Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Slope Challenge³

by Interface - Compo Entry

Slope Challenge3: Complete the challenges and collect as many coins as you can!

You can place obstacles anywhere on a level platform - it can intersect with existing obstacles or ones you have placed. Use it to your advantage!

Game Notes
----------
Using the theme, I wanted to create a puzzle game where you have to plan your moves based on being to "see" the rest of the game. The platform concept ended up adding a challenge in that left and right are seemingly switched between levels.

Dev Notes
---------
Used Unity3D with VS2013, Paint, Gimp, Blender, Audacity, GarageBand.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#221Innovation3.63
#333Audio3.08
#362Theme3.75
#409Overall3.33
#637Graphics2.96
#664Mood2.82
#799Fun2.83

Comments

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

Game was a little difficult to figure out at first, once i figured it out it was actually pretty fun. The only tedious part I found was switching blocks took quite a while.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36am

Looks great, great idea :) I like it. Good job

khahem says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:42am

The controls are a bit difficult to use but it's a good idea. The left-right trick works well :)

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48am

The division screen idea is brilliant! But I think if it can build block when game pause will be better. :P

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57am

Didn't manage to do much more than the warmup, but at least I tried ;)

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58am

Very cool - it's a unique twist compared to most of the games I'm seeing from this compo. I actually found it quite challenging, but enjoyed it. I agree that switching blocks could be streamlined. Nice entry.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59am

I never played it, but the picture looks nice.

5/5 stars.

qristofer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice and puzzling game. It feels a bit like a brain trainer where you're asked to solve a 3D-puzzle. Took me a few tries before I got the hang of it. Nicely done.

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48pm

I liked the idea, but I think that should solve the puzzle and then drop the ball, so it is easier to select and insert the blocks.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30pm

This was awesome. Really original, and fits the theme well. Also very fun. Great work

crazyrems says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Maybe a bit too slow, but that's well done.
Having different controls for switching block like swiping would be even nicer !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07am

inteerseting concept. love to see more

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

My only complaint is that switching blocks was a little bit lengthy for a (sort of) fast paced game, which had it's ups and downs. Other than that this was actually really innovative and fun! Great work.

vegard1992 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Its pretty cool but it a lot of furnishing. The controls are weird and its a bit funky game play wise =)

I think its a great idea though!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38am

Clever idea, and I finished all but one of the puzzles, but it would have REALLY been nice to have hotkeys (like 123, or QWE, or whatever) to quickly switch between the block types. Having to glance over and move the mouse quickly to pick blocks makes it extra frustrating when you don't see in advance exactly what the block will look like when it gets placed.

Coins also block obstacles which is a bit troublesome.

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:35am

I actually really enjoyed this game. I think the soundtrack fit and though it took me a second to figure it out, it was smooth sailing from there on.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:15am

Nice concept but it needed a few more features. Just being able to delete a block would have helped a lot.

-AlucardX60

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18am

Really clever idea! You packed a lot of gameplay into one screen! Kind of had some trouble mechanics-wise (it's very easy to get stuck, which is frustrating, and I couldn't figure out how to delete parts). Overall great game, regardless!

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

it's definately cool but pretty hard..it would be nice to have those building blocks under different hotkeys, or be able to switch between them with another mouse button something like that..soothing music

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14pm

A very nice idea and polished game - I had a lot of fun!

Very well done!

alfadur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Great idea, it seems like there's also a lot of potential for adding environmental hazards like jump pads or holes.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

Unique concept, I dig it. I do agree with the other feedback.. being able to place the blocks before the ball drops would make it a bit easier.

mtanton says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34am

This is a cool puzzler. A suggestion: I think it would be better if you could switch blocks with a key on the keyboard, and have it display the selected block. Fun game, nice job!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:28pm

very cool and clever game, well done

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:42pm

The game was fun to play, even if I was a bit strugling with the controls precision.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I really liked the concept, and reminds me a bit of the classic the incredible machine for some reason. The only issue I have with the game is the way you switch blocks. Trying to hit the tiny check boxes, especially with a track pad is really frustrating. I spent most of the game pausing the level so I could switch the block direction then unpausing to place them. One two things could be done:
- make changing blocks keys on the keyboard so it can be done fast
- place the blocks before you start the level and then watch the level and adjust as needed

Interface says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:12am

Thanks for all the feedback so far. I like the keyboard shortcuts idea that many people threw out. Showing a "ghost" image of where your block will be placed as your moving your mouse is one other thing I've heard that would resolve some frustration.
I'm not a fan of allowing to place blocks while in pause mode or prior to the ball rolling. Although it's an interesting idea it would change the game drastically.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Might I suggest a way to switch platforms via keys, or have a phase in the beginning where you can lay down the platforms ahead of time, it was tiring laying down platforms as I needed them.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:04am

The game have a nice music, it goes with the gameplay. About the gameplay, I was confused at first, but clicking there (like a desperate person xD) solve that.

One problem I found could be the way to choose your obstacle type. It's very slow to do that. Also it was fun at the beginning but I lost interest on it very fast.

Overall, it's an acceptable game, only it need some fixes :|

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:07am

Oh man I love this!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously, just make a whole game!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:39pm

You could advance this and make it some sort of realtime Lemmings type game, with more than one ball and different types of balls.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:21am

Geez, the last level is too difficult. What were you guys thinking!? It's driving me insane!

Some polish could be used, such as real-time shadows.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Interesting approach to the theme. Nice puzzle game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]