy?

Thanks to itch.io for the hosting. This is my first time creating a HTML5/WebGL game. I used Pyxel Edit, Phaser and Brackets to do most of the work. There wasn't enough time to implement sound or include the features I wanted. The original inspiration was to make an action RPG which is why the world wraps around and there is an unused 'town' area.

*I adjusted the difficulty a bit. The bees are randomly placed between a set of a y-values. So there will be situations where it's just a wall of bees. It may take a few tries to get a run without a wall of bees.

**For those having trouble, always keep walking even if the bees are pushing. Try to weave around the bees by determining the path you need to follow while the bees are coming. There is a spot where your hit box is smaller along the top (You still can get pushed here). Keep practicing, it's hard at first, but you'll get used to it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#260Innovation(Jam)3.46
#352Theme(Jam)3.70
#435Humor(Jam)2.70
#776Graphics(Jam)2.67
#800Fun(Jam)2.65
#816Overall(Jam)2.81

Comments

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Very unique game, but not much to do it seems. I guess you had planned for powerups and healing but didn't get around to do it? Still intriguing concept, maybe you'll work more on this, post-LD :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Pretty nice concept! Really fun! :')

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Adorable visuals. But I feel like some of the levels were impossible because of the way the bees were organised. Either way, quite fun!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Cool game!
Maybe add some music next time?

seraphki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I like the idea! It took me a minute to realize what was going on, but I really like the screen setup with the zoom-in! Only thing I'd suggest is to ease up on the bees to make it a little more possible to navigate them. If the mechanic is supposed to be 100% timing, I'd take away the illusion that you can navigate through the bees at all. I was able to avoid them a couple times, but for the most part if I didn't time it correctly, the bees unceremoniously ejected me, and there was no hope of navigating through them.

All in though, well done!

udo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Congratulations on your first LD game! This is a very cool concept, I just wish it had some audio - it's difficult to figure out what's going on sometimes. It's also pretty hard, I think gradually increasing the number of bees would have been better. Good job, keep it up!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Great screen layout idea, but the bees are too damn hard.

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Congratulations! It's fun, I made the bear happy. Nice graphics, too!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Heh congratulation for first game for ludum dare :) if you need music contact me skype: Domicuc .. cute game x)
also check my project if you have some time x)

billrizer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49am

Great concept - wasn't sure exactly what to do though

++ For using Phaser :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:32am

The concept is original. I found it very hard though, I could not get past the bees.

calavera says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Those bees are impossible to pass!

how did you host this from itch.io? i hosted there but i cant get it to load on LD

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Good job!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Took me 10 attempts to get all the honey)
Love the concept, very original!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:42pm

So frustrating! I want the honey! My strategy was just to wait by one tree, and then bolt for the honey as soon as I could. I got 100 oz in 4 tries.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24pm

This game is weeeeird! I really love it, such a unique design!

rzuf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:53pm

The bear is happy. :3

mortus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:16pm

I love the concept, fits the theme perfectly. Too bad there's not much gameplay implemented.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:56pm

The mechanic is nice, but I think it's a bit too hard. Walking around chasing the moving hive is a bit pointless though.

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:02am

It's simple yet very challenging

madmaw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Frigging bees!

H4ssi says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:41pm

enjoyed the game
at first bees were pretty hard but once with enough practice it gets manageable :D
especially liked the concept, that you can take a shortcut through the inner 4x3 tiles.
graphics are sweet :D as is the idea and the game is fun as well. i like

gana0 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Very nice concept. I like the zoom in when you actually get near the honey. The difficulty seemed somewhat unfair at times, as I was constantly forced out by the bees with no visible path to get to the honey. Additionally, I couldn't find a way to get to the 'buy' or 'heal' stands and didn't find any directions of how to get there. The bear was very cute. Overall, it was a very nice first game that fit the theme very well.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

nice work keep it up

orion_black says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

I think the game would benefit a lot from hitboxes(both yours and from the bees) being smaller, even if more bees where needed to balance it out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]