Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Spiral Dungeon

by Pcholt - Compo Entry

All on one screen, with a twist, literally.

Combat was not possible to enter in the time. :( Also animation, music, and intro screen. :(

http://youtu.be/KbUex8EsoZ4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#220Mood3.33
#237Theme3.88
#287Audio3.15
#451Graphics3.25
#560Overall3.19
#601Innovation3.07
#705Humor2.29
#822Fun2.81
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:42am

To run under Linux, you have to run "java -jar SpiralDungeon.jar" from a command prompt in the SpiralDungeon_jar directory.

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:42am

Just checking the Windows port now.

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49am

OMG Windows port works... without modification! All hail LibGDX!

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49am

Now for sleep.

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

This game is amazing!
How you managed to accomplish something like this in 48 hours is beyond me.

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

The game kinda lack interactivity (maybe I missed something on the controls ?). The graphics and the general idea of the insects following you is cool however.

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:15am

Creepy as all hell. Excellent use of sound. The level generation was really interesting too. Wish there was more than just bug kiting though

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30am

Ah well there's only so much you can do with the time when you have other commitments. The monsters aren't animated because I spent more than 2 hours working on the Animation class from libgdx and couldn't work out how to apply it to Sprites. Also spent another two hours trying to debug a problem where the shadows cast by the walls were also being cast by the monsters in a very unrealistic fashion. It turned out I had two parameters to PointLight.setContactFilter round the wrong way :P

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:09am

nice game!

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:17am

If only combat had worked - kiting those things around gets a little old - I love the way you use whatever is currently not visible for terrain generation though! Nice graphics, too.
Excellent use of the Theme imo!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:28am

My 5 stars for the theme interpretation !
I wish I could play this game with combat :(

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

This was really creapy, haha. I really dig the lighting effects. The sound got a bit annoying after awhile. Maybe that added to the overall "cringyness" of the game.

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Sound was added at the last minute - the sample is me hitting two pencils together - and played at 1/d^2 volume every time the monsters on the level take a step. The biting sound is me snapping my fingers.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

Really amazing game! Its awesome how everything smoothly changes, sfx are awesome the way it fades in when youre near a enemy. Top mood entry!

madmaw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

While it was a easy theme to pay lip service to, I feel that this game gets it right. No exit, no levels, just keep running from more and more monsters. Positional audio is nice too

Pcholt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Do you think its permisible to add an objective and a win-condition after the deadline? I might host a bug-fixed verssion

Nitrodeus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Wow this game is really impressive
I like the graphics and the creepy gloomy atmosphere
nice job !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Great mood. Great Audio. Great Innovation. Having the level change in the darkness is a really cool mechanic.
With some polish, this could become a really fun mini-horror game!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:18am

Really creepy. These noises enemies makes makes it even creepier. To bad that player is funny looking. If he also looked creepy it would be better IMO.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:18am

Pretty simple gameplay. Nice lighting effect though! nice effort!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:02am

Nice concept. It definitely needed a combat system but you could've at least removed some enemies because that's a really tight space.

-AlucardX60

Pcholt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:50am

If you have the 'tiled' map editor, you can edit the map yourself to remove monsters and reduce the confinement near the end of the game.

I might be able to upload an update, considering the game is practically unfinishable in its current state?

Gins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:26am

Pretty creepy. I like how the sound gets louder when those enemies come to you. The spiraling is also a cool mechanic, good interpretation of the theme!

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:15am

I can't try your game, links are dead :(

Teesquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:21am

I really like how the level changes in the darkness as the player spirals around the screen. Very visceral feel when you die.

Pcholt says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:30am

The links are back up - I upgraded the server and the apache process didn't start up :(

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:02am

Great!

grid96 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Nice graphics, but is there any goal in the game yet?

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

nice work

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Awesome idea, I agree with evertyhing thats has been said already! You should make a finished version of this, and I would play it and recommend it to all my friends, for sure.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]