Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Boom Blade Battle Brigade

by Riocide - Jam Entry

Boom Blade Battle Brigade is a 2-4 player last-man-standing bomb-filled extravaganza!

Each player must have a game pad plugged in order to play.

Take control of one of four sneaky goblins in a battle to the death. Outwit your opponents by setting up a series of well executed traps to send them falling to their deaths.

Use bombs to push your opponents into lava, or get close and hit them with your weapon.

Gamepad Controls:
LT/LB/A : Place bomb 1 (press again to detonate)
RT/RB/B: Place bomb 2 (press again to detonate)
X/Y : melee
Left Analog Stick: movement

1v1 Keyboard controls:
Player 1:
WASD - Movement
N: Place bomb 1 (press again to detonate)
M: Place bomb 2 (press again to detonate)
,: melee

Player 2:
Arrow Keys- Movement
1(numpad): Place bomb 1 (press again to detonate)
2(numpad): Place bomb 2 (press again to detonate)
3(numpad): melee

Space to start, and bomb 1 key to join.

Credits:
Clockwork Acorn: Programming & Game Design
Jeremy Carver: Art & Game Design
Ivo Sissolak: Sound & Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#123Fun(Jam)3.65
#174Audio(Jam)3.49
#196Graphics(Jam)3.89
#301Overall(Jam)3.45
#377Mood(Jam)3.21
#392Humor(Jam)2.79
#546Innovation(Jam)2.98
#656Theme(Jam)3.38

Comments

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Good game but one of my gamepad (not xbox pad) don't seem to work correctly. Nice graphics and nice sounds :D

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:31am

Love a good bomb battle.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:08am

Unfortunately don't have any friends or a controller, but the title screen and screenshots look great. Title music was awesome :)

Mechamew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Awesome job!

I want to play this with 4 players! Next Super Friendship Arcade - it's on!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Fine Fine :) I had some problems playing vs myself ... but I like the graphics and the very cool gameplay. Cannot say anything about the sound or music, cause I had to mute it while sittin in a seminar :D

Anti says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Fun game. Too bad no single player but really nice polished game.

Dohxis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:38pm

It needs single player :) But fun game

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:44pm

It looks really nice, but there aren't player online.. :/

Harsay says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I think it needs more dynamic gameplay. Overall I liked it.
(BUG: If you detonate bombs and cross the lava, the game crashes)

Night says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:59pm

No one online( But I really like graphics style.

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:26pm

There is no one online but great graphics and music! Good job!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:32pm

NICE GAME..

Riocide says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Note to all: This is a LOCAL Multiplayer Game...
so you can only play on your pc with your friends! This is NOT an Online game!

Shackhal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I don;t have someone to play with me, but still I test it. Cool graphics and music. And the bombs been used as a way to push seems interesting.

Overall, I like it :)

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:11pm

You commented on my game Puddle Maker. It actually on one screen. You warp form left to right and up to down, it makes it seem like the map is bigger then the view :D
cool game btw

gmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:27am

Awesome. I loved it all! It's HIGH FIVE stars!

SelfishGenome says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:32am

Really nice graphics. smooth gameplay. Nice entry

gameattack says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:54pm

We tested with only 2 player but was a lot of fun. Unfortunately we couldn't understand how bombs works. Good Job with the music!

Riocide says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:11pm

@gameattack You use the bombs to knock the other goblins into the lava! You can also use it to propel yourself forward and surprise the others with a flying ninja attack :D

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:31am

Great graphics! I love multiplayers. Good job!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Overall very polished game for something created for game jam :) I loved that you could use your own bombs to speed travel. I think that it is definetly worth developing this game further.

thiaguera says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I really liked the graphics. But sometimes the holes in the ground kept the players away from each other for too long.

qristofer says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:55pm

It looks great and there's a lot of details. And it actually worked first try under ubuntu 14. A well made game.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:53pm

good game and the Icons are awesome

dunin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:40pm

good graphics and very polished. Could be more nervous...

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:49am

Love the logo and name! Add a single player and I'm back.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:18am

My friend and I busted out the joysticks to play this, but only the XBox one worked. Could be on account of silly driver stuff, but oh well.

Anyhow, the game itself had good music and art, and was an overall nice concept. Unfortunately the controls were a bit slippery and the attacks cheap. The game crashed twice for some reason (Just stopped responding).

Nevertheless, it's still a fun game.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice game! I love the gameplay ! Well done

Rodaja says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Hi, we've included this game in a list of local multiplayer games. Check it out and spread the love for these!

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/24/the-perfect-games-for-the-holidays/

Rodaja says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Collision boxes are sometimes a little confusing, mainly when two players are really close and trying to melle attack one another.

The game crashes constantly, probably an issue of GameMaker running on Windows8.

Gameplay is fun as heck, we played 4 players and it kept us playing over and over despite the program crashing.

We had a blast when we discovered we could use our own bombs to throw ourselves over lava meleeing against the others, it has many strategic possibilities, really nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]