Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One

by Fanttum - Compo Entry

"One" is a story about...
In this game you...
Collect the greens to become pure and avoid the vicious reds, or not...

This game is what you make of it.
Use your choice of WASD or Arrow keys to move.
Music is key, and headphones are appreciated but was mixed with both in mind.

Enjoy (hate) a different experience each time you play.
Appreciate (neglect) subtle differences has you do better (worse) each time.

In this game you always win (lose), and while endless (bounded), you do get a score after a point.

Feedback is encouraged.

- F


Notes:
Load time: It's the music...
"It's not a bug, a feature!": Sometimes a red will spawn on you and end the level. As is life...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#31Mood3.94
#34Audio3.94
#599Overall3.16
#651Humor2.36
#685Innovation2.95
#929Fun2.64
#930Theme3.27
#1098Graphics2.15

Comments

zulubo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

Really cool audio in this!! Increaing difficult (random?) levels pose a challenge.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23am

Love the audio and the mood, but was a bit bland for me. I appreciate the minimalist approach, and like i say i enjoyed the atmosphere, but game play was a bit slow for my liking.

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

Not bad, the audio is very cool :3

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

Interesting. Dark. Nice job.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

Mood is amazing, nice style!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

Although the gameplay is simple, the font and bgb got me.

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

Awesome job with presenting a mood from such minimalistic visuals and gameplay! Impressive audio as well, I would say though maybe make the game place red blocks a certain distance away from the player at start, some times they instantly overlapped and that was slightly frustrating, unless....that's what you wanted to ad to the mood, then keep and kudos to you!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52am

Pretty awesome game :D

panda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

The music is beautiful, I wish it loaded faster though. Neat idea, with the story that develops depending on what you do. I am curious to see where you could take that.
(oh, one nitpick: "appears" is misspelled in the game)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

great audio, but i'm stuck in the third level? Or is it THAT slow?

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

Thanks for all the great feedback so far, and I will play all of your games tomorrow.

@zulubo almost random. I wanted it to seam random enough while still keeping a solid learning curve.

@GreenyUk yea, it was a bit slow for me too and I'm kicking myself for that because I think I under-scoped this one a bit.

@Lynx yea I noticed that during testing, but decided to keep it maybe as a random analogy to something...

@panda yea... .wav files take a while... I thought about compressing but A. I ran out of time, and B. I thought it might make it not sound good enough because of all the small details I tried to put into the audio.

@Drtizzle stuck how? Once the game loads it should all good to go. or is there a bug?

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32am

also @panda Ahhh, I thought that looked wrong... I'm a horrible speller and they do allow typo corrections so maybe I'll change that... but idk.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:33am

Wow. I never thought I'd be so unsettled by squares and dots.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02am

Cool game :) I've played your 6 dimensions as well.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

Great story. Minimalist and fun.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:45am

Hypnotizing, does it end?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44am

Nice simple concept, solid implementation, good job!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

Wow, this game is intense, The messages almost feel subliminal in nature, the music is crazy and fits in with it all so well. Great Job

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Amazing mood for such a simple game. The audio is fantastic and the text really helps. Not sure if there is an end, I gave up after I got to 5 enemies.

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Excellent mood!

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Really nice mood but it would be nice to know in game if it actually has an end or if just keeps displaying random sentences. Interesting nonetheless.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50pm

To address the ending, I tried to be subtle in the description, but guess I failed. The game is endless so it will go on for ever and ever, however...
There will be a max of 5 enemy's on screen,
After 60 or so levels it will tell you how many green coins you got and this is your "score",
I also made it so you almost don't want to finish it. Becoming grueling, almost annoying, as you slog along. Again, part of the commentary of this game, i think... and so only a certain type of person will actual get to the "ending" of this game before "ending the game" (by turning it off and choosing not to play).
Sorry if my existential commentary got in the way of gameplay :P

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:38pm

One of the best musics I heard so far. Gameplay is simple but fun nonetheless. It was a bit slow to start in my opinion. Lack of graphics was both a pro (for the atmosphere) and a con (lack of fun / visuals)

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Very philosophical game, I got to the part when I got the score and then I quit. That music is really amazing for the mood.

recursor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Love the audio.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46pm

The audio really sets the mood! A bit unfortunate that the visuals don't really matches with the dark music.

Deity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:34am

The music definitely makes this much interesting. Surprisingly addictive and I like that it keeps going even if you run into the enemies.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14am

Really nice atmosphere, loved the audio!

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:21am

The text in between each level is kind of pointless and annoying after a while.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice and simple. Good job.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

nice game guys.

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:11am

I kept waiting for it to speed up or get more difficult, but it never really did. The only times I died was when there was an unfair spawn. The audio was pretty cool. I didn't check but I assume the words that appear between levels are just random or semi-random and don't really mean anything, but just provide a simulated sense of story.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:12am

Very good!

sergilazaro says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Great music! It's a pretty fun game, despite how simple it is. I liked it :)

Croze says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:31am

Got really repetitive really fast, if the notes seemed to be going somewhere/have an actual story it could be better though

hbocao says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:19pm

The mood is perfect! Damn, it's only circles and squares, but I felt very tense. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]