Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Color Company

by Vulture Tamer - Compo Entry

This is my entry for LD31!

short tips:
you can get pixels by:
waiting (pixels/tick)
clicking (pixels/click)

you need those pixels to spray on the canvas ( spread your red)

the higher your Spread ==> range where new pixels appear
the higher your density ==> the more new pixels will appear / tick



I'm a huge fan of incremental games so I thought I should make one!

get your economy of pixels up and running before bothering with the canvas ;-)

it is hard the first time, but once you get the hang of it, you should be able to finish in 5-10 minutes ;-)


good luck!


ps.: as I'm pretty new to developing I appreciate ALL feedback :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#441Innovation3.27
#690Theme3.50
#731Audio2.38
#798Mood2.65
#884Overall2.88
#913Humor1.70
#934Fun2.63
#1076Graphics2.20

Comments

taviandir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23am

I think it's a really cool idea how the clicks and progress is represented below. :) very soothing for some reason...

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

I have no clue how to play. Do I click on the "get more pixels" button over and over? Where does it say how much cash I have? (Or is it in pixels?) What is causing my pixel count to rapidly change between 2 and 3?

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

The start is a bit rough, but I absolutely had to keep trying for that cute little mouse, and for this wonderful charming music which is definitely in actuality the mouse making cute mouse noises inside my head. Love it!

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59am

I love how you implemented and idle game esque aspect into this!

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

Well, tried getting it to make pixels, not quite sure how you add pixels to the screen on that one.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

Fun game! A little lacking, at first, but once you get those upgrades it starts to be more fluid. Good job.

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:04am

Looks like it might be interesting, but I just don't quite get how to play.

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06am

I actually really enjoyed this even though I lost. I'm generally not a big fan of clickers but it worked. I understood the purchasing, but I wasn't sure how I was supposed to add pixels to the board. Maybe just a quick line or two explaining would make the game more accessible.

wooltech says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:08am

Interesting game, reminds me a little of cookie clicker. But I'm having trouble getting the pixels to spread - do I just need a lot of upgrades first?

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10am

Interesting game :D love it

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13am

Basically it's another clicker, but I really love articstic interpretation of the process. Good job!

Lawls says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13am

This game is really hard! I'll have to come back later to try to win

scias says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

It's mesmerizing looking at the colours playing around and getting mixed. The overall feeling of the game was really nice, but what i found lacking was the gameplay itself. If you were to continue on the game, you should ask yourself if you can increase the level of fun through gameplay.

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

That was fun! I expected to win just by leaving my computer up but when I found out it had active play I really enjoyed it. It is a bit steep of a learning curve. The game starts before you really know how to play.

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Aaackk my hand! That was a lot of clicking =D Very nice concept, it's relaxing to play. I'm actually not a big fan of this style of game, but I still enjoyed yours! Nice work.

Silii says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:06am

Man.... A clicker ! You ruin my day, i have to clic, clic, clic, clic now ! Hahaha, Simple but nice, gg ;)

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12pm

I'm not a huge fan of incremental games, but this was quite relaxing and fun.

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I don't in Maxthon :(, but Chrome is okay.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03am

Really cool concept, didn't understand it at first!

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

Wow, seems pretty hard, but fairly easy to understand. Not my kind of game, but I'll rate it fairly. :)
Feels like the spreading "area" could have been made easier to make out.
Also I clearly lost the first try, but the game didn't say that I lost.
I didn't like the "spray paint" style and would have preferred more like an "air brush", if that makes sense.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43am

Very relaxing game and building up a company is always something that is fun. I wish the other companies built up faster though because I got a really big company pretty fast on my first play through.

-AucardX60

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:53am

Interesting concept! I always like playing these clicking progression games, I just can't get away from them!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Fun and innovative, button outside the screen misses a bit the theme, I won't vote for graphics as they are n/a. I think this deserve a good overall rating. Well Done!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Cool concept! Love these click-progression kind of games. More colours would unleash lovely results ^^

Neil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice solid entry, but now my finger is sore from all the clicking!

rvmook says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:44am

Pretty well balanced upgrading system although with those clickers I usually like to see additional upgrades as I grow along. That would've given me a sense of progress while playing. Also, changing the color palette overtime or using a different color palette would maybe make it look less like programmer art. Maybe check out https://color.adobe.com/
for some coloring help.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:27am

There isn't much information here to inform me as to how to play. I attempted to play the game several times, and I just couldn't understand what I was doing or how I could achieve an action to get to a win condition.

The idea is really good, but I feel there should be some sort of tutorial or detailed visual representation/documentation as to how to play. There seems to be a good game hiding here, I just wish I knew how to play it. :(

Integershift says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:27am

Fun and innovative enjoyed quite a lot however it is very difficult I really can't seem to win

Johnro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:41am

I liked this game! The sound blips really helped the calm demeanor of the game, though I do have to admit the gameplay was a bit clunky. I couldn't get the "increase pixel size" button to work, no matter how many times I pressed it. It probably would have been a useful upgrade, too; most of my problems came from not getting my cursor onto a far-out pixel, which would have been much more effective at increasing my territory.
Thank you for entering Ludum Dare 31! Have a nice day!

Soron says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:15am

Pretty nifty idea, but I found it really tricky. Couldn't get the pixel production up high enough before I ended up being swamped by the green or the light blue.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:39am

Interesting set of rules; it'd be neat if you could control the pixels' direction a little more directly, like giving each added pixel a velocity and direction. Maybe moving pixels could leave a trail of less dense pixels behind them?
Anyway good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Wooooaaah! Nice game! Strange concept!
But now i don't have a finger anymore! xD

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:59am

Crazy interesting idea!

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Very unclear concept but nonetheless quite relaxing sound.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Nice little game. Although it took me a while to understand what was going on.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]