Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Save Christmas

by ShadowTzu - Compo Entry

Dear Santa Claus,
With eyes full of tears I'm writing this letter :'(
I learned that 100 snowmen have developed a new plan against you.
They told me they were going to steal your 3 gifts for me, that I have no gift at Christmas.
Santa Claus mercy, save my gifts please!

Requirement:
- Windows 7 (64bits)
- Framework .NET 4.5

Useful Key:

- Gamepad -
Left Stick: Move
Right Stick: Shooting direction
RB: Fire!
Y: Reload

- Mouse & Keyboard -
Mouse Cursor: Shooting direction
QWSD or ZQSD: Move
R: Reload
F1: Show Fps
F2: Debug View
F12: VSync On/off

Link:
Twitter: https://twitter.com/shadowtzu
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/shadowtzu
Tzu3D: http://shadowtzu.free.fr
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Tzu3d
Pastebin: http://pastebin.com/u/ShadowTzu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#170Humor3.21
#371Audio3.00
#432Fun3.21
#436Graphics3.28
#444Theme3.68
#445Overall3.29
#512Mood2.97
#930Innovation2.54

Comments

Iak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Didn't run for me. Something about my license being broken (pretty sure it isn't though).
Darn. And here I finally found someone else who wants to murder snowmen. =P

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Ha-ha, go badass Santa!

Shpuld says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Nice game, ran fine for me, except when respawning after losing all lives, it forgot to spawn me.

taviandir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I got a crash too when I tried to play this game. It's not obvious that the game and the source code is in the same link. Can't they be separated? Ie one zip for the project, one zip for the Release folder? :)

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

A more fleshed out entry. It is quite nice to play but there are a few things i missed like an ammunition counter to know when i have to reload. Also i managed to spawn outside the areay quite a few times so i had to completley restart. I love that you can hide behind trees and the snowman only shoot you when they actually see you! With a bit of bugfixing this is a nice little shooter game! Thumbs up!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:21am

haha, this game was morbidly weird. at least it wasn't playin christmas music in the background

Magicolo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:06am

Can't launch the game on Windows :(

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55am

Funny^^.

Budaniel says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Got stuck outside of the play world after dying. Other than that, fun game.

grid96 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:34am

Very fast gameplay, makes lot of fun.

StejkRobot says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:57am

It was ok, it gets kind of repetitive but i really enjoyed how challenging it was!

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:22am

Nicely done. It has a nice feel to it, reminiscent of Hotline Miami. Dug the music too. An ammo counter or bar would have done a lot for it. Good job over all.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:11am

Really fun game. The audio work was really nice as well.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:52pm

its nice, well done :)

jojocanard says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Crash message on windows :

************** Texte de l'exception **************
SlimDX.Direct3D11.Direct3D11Exception: E_INVALIDARG: An invalid parameter was passed to the returning function (-2147024809)
à SlimDX.Result.Throw[T](Object dataKey, Object dataValue)
à SlimDX.Result.Record[T](Int32 hr, Boolean failed, Object dataKey, Object dataValue)
à SlimDX.Direct3D11.ComputeShader..ctor(Device device, ShaderBytecode shaderBytecode)
à Tzu3D.Shader.TZComputeShader..ctor(String filename, String Name, Hashtable Macro)
à Tzu3D.Graphics.TZTiledLight.Init()
à Tzu3D.TZEngine.Init_Engine()
à Tzu3D.TZEngine.Init_Device(IntPtr Handle, Boolean Windowed, Int32 Width, Int32 Height, Boolean SyncroV)
à GameBase.Form1.Form1_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
à System.EventHandler.Invoke(Object sender, EventArgs e)
à System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
à System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
à System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
à System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
à System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
à System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
à System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

Domicuc says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Really nice game. For me it would be better to slow down bullets (yeah I have pretty bad reflexes).

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:33pm

HAHAHAN the game is a tone of fun :D great work!

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I don't like the controls but the game is very good. I would have loved a right click option to move.

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I don't like the controls but the game is very good. I would have loved a right click option to move.

/sorry I know it's double post but I forgot to rate.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Fun little game, could use more enemy types and weapons, but hey, its fun!

gquibao says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Great game, I really enjoyed the graphics and the music. Also it is very challenging, which is awesome, in my opinion (i love tough games lol). Congratulations!!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

nice game and cool graphics

Hellequin says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Really original game! Well done! I really like it!! We will see the results soon good luck!!

rojo says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:16am

Pretty solid! The shooting felt really nice. It was a bit tough, though. I think some enemy and weapon variety would add a lot.

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:02am

Thank you to those who voted for my game and a double thank you for the feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]