Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Shiny Disco Ball!

by keyle - Compo Entry

Hi there!

First entry here!

This is a Windows build so far.

Keys are as follow:

For the pinballs:
- LEFT / RIGHT SHIFT
- LEFT / RIGHT CTRL
- LEFT / RIGHT mouse buttons
- or Q / E

ESC should quit, or ALT-F4.

ALT-ENTER should go full screen 1080p.

Extraball at 1,000,000 and every 2.5x after that.

Requirements:

- Direct X

- Microsoft C++ runtime (32bits) (you might already have it from steam games):
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784 (you want the X86 as it's a 32bit game)

(Sorry about that but that's for any Unreal Engine game)

Any other issues, hit me on twitter (@keyle)

Enjoy! And send me your best scores!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Graphics3.74
#416Theme3.70
#673Audio2.50
#706Fun2.93
#830Overall2.93
#874Humor1.89
#902Mood2.52
#1161Innovation1.96
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

Ult says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice little mini pinball game. A few things I'd suggest though
>add A/D and arrow keys support. Maybe make S or down or the middle mouse button or w or spacebar make both flippers move.
>the bumper physics feels a bit weird, but maybe it's just me.
>maybe add some ambience in the background.

Other than that, really great. 4.5 stars.

keyle says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Thanks Ult!

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:43pm

very best graphics ludum dare entry

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14am

Love the look! So much polish and not bad on the gameplay!

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18am

Looks really nice, but I'd've liked to see something in the gameplay that differed from regular pinball.

keyle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:54am

@mahalis I know what you mean, and time permitted, I would have made some crazy additions...

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26pm

looks good. I was expecting someone to make a pinball game :D

Gread72 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37am

Yup ... I was just saying to myself ... a pinball game would be perfect for this jam ...

eusekerci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:26pm

great pinball physics. But it needs more dynamics, feature, environment design. Really good for this theme. Well done

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice pinball game! I felt the physics was just right- Good job on that! - If you plan on continuing with this game, some visuals when you hit the various stuff would be nice, it kinda felt wrong that there weren't any. Nice job!

keyle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Thanks @eusekerci @Mekuri Yes I plan on adding level modifiers and some screen shakes and particles! I will stay true to the theme. That's all I had time for in the compo...

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Cool pinball game. It need more elements! Well done!

KawiTeam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:56am

Cool game, but I think we need more depth ;) Nice work dude!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Nice graphics :3 file's a bit big by what can you do :')

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:42am

Neat game! The ball definitely fell through the paddle a few times, so there are a few physics bugs it seems.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Pretty neat! Seemed to be a little bit of a delay when telling the paddles to move and the paddles actually moving.

keyle says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:18am

Thanks guys. The physics are using the cpu in another thread, and I'm guessing some people are having some various results with that :)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]