Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SLUG FEST

by ragtagradical - Jam Entry

SLUG FEST is a 4 Player Local Multiplayer Arena game about Slug Murder. Crawl around walls, and Flick your Slug at other players to EAT THEM.

Controls:
Left Thumbstick: Crawl around walls (this is pretty busted right now)
Right Thumbstick: pull back and release to Flick Slug
P: Change Level
M: Toggle Music
Start: Toggle Start Screen
Alt+Enter : Full Screen

Programming : Alex Yao - http://www.ragtagradical.com/
Art : Robert Fink - www.linkedin.com/in/rmfink
Music : Jack Watson - https://soundcloud.com/odkn

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Innovation(Jam)3.67
#175Overall(Jam)3.66
#183Humor(Jam)3.30
#184Mood(Jam)3.52
#203Audio(Jam)3.41
#207Graphics(Jam)3.87
#232Fun(Jam)3.41
#296Theme(Jam)3.77
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51pm

The game is pretty solid. You should fix some bugs in the movement but in overall is a good game. Well done!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52pm

A cool idea with neat and snappy visuals that amounts to a solid game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Solid with controller. very satisfying throwing yourself around.

found a small bug in movement. if you walk down along a wall and the wall ends you start walking mid-air.

aside from that no complaints :)

Bygmalion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

This the best slug flinging game I've ever seen. But seriously even in this broken state your game is hillarious.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Pretty neat graphic style.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:12am

Yer the real salt o' the earth!

guldlock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:15am

Solid game, nice!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Neat concept!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:11pm

A bit glitchy, but overall fun :)

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:24pm

This is great! If the movement was fixed it would be the commercial quality!

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:39am

Can't wait to see a post-compo version :)

olligobber says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:41am

Difficult to rate as it's local multiplayer, but very interesting and fun. The flinging using a controller feels very natural, maybe one to port to Ouya?

Trite Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:03am

Did you implement alternative controls? I would like to play it but I don't have a controller.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:53pm

hmmmm...good visuals...nice one..

Riocide says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:55am

A keyboard build would have been great too! Looks cool though!

bconrad217 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Pretty fun mechanic, in need of some serious bug fixing and polish, however

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:25am

Loved this game, one of my favourites so far with really great mechanic. The flick was such a fun movement just enjoyed flicking myself around even without an opponent. Would be great to see a post comp version with the bugs ironed out and enemy AI. Great job though, will definitely be playing this more.

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:25pm

some bugs of collision. But good start for a cool multiplayer game...

ragtagradical says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:29am

Thanks for the feedback! I'm working on an updated build with new collision, and wall climbing, and bots, and different gameplay modes.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 7:49am

Wow, this is fantastic. First game on the controller that worked better than I expected. The flick action was rad tastic! Fix a few bugs, add some AIBotSlugs and BAM! Game I'd buy and play to kick the crap out of my friends. Even better if you get it multiplayer on the internet. I could see an epic steam battle for an hour. Also, let me mod something simple about my slug. Like pick a color or give me a hat.. or a knife... :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]