Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Trapper

by Vanatoth - Compo Entry

Given the theme "Entire Game on One Screen" I immediately jumped to the idea of having the screen itself change as a mechanic. I started by essentially reproducing Pong as a proof of concept, and eventually settled on a win condition of trapping the "ball" in the upper-left corner of the screen.

It wasn't until the last day that I discovered that most browsers won't allow the width of a page to shrink below about 400 pixels. In order to get around this, you only need to shrink the game to 400x400 to win on any level in a browser. If you play the game by downloading the swf and using a standalone flash player instead, the required screen size changes depending on difficulty level, adding a bit more challenge.

I mostly used this as another opportunity to work in an environment I'd never used before, this time Haxe using OpenFL in FlashDevelop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Innovation4.61
#4Theme4.67
#817Overall2.94
#863Audio2.00
#979Fun2.56
#1174Graphics1.83
#2356Coolness0%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

5 stars for innovation, the best use of the theme I've found so far.

naali says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:37am

A liked the interesting game mechanic, but it was a bit hard to do on a laptop with a trackpad.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:44am

Really good idea this a true use of web game :)

okkolobr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48am

Great take on the theme. Well done !

Simon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:48am

Very great job! It's like playing pong with your browser. Great use of the theme.

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Brilliant use of the theme, very innovative mechanic as well. I wonder what else you could do with it, given more time?

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Awesome but hard! Amazing idea!!!

LMT says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Pretty awesome concept

dvdking says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Great idea!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:30am

Interesting concept !

xaedes says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:16pm

wow - really cool hit on the theme!!

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Wow, nice use of the theme!
Realy good work.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:53pm

It sticks perfectly to the theme ans easy to play

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:25am

Wow, this is really inventive. I'm impressed by the creativity on show here. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]